$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

3 stars
View map of 1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellsass
Business
Albany, NY
May 31, 2010

Great location, iffy surroundings

The hotel is your standard business class hotel. Nothing special, nothing bad. Check in time was 4pm which I felt was a bit late. The entrance to the hotel is underneath the parking garage which covers the entire street like a large overpass. The result is a sometimes seedy-feeling (but apparently safe) area right around the entrance. There are a couple of shops under the overpass as well. A popular (long-distance) bus pickup is across the street, and one or two homeless people were sitting (harmlessly) along the sidewalk. While we never had a problem or felt unsafe, I wasn't expecting the entrance to feel like it was underground. There was another entrance on an adjacent street, but usually a map wouldn't point you toward that. Otherwise the location is great. Market East and a metro stop on the blue line (Market at 11th) are less than a block away. City Hall is 3 or so blocks west, and the Independence Hall area is 5-6 blocks east. It was a good, central location for exploring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Wawa across the street from the entrance. Like all Wawa's, there are no-fee ATMs inside.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amherst, MA
Jun 1, 2010

The Ordinary Stay

The Hilton Garden Inn was a great hotel for visiting Philly. The location was great in regards to sight-seeing and food. Directly next to the hotel is Market Reading Terminal and that was a pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sfa1
Business
new york
Jun 16, 2014

pleasant weekend away

We were in Philly for the opening of a friends art gallery. We thought this hotel was backed by the Hilton name but it really is not. Our room wasn't ready at 4pm when we arrived because they were backed up from having been full the night before. It was a little inconvenient but not the end of the world and they did make up for it by giving us free buffet breakfast in their dining room on Sunday morning which was really very nice. (Had to teach the omelet chef NOT to put cheese in anyone's omelet unless they request it-just glad I saw it before I started eating!) To his credit I did hear him ask the subsequent patrons if they wanted cheese added. The rooms are not soundproofed at all and we had some issues with very loud neighbors who sounded like they were in our room. Didn't say anything until after 2am-a couple of knocks on the wall did the trick and we all went to sleep. In all it was really a very nice weekend, the hotel is very clean and the staff very nice. The room not huge but not small and pretty comfortable. If you're looking for a decent hotel at a good price in a convenient area (a block from Market Street and the Reading Market, which is fabulous,) then this would be a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Maggiano's Italian Restaurant right around the corner from Hilton. It was excellent!

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Unhappy 612
Business
Pa
Aug 16, 2014

Trip was good. Hotel was just ok.

The room was ok. Not what I expected for what we paid. I prepaid and was told at checkout there was no more charges. After I was home I checked my bank statement and there was a $50.00 charge from the hotel that I had no clue what it was. Put my checking account into overdraft. Called the hotel and they said it was a hold charge. Said I would be getting it back, but that didn't help me out right now. I prepaid for my room so why did they need to put an extra $50.00 hold on it. Would have been nice to have been told that. Stayed at different hotels before and never experienced this before. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Ask what hidden charges there are.

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TrIrina
Business
Moscow, Russia
Sep 3, 2014

Ordinary hotel with big rooms

The rooms and big and clean but the hotel has an old feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Happy Michelle
Business
Waterloo, IA
Nov 29, 2014

Thanksgiving Holiday

Hotel was very conveniently located near shops, restaurants and right behind of Redding Market. Walking distance is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diana101
Business
Harrisburg, PA, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Good value, exceptional staff

Because the hotel was so close to our event, it was a good value. Hotel staff went out of their way on several occasions to make sure we were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Northern girl
Business
Vermont, USA
Oct 19, 2011

good location at good price

Very close to all the historical sites, right next to Reading Terminal, a block to the $2 trolley that takes you out to river and to art museums, next to China town with excellent food, very good value, very friendly staff who say hello in the halls, nice lobby with a gas fire and plenty of chairs, sofa and little tables for eating. Parking was easy, and it was easy to find from I-95 and Franklin Bridge. The bed was extremely comfortable with a nice comforter and pillows. Quiet too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickcom89
Business
North Brunswick Township, NJ, USA
Nov 29, 2011

A nice place to stay

Check in was the only speed bump, thumbs up otherwise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garden Traveller
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Location!Location!

The staff was very pleasant upon greeting us but they must have known our feather free request was not met. We were delayed 1/2 hour getting into the room. (4 breakfasts vouchers were given for this). Later on, 3 hours later, all the feather pillows were still not removed. We put the remaining pillows in the hall and called. 5 minutes later we had all of our feather free pillows. Later we got 5 vouchers for drinks and appetizers; for our troubles. The breakfast buffet was very good. Other than the one problem which was eventually taken care of, the remainder of the stay was very good. The location was very convenient for the convention center and restaurant selections.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown restaurants

Back to menu Return to top