$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

3 stars
1301 Race Street Corner of 13th St., Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
99 reviews
Fabulous stay, clean and comfortable

Fabulous stay, clean and comfortable. Great staff, friendly and helpful. See full review

  • Docstrum
  • Sep 8, 2014
super fun

Clean friendly and fun, great staff great location See full review

  • kendoll
  • Sep 2, 2014
Budget hotel steps from Convention Center with pool and free breakfast

Offering guests convenience at an affordable price, the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is located just one block from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and less than a mile from the Historic District of Philadelphia. The hotel, a AAA Three Diamond winner, offers a free hot-breakfast buffet, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a fitness center with indoor pool and whirlpool. Also on-site is a 24-hour business center and coin-operated laundry facility. Guest rooms feature pillow-top mattresses with plush comforters and a choice of pillows.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast with hot offerings such as eggs, French toast and sausage and unlimited coffee
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • 24-hour fitness center and indoor pool and whirlpool
  • One block from the convention center
Rooms

The nine-story Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center hotel provides 250 smoking and nonsmoking guest rooms and suites. All rooms have a choice of one king or two double beds and are decorated in neutral colors with splashes of red and dark-wood furnishings. Standard amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access, work desks with rolling chairs, televisions with premium channels and coffee-makers. Bedding includes pillow-top mattresses with plush comforters and a choice of pillows. Request a higher floor for better city views.

Features

The hotel features a complimentary breakfast to-go bag, available Monday through Friday, for guests who don't have time to stop by the free buffet breakfast.

 

The nine-story Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center hotel has been awarded a Three Diamond rating by AAA.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Race-Vine Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (across the street)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Historic District (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Multiple meeting rooms
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Video conferencing
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Laundry/valet service

Hotel Map

39.956 -75.1607
Nearby airports
Philadelphia Intl Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 108.00, MI, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.1 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 1, 2010

Convenient place to city center

It is a quite confortable place. The location is great. However, some construction work is around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
May 31, 2010

Good location, great price

I stayed here on a leisure trip to Philly to do some sightseeing and bar hopping. Great location in Center City allowed me to walk everywhere I wanted to in the 3 days I was there. Several blocks in any direction takes you to unique neighborhoods and sites. Immediately outside the hotel (a 1 or 2 block radius) doesn't have much going on. The blank back wall of the convention center is across the street and stretches for blocks, but once you get around it, Center City is all right there. While the hotel charges $24-27 a day for parking, I got an amazing deal 2 1/2 blocks away at a Philly Parking Authority Garage at 1540 Spring St. $5 a day all day long on weekends. My Fri night to Mon morning trip meant parking was only $15 for the entire weekend and I never had to use my car since the hotel is right downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Philly Parking Authority garage at 1540 Spring St, it's only 2 1/2 blocks from the hotel and is a flat rate of $5 per day on weekends. I spent Fri night to Mon morning in Philly and paid $15 for parking! The hotel charges $24-27 a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alt
Business
Washington DC
May 16, 2010

quick weekend

Good location. Room was clean, staff was very friendly and helpful. Valet parking service was prompt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BobbyJones
Business
New York
Apr 25, 2010

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The hotel is very close to china town and other attractions. China town is great for dinning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

China town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cabot, PA
Mar 22, 2010

Nice stay

The hotel was fine as was the hot buffet breakfast. I was disappointed with the pool. The outside area was not cleaned in the time I was there and the same "stuff" was at the bottom of the pool the first day as of day four--whne I decided not to even try the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
raleigh, nc
Mar 17, 2010

convention cntr under construction!

Chose this location due to price and proximity to historical sights, art museum and sports complex (all easily reached via public transportation) but due to the construction at the convention center (which we had no prior notice of), getting to the hotel & parking was a logistical nightmare! You would be better off staying a couple blocks away from the convention center for the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Horticulture buff
Business
New York, NY
Mar 3, 2010

Convenient Convention Hotel

I got this hotel on a January sale for $86; it was a modern clean well kept hotel. The hot breakfast was a welcome surprise. It is right across the street from the convention center. The lobby and hallways were very clean and top notch. I have allergies but was not bothered while I was staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Feb 21, 2010

Good enough to stay

The great part about this Hotel is that it is walking distance to the liberty bell, independence Hall and so on. You get to walk through China Town. My kids had a great time at the indoor pool and the breakfast was delicious. You do have to pay for parking (which is not that bad because you can pay each day and pull your car in and out as much as you want) and there is construction going on next to the Hotel. The beds were a little hard to sleep on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Feb 14, 2010

Very enjoyable stay

We stay at this hotel when we go to events at the Philadelphia Convention Center. It is only two blocks from the hotel. We always choose a suite and have always found them to be very comfortable and clean. Has a microwave, frig and coffee maker. The room was clean and quiet. The staff was exceptionally helpful and cheerful. They have a nice selection of foods at the complementary breakfast and delicious coffee is available all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This was the only hotel within walking distance of the convention center that had a reasonably priced suite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BookDoctor
Business
Providence, RI
Jan 8, 2010

A rough start turned into a smooth stay

When we first arrived, our room was incredibly smoky (non-smoking room) and we had to get [...] involved. After that, we got a new, fresh-smelling room and everyone was very nice to us. They called us cabs immediately and helped us load and unload all of our tons of stuff. Our toddler loved the staff, running through the halls, and the breakfast. I liked the location, the fitness center, and the breakfast. My husband liked his bed. A nice trip to Philly overall for work and play.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to the Please Touch museum with our two year old. It was fun for him, but overwhelming, and crazy for the parents! I would recommend this museum, but make sure you get there early and do it on a day you have energy to spare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top