$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 5, 2015 Check-out: Feb 6, 2015

Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

3 stars
1301 Race Street Corner of 13th St., Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
104 reviews
Philadelphia conference

Great staff, willing to help out with every detail. Looking forward to booking there again for... See full review

  • PS Pearls
  • Jan 15, 2015
Great value on weekends

Super clean, comfortable, and convenient location. See full review

  • Anita from new haven
  • Nov 15, 2014
Budget hotel steps from Convention Center with pool and free breakfast

Offering guests convenience at an affordable price, the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is located just one block from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and less than a mile from the Historic District of Philadelphia. The hotel, a AAA Three Diamond winner, offers a free hot-breakfast buffet, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a fitness center with indoor pool and whirlpool. Also on-site is a 24-hour business center and coin-operated laundry facility. Guest rooms feature pillow-top mattresses with plush comforters and a choice of pillows.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast with hot offerings such as eggs, French toast and sausage and unlimited coffee
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • 24-hour fitness center and indoor pool and whirlpool
  • One block from the convention center
Rooms

The nine-story Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center hotel provides 250 smoking and nonsmoking guest rooms and suites. All rooms have a choice of one king or two double beds and are decorated in neutral colors with splashes of red and dark-wood furnishings. Standard amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access, work desks with rolling chairs, televisions with premium channels and coffee-makers. Bedding includes pillow-top mattresses with plush comforters and a choice of pillows. Request a higher floor for better city views.

Features

The hotel features a complimentary breakfast to-go bag, available Monday through Friday, for guests who don't have time to stop by the free buffet breakfast.

 

The nine-story Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center hotel has been awarded a Three Diamond rating by AAA.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Race-Vine Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (across the street)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Historic District (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Multiple meeting rooms
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Video conferencing
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Laundry/valet service

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.1 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (104)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
raleigh, nc
Mar 17, 2010

convention cntr under construction!

Chose this location due to price and proximity to historical sights, art museum and sports complex (all easily reached via public transportation) but due to the construction at the convention center (which we had no prior notice of), getting to the hotel & parking was a logistical nightmare! You would be better off staying a couple blocks away from the convention center for the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Horticulture buff
Business
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2010

Convenient Convention Hotel

I got this hotel on a January sale for $86; it was a modern clean well kept hotel. The hot breakfast was a welcome surprise. It is right across the street from the convention center. The lobby and hallways were very clean and top notch. I have allergies but was not bothered while I was staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 21, 2010

Good enough to stay

The great part about this Hotel is that it is walking distance to the liberty bell, independence Hall and so on. You get to walk through China Town. My kids had a great time at the indoor pool and the breakfast was delicious. You do have to pay for parking (which is not that bad because you can pay each day and pull your car in and out as much as you want) and there is construction going on next to the Hotel. The beds were a little hard to sleep on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Feb 14, 2010

Very enjoyable stay

We stay at this hotel when we go to events at the Philadelphia Convention Center. It is only two blocks from the hotel. We always choose a suite and have always found them to be very comfortable and clean. Has a microwave, frig and coffee maker. The room was clean and quiet. The staff was exceptionally helpful and cheerful. They have a nice selection of foods at the complementary breakfast and delicious coffee is available all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This was the only hotel within walking distance of the convention center that had a reasonably priced suite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BookDoctor
Business
Providence, RI
Jan 8, 2010

A rough start turned into a smooth stay

When we first arrived, our room was incredibly smoky (non-smoking room) and we had to get [...] involved. After that, we got a new, fresh-smelling room and everyone was very nice to us. They called us cabs immediately and helped us load and unload all of our tons of stuff. Our toddler loved the staff, running through the halls, and the breakfast. I liked the location, the fitness center, and the breakfast. My husband liked his bed. A nice trip to Philly overall for work and play.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to the Please Touch museum with our two year old. It was fun for him, but overwhelming, and crazy for the parents! I would recommend this museum, but make sure you get there early and do it on a day you have energy to spare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft Lee, Nj
Jan 7, 2010

Center city

Expensive parking but otherwise good to sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Barely a Senior
Business
Windsor Connecticut
Jan 6, 2010

Centeral Location with Cheerful Staff

We visited the Consitution Center, the African American Museum, Franklin Science Center, the Philadelphia Art Institute, Philadelphia Art Museum, Penns Landing, the Convention Center and the Mummers Parade. We walked to all of them.The only bad part was when the manager of the hotel removed half of our stuff, canceled our key and made us go to the registration desk to convince them we were not the party that booked through [...] with a stolen credit card. I think the manager could have handled it better by investigating further. We were booked for three nights. The users of the stolen card only booked New Years Eve.We will go back. The confusion was resolved in a few minutes and we moved back to our room an about 15 minutes.The breakfast room is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss Market Square on 12th and be shure to by advance tickets for any of the special shows at the Constitution Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miramar, Fl
Dec 25, 2009

[...]

Siteseeing, football, great foods and hotel, what else could I ask for on this great trip..Staff and Hotel very friendly..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hampton Inn Philadelphia-Center City-Con
Business
New York, NY
Dec 1, 2009

Hampton Inn Philadelphia-Center City-Con

Though the hotel was well maintained and the price was right, there was no free parking. Additionally, the location not ideal, as you are right across the street from the highway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mamaroneck,NY
Nov 16, 2009

Location of convenience

Family weekend. Conveniently located near outing.Other sights were easily available along with shopping options. Helpful staff. Quick service. Fantastic with their suggested entertainment,etc.I would suggest parking your car and using mass transit system to move about or walk. It is close to everything downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top