$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

3 stars
View map of 1301 Race Street Corner of 13th St., Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Exeter, NH
May 18, 2011

great location

The hotel is in a central location, walking distance from Reading Terminal Market, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, and Chinatown, among other attractions. Also close to public transportation. Staff were accommodating, room comfortable and well maintained, and buffet breakfast was good. My pet peeve is beds with down comforters that are too warm, and unfortunately, this hotel is in that camp. A lighter blanket would have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reading Terminal Market is a great spot for a quick bite, with many delicious options. We also went to Chinatown for dim sum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Mar 21, 2011

Renovations done nicely

Tourism. Currently finishing up renovations. Everything was updated and clean. Only complaint was first morning there the staff was talking up a storm while we were sleeping. Room was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Somewhat of a short walk to all the attractions. Location isn't bad at all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Mar 9, 2011

Good location for Flower Show

Phila. Flower Show Hope they complete lobby area soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patty G.
Business
Levittown, NY
Mar 3, 2011

Perfect Philly Weekend Getaway

Amazing customer service. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay as best as possible. The hotel was undergoing renovations, so some areas were under construction. We stayed on a newly renovated floor, done in very good taste. The room was more than welcoming, as everything was clean and neatly done. Softest hotel towels ever! Complimentary breakfast was AMAZING. I've never seen so much selection in any complimentary breakfast, and the staff available there was very pleasant as well. 24-7 complimentary coffee was a great little something to have available. Location was perfect, as the hotel is right in the middle of town - 15 minute walk to historic sites. If ever visiting Philly again, there is no question as to where we would be staying. Can't wait to see the final product (after renovation is done).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Market is filled with different eateries (mostly very affordable) and fresh produce/meats. The best meal we had was at the Down Home Diner located in the southwest corner of the market. A MUST.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jewett City CT
Mar 1, 2011

Nice Place in City Philly

The room was very clean although quite small compared to other Hotels that we`ve stayed at. Breakfast room was Terrific especially with kids. Had many choices for them and staff were very friendly and helpful. Kids enjoyed the Pool also. Front desk clerks were also helpful with directions to places in city. DRAWBACK was that we paid over $170.00 for the room and then had to pay another $40.00 for parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Hotel was within walking distance of Liberty Bell Penns Landing City Hall and several other attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
The Berkshires, MA.
Mar 1, 2011

A little diamond in the rough.

Booked hotel to attend nearby conference. Lobby and several floors under construction, however, we were warmly greeted and given a room on the top floor that was pleasant and met my expectations. Breakfast buffet was in lower conferance room. Choices were plentiful and well presented. The staff were cheerful and very accomodating. The pool is v. small and good for a splash. A couple of kids were there when I went to sit in the "not so hot tub". There seemed to be a problem and the foam looked a little sketchy so I passed. Overall, for what it is, I imagine that this property will be somewhat of class act upon completion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel very close to conference centers, some nice restaurants, the infamous Terminal Market and historical sights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
delaware
Feb 24, 2011

hotel stay

I was there to spend the weekend with my boyfriend as Philly is a meeting place for us since we live in 2 different states. I found the hotel to be accomadating, although they were undergoing rennovation at that time. It wasn't my worse hotel experience but it wasn't the best either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ReallyPhilly
Business
VA
Feb 15, 2011

Not quite what I expected

The staff was wonderful, the room was clean, the continental breakfast was good. The only real issue I had was the parking. The only options were to try to find street parking, pay valet ($27), or pay for a day pass at the "hotel" parking which was almost a block from the hotel ($25). There is also no loop in front of the hotel for you to unpack your belongings. The room was also a little on the small size. Side note: The hotel is also undergoing renovations

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Keyport, NJ
Jan 31, 2011

Decent Hotel with Decent Location.

The rooms were clean and the service was friendly. My room had a flat screen tv and a huge bathroom. As always the Hampton Inns have free breakfast and internet with your stay. But the parking is $24/day so you should include that in your overall tally. The hotel is on the edge of center city and chinatown. The immediate area feels kinda shady with the Penn Convention Center there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maggianos is a nice Italian restaurant just a few blocks away. The crab cake app with the tomato aioli is pretty good and the trademark Rigatoni "D" is pretty darn good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Jan 31, 2011

Good price, OK accomodations, nice clean

Room was clean, neat - recently renovated. Air system was slightly noisy but worked well. Breakfast was very basic. The floor around the pool and hot tub was flooded a bit ... the drains are clogged. Hot tub was clean and a good temp. The location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right by Chinatown. Great Asian food of all types.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top