$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 6, 2014

Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

3 stars
1301 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
101 reviews
best price value

The stay at Hampton was a lot better than I expected. I highly recommend this one for people... See full review

  • annalove
  • Jun 12, 2014
great hotel

Great hotel, especially for the price! Only a few blocks from restaurants, bars, shopping, and... See full review

  • Rachel R
  • Dec 10, 2013
Budget hotel steps from Convention Center with pool and free breakfast

Offering guests convenience at an affordable price, the Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center is located just one block from the Pennsylvania Convention Center and less than a mile from the Historic District of Philadelphia. The hotel, a AAA Three Diamond winner, offers a free hot-breakfast buffet, complimentary high-speed Internet access and a fitness center with indoor pool and whirlpool. Also on-site is a 24-hour business center and coin-operated laundry facility. Guest rooms feature pillow-top mattresses with plush comforters and a choice of pillows.

Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast with hot offerings such as eggs, French toast and sausage and unlimited coffee
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
  • 24-hour fitness center and indoor pool and whirlpool
  • One block from the convention center
Rooms

The nine-story Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center hotel provides 250 smoking and nonsmoking guest rooms and suites. All rooms have a choice of one king or two double beds and are decorated in neutral colors with splashes of red and dark-wood furnishings. Standard amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet access, work desks with rolling chairs, televisions with premium channels and coffee-makers. Bedding includes pillow-top mattresses with plush comforters and a choice of pillows. Request a higher floor for better city views.

Features

The hotel features a complimentary breakfast to-go bag, available Monday through Friday, for guests who don't have time to stop by the free buffet breakfast.

 

The nine-story Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center hotel has been awarded a Three Diamond rating by AAA.

Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway Race-Vine Station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Attractions
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (across the street)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Historic District (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • Multiple meeting rooms
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Video conferencing
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Laundry/valet service

Hotel Map

39.956 -75.1607
Nearby airports
Philadelphia Intl Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, NE; Baltimore/Washington Intl Airport, (BWI), 108.00, MI, S;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.1 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.2 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (101)

Ratings and reviews for Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
101 out of 101
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wallstreet3
Business
Chicago
Apr 23, 2012

The best Hampton Inn we have stayed in

My wife was in love with the beds, cleanness, quality, just perfect for not a good but great night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maggiano's Restaurant, Italian food, Di mare Pasta. unbelievable!!

Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TRAVELSTAR
NY
Jan 9, 2012

HAMPTON INN

Comfortable beds, hot apple cider/coffee/tea by the front entrance, decent amenities. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you park on the streets a few blocks away, you can park for free.

Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hockeyfan
Middlesex, NJ, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Great Hotel

Came to Philly for the NHL WINTER CLASSIC hockey game of the Flyers and Rangers, and being a Rangers fan thought getting by in the city so loyal to their sports might be hard to come by. The staff here at the hotel were all so nice and polite and gracious from the front desk, to the house keeping, to the vallet, to the people in the eatery picking up your plates. Everyone had a smile and always said good morning or good evening. That was a nice way to start it off but when a friend from another hotel called to be put through to my room, the front desk stated to my friend that I wasnt a guest there, but proceeded to call up to the room to tell me someone had called. I still do not know why they told them I wasnt a guest there.. When asked they said they just couldnt find my reservation, but when I asked them how they knew what room number I was in to call me to tell me they had no answer. Now, Valet parking is expensive.. $35 but it goes right onto your room account... keep in mind its $35 every time you take your car out, and the sight seeing isnt really in walking distance of this hotel. There is no room service in this hotel, but at the front desk they will give you menus of all the take out resturants in the area and the resturants will deliver directly to your room. There is no fan in the bathroom, so the bathroom mirror got fogged and had to open the bathroom door and let it air out for a few before I could finish getting ready. We ran out of toilet paper and instead of having another roll in the room, we had to call the front desk to call house keeping to have them deliver us soom. When they delivered it, they left it outside the room door (we were inside and awake) then had the front desk call us to tell us it was there. That and it was a little weird to have just 3 pillows on a full bed, not 2, not 4 but 3 and the sheets and pillow cases are noisy. Other then that, the hotel was super clean, and the staff was great. I would recommend it to friends going to Philly for a night or 2, and extended stay for more then that and probably not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe and friends
Binghamton, NY
Jan 3, 2012

Great location

The hotel is in a great location, i.e. walking distance to center city, city hall, historic district and Reading Terminal Market. The staff is extremely friendly, professional and helpful. Parking was easy and nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lizic
Denver
Dec 19, 2011

Okay

Didn't realize we had to pay for parking: $25 a day to find it yourself, or $35 valet. The tub didn't drain well. But breakfast and snacks were good, and we lived having fresh coffee all day!!! They provided a pack and play for our little one to sleep in. The staff gave poor restaurant advice, so look into that on your own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Trainers
Great Falls, MT
Nov 10, 2011

Great!

Staff was most helpful, nice breakfast and room was very nice. Convienent downtown location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arlo
Staunton, Virginia
Oct 26, 2011

Wonderful accommodations

Excellent room. Staff extremely cordial and helpful except for being wrong about what time things open! Would gladly stay there again. We saw all the sites by walking and taking the double decker bus. The trip was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crab
Business
Suburban Philadelphia
Oct 24, 2011

Convenient spot

The staff was helpful and the place was fine, good for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Temple Mom
Syracuse, NY, USA
Oct 20, 2011

Homecoming Weekend

Hotel was centrally located. Very comfortable and clean. Free breakfast, food fair. Parking is an extra $25(typical),I went with the vallet parking for an extra $10. They have local company that provides this service. They put a good size dent in my trunk! We will see if they reimburse me for total damage. Would stay there again, except next time I will park my own car!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hampton Inn Philadelphia Center City-Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MymyL
New York, État de New York, États-Unis
Oct 10, 2011

hampton inn philadelphia convention center

It was a great hotel in a great location with a great staff. The breakfast is really nice but on saturdays and sundays it is crowed between 9 and 10AM and you can't find a seat. But everything is good. Rooms are perfect. bathroom also. Staff is really nice. Location is perfect: 5 min walk from the city hall, the main shopping street (walnut street).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

the fork restaurant on market street in the old city at 17 minutes walking away from the hotel. A really good place to eat. try the risotto $19 and really good.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search