$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

3 stars
1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
107 reviews
Nice place to stay

It was very nice, no complaints. Pleasant staff. Clean room. Would stay here again See full review

  • Afleags
  • Aug 17, 2014
weekend Getaway!

Very nice hotel. the staff was very helpful. The hotel is located in a location central to all... See full review

  • Tigress Muscle Goddess
  • Aug 26, 2013
Convention Center hotel provides plenty of room to unwind

The Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City is just steps from the convention center and next-door to the Reading Terminal Market. Whether guests are traveling for business or pleasure, this hotel offers visitors a great location and plentiful amenities. On-site, guests can enjoy an indoor pool and whirlpool, a 24-hour business center, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a fitness center. Large guest rooms feature adjustable beds, refrigerators, and 32-inch LCD high-definition televisions.

Highlights
  • Rooms feature a self-adjusting bed that conforms to each guest's weight and shape and relieves pressure points
  • All rooms include a high-definition LCD television, a microwave and refrigerator
  • Heated indoor pool and whirlpool spa
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City has 279 guest rooms and 117 junior suites featuring one king or two double Garden Sleep System beds with self-adjusting air cylinders that conform to each guest's specific shape and weight. All rooms are nonsmoking and provide compact refrigerators, microwaves, 32-inch high definition LCD televisions with premium cable channels and pay movies and work desks with ergonomic chairs. Weekday newspapers and high-speed, wireless Internet access are complimentary, as is remote printing to the hotel's business center.

Features

On-site dining options include the Tenth Floor Grill, a restaurant located on the top floor of the building with city views and a fireplace. Classic American fare is served for breakfast and dinner. The adjacent Pavilion Lounge serves cocktails and light appetizers from early evening until late night. The 24-hour Pavilion Pantry, located in the hotel lobby, offers self-serve snacks, beverages and microwave meals. Next-door to the hotel is the Reading Terminal Market, with its wealth of dining options.

Recreation

Newly renovated fitness center features Fitness by Precor offering cardio machines with personal television screens and headphones. Also available are free weights, water, towels and room to stretch.

Transportation
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • SEPTA Subway 11th Street Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • Reading Terminal Market (next-door)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (across the street)
  • Historic District (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional sports/concert venues (4 mi/6.4 km)
Business
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • 24-hour Business center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Event catering
  • Multiple conference and meeting rooms
  • Dry-cleaning/laundry service

Hotel Map

39.9537 -75.1579
Nearby airports
Philadelphia Intl Airport, (PHL), 11.00, MI, N;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.8 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.5 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.5 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.5 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.5 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.6 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.8 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.8 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.7 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.8 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.8 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.7 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.2 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 107
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JimW
Business
Indiana
Oct 13, 2013

Disappointing Hilton

This was, by far, the worst Hilton hotel I have ever experienced. Awful beds, il-fitting sheets, poor cleaning, etc., etc. My first disappointment was the lack of a computer safe, requiring me to carry my computer each day or check it with the bell person each day. Then, the beds were awful. Some kind of air mattress that was never comfortable. To make matters worse, the sheets were not made to fit the mattress. They were too small and popped off in the night. Next, the cleaning was random and poor. Sometimes the trash was removed, sometimes it wasn't. Sometimes the coffee was replenished and sometimes it wasn't. The elevators looked like they were never vacuumed. I could go on and on. Needless to say, I will not use this hotel again. As a regular traveler and Hilton Honors member, I don't understand how this place keeps the Hilton brand. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JimW
Business
Indiana
Oct 13, 2013

Awful Hilton

See my previous comments. This is the worst hilton ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrianDlaw
Business
Pennsylvania
Aug 24, 2013

Perfect for Center City

Great location, walking distance to many great restaurants and stores. Staff was great, super helpful. Room air conditioner was loud and didn't cool very well. Bed was clean and comfortable (memory foam type topper was not the greatest, but is the new trend, so it is hard to fault the hotel over something I don't like. Definitely would stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

On site garage cannot accommodate trucks or large SUVs. Two blocks away is a garage that has an 8 foot clearance and is cheaper! No in and out, but cheaper is better!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Leas
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Oct 27, 2011

Convention stay

Convention location was perfect. Room was ok at best. Bed was broken, parking was pricey and breakfast was bland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jmrCO
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 26, 2011

Uninterested in making it right.

We booked and prepaid for a King suite. We also informed the hotel that we would be arriving very late. When we got there we were given a Double suite. Double beds? How about Queens! Since we arrived at 1 in the morning we waited until after we got some sleep to say something. I was told that they would hold the first king suite that came available for us. They even offered to move our luggage, which we declined since we were already unpacked. When we came back later in the day and inquired about the room change, no one knew anything about it. Never offering to contact the person that had been there in the morning that had made the arrangement. The manager said the there was nothing they could do, that all of the king rooms had been filled. Then went on to imply that since we booked with Orbitz we would not be given the same courtesy as if we had booked direct. What the manager does not realize is that we never would have found that hotel without Orbitz. The hotel was nice and convient but the management needs some work and they need to meet the requests and expectations of every guest. I handle the annual convention arrangements for the orginazation that I belong to and have just taken all Hilton Garden Inns off of my list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stuey
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Walk to everything

A very nice place right in the middle of everything. Depending on where your meeting room is in the convention center, you can use shortcuts close to the hotel to get there. Room was nice, staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Aug 8, 2011

Great Time

Early arrival to this hotel for a convention was not an issue. They placed me in a double bed room that I didn't mind having with a choice of bed each of my four night stay. The cleaning person came everyday and respected the "do not disturb sign" the one day I had it out and when it was removed the room was cleaned. I didn't get a chance to eat in the hotel's roof top restaurant, but I heard people in the elevator raving about the stuffed flounder dish. The hotel is directly across the street from a WaWa (which has excellent sandwiches 24hrs a day) as well as the ChinaTown bus station where you can catch a ride back to NYC for $10. The convention center was directly across the street and it was convenient to Downtown Philly's Market Street for all shopping needs in case you forgot toothpaste or something along those lines. The hotel staff was extra friendly, especially with helping me get a cab to the 30th Street Station at 4am for $8. I would gladly stay here again and hopeful take full advantage of their room service and cable television on the 32inch flat screen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you need to get money from the ATM don't use the one in the lobby go across the stree to the WaWa and its free

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Feb 25, 2011

Terrific location and value

Attended a trade show at convention center...this is a great location...just across the street (even in bad weather this is easy)and right next to the Market (best steak sandwiches anywhere). The staff is very friendly and professional, the breakfast buffet is escellent and the beds comfortable. This was our third stay and we will return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, Mn
Nov 22, 2010

Absolutely excellent service!

I was there for a conference, stayed two nights. The hotel was totally booked becasue of the conference. The room was very pleasant. In the morning the shower was not working properly - cold water and I found out later the boiler had sprung a small leak. The staff was very apologetic and without any prodding on my part, provided a $50.00 gift card for the hotel restaurant and a free breakfast buffet the following day! Every staff member was helpful, pleasant and there to please the guests. It was a super experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Got up early to walk to the Liberty Bell - nothing was open yet but, in my view, the bell was not very impressive - certainly historic, but kind of a disappointment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Melimelo
Business
New York, NY
Sep 30, 2010

Not up to HGI standards - avoid

Room was rather worn, unclean, and bed old - needs updating. Restaurant food mediocre. Parking expensive at $31 per night. Best bet is to stay at Hilton on City Ave for 1st class service/food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top