$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

3 stars
View map of 1301 Race Street Corner of 13th St., Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
delaware
Feb 24, 2011

hotel stay

I was there to spend the weekend with my boyfriend as Philly is a meeting place for us since we live in 2 different states. I found the hotel to be accomadating, although they were undergoing rennovation at that time. It wasn't my worse hotel experience but it wasn't the best either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ReallyPhilly
Business
VA
Feb 15, 2011

Not quite what I expected

The staff was wonderful, the room was clean, the continental breakfast was good. The only real issue I had was the parking. The only options were to try to find street parking, pay valet ($27), or pay for a day pass at the "hotel" parking which was almost a block from the hotel ($25). There is also no loop in front of the hotel for you to unpack your belongings. The room was also a little on the small size. Side note: The hotel is also undergoing renovations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Keyport, NJ
Jan 31, 2011

Decent Hotel with Decent Location.

The rooms were clean and the service was friendly. My room had a flat screen tv and a huge bathroom. As always the Hampton Inns have free breakfast and internet with your stay. But the parking is $24/day so you should include that in your overall tally. The hotel is on the edge of center city and chinatown. The immediate area feels kinda shady with the Penn Convention Center there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maggianos is a nice Italian restaurant just a few blocks away. The crab cake app with the tomato aioli is pretty good and the trademark Rigatoni "D" is pretty darn good.

Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jan 31, 2011

Good price, OK accomodations, nice clean

Room was clean, neat - recently renovated. Air system was slightly noisy but worked well. Breakfast was very basic. The floor around the pool and hot tub was flooded a bit ... the drains are clogged. Hot tub was clean and a good temp. The location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right by Chinatown. Great Asian food of all types.

Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bhudiprash
Business
Chicago, il
Dec 27, 2010

Excellent hotel in the historic city

Great amenities for a decent price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy traveler
Business
Bristol, UK
Nov 25, 2010

Good value & location & friendly staff

Good location for exploring Philadelphia. Hotel was all round good value for the price and free use of computers (including internet)a bonus. No frills but good value and no hidden extras. We were meeting other people who were there for conferences and meetings and we all agreed we'd check out Hampton Inn in other places as well as use the Philly one again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We needed a bit of hiking stuff and store opposite Macy's on Chestnut Street was great.

Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy traveler
Business
Bristol, UK
Nov 25, 2010

Good value & location & friendly staff

Good location for exploring Philadelphia. Hotel was all round good value for the price and free use of computers (including internet)a bonus. No frills but good value and no hidden extras. We were meeting other people who were there for conferences and meetings and we all agreed we'd check out Hampton Inn in other places as well as use the Philly one again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

We needed a bit of hiking stuff and store opposite Macy's on Chestnut Street was great.

Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Nov 14, 2010

Good experience at a good price

The Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center was a pleasant stay, conveniently located to most Philadelphia landmarks and attractions. The rooms were adequate, it was quiet, and clean. The actual location is currently across the street from renovation that is going on to the Philadelphia convention center but my stay was over a weekend so there was no construction noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Located a short walk from the Philadelphia Art Museum, and beautiful Franklin park. Also close to the Old City, the Constitution plaza, and to City Hall.

Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Oct 20, 2010

Electronics Stolen!

The hotel itself was reasonable but during the stay my ipod and accessories were stolen from the locked room. I filed a police report and the hotel assured me they would take care of it through their insurance carrier. I filed with their carrier, Berkley Risk who dragged their feet and avoided communicting with me. Finally after a month, they sent a denial letter citing their investigation. I asked for the investigation to see how they came to the conclusion and they said it was "propriatary". This was a big run around. I travel for business constantly for a number of years and never had I had anything like this happen anywhere. The manager was not helpful and also was trying to just make this situation go away. If you value your things, stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wayne, PA
Oct 2, 2010

Great Philadelphia Location

Easy walk to the Academy of Music to attend the debut of Otello on the opening night of their 35th season. 5 minutes to Reading Terminal for excellent rail service to all directions in Philly and a great Farmers Market in the heart of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top