$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

3 stars
237 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
245 reviews
Perfect location and lovely suite

We bumped up our reservation and it was totally worth it to nab a spot in the executive lounge... See full review

  • Dave and Jasmine
  • Jul 6, 2014
Perfect trip

It doesn't get any better than the Doubletree especially on 4th of July. Staying at this hotel was... See full review

  • Lemaj
  • Jul 6, 2014
Symphony of Cultural District comfort with pool and fitness center
The Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia boasts a top location in the heart of the city's Cultural District on the Avenue of the Arts. Across from the Academy of Music, this 432-room high-rise is within walking distance of many of Philadelphia's attractions, including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, City Hall and the Liberty Bell. Hotel amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, a fitness center, a business center, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), and an on-site restaurant. All nonsmoking guestrooms include Doubletree's signature bedding.
Highlights:
  • Convenient Center City location in the heart of Philadelphia's cultural district
  • Indoor pool, spa tub, racquetball court, rooftop track, and fitness center
  • Complimentary chocolate-chip cookies upon check-in
Rooms:

The 26-story Doubletree offers 432 nonsmoking guestrooms and suites tastefully decorated in neutral shades. All rooms feature The Sweet Dreams by Doubletree bed, which includes a plush-top mattress that is triple-sheeted with high-thread-count linens; a down comforter and jumbo pillows. Amenities include a Herman Miller ergonomic chair at an oversized desk with task lighting; two dual-line telephones with data port, speakerphone, and private voicemail; high-speed Internet access (fees apply); cable TV with HBO and pay movies; a PlayStation console (fees apply); coffeemaker; hair dryer; iron/ironing board and complimentary newspapers. Refrigerators are available upon request (fees apply).

Features

The Doubletree has two on-site dining options. Standing O is open for lunch and dinner and serves light fare and cocktails. The Academy Cafe is an informal restaurant that overlooks the Avenue of the Arts with a view of the Academy of Music. Dining options include a variety of buffet and a-la-carte selections for breakfast daily.   

 

24-hour fitness center features Fitness by Precor, which includes Cardio machines with personal TV screens and headphones.

Transportation:

                     

  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (Across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9.1 mi/14.7 km
Attractions:
  • Academy of Music (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Historic District (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)

 

Business:
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Business Center
  • Multiple meeting rooms
  • Notary public
  • Secretarial service
  • Video conferencing
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Banquet facilities
  • Event Catering

Hotel Map

39.9481 -75.1645
Nearby airports
Philadelphia Intl Airport, (PHL), 9.00, MI, NW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.8 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.9 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.8 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.9 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.3 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 2.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.3 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.5 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (245)

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 245
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.9
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TannerSH
Dallas, TX
Feb 24, 2014

Great location. Noisy rooms

The location is great and the rooms are clean, but you can hear everything going on in the hallway and in the rooms next to you. It's a fine room for under $120 a night. Just wish I didn't have to listen to everyone using the vending machine right outside my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BCinAP
New Jersey, USA
Oct 8, 2013

Stay Here to feel like a 2nd Class Citizen!

Let me first say that I rarely write bad reviews - I'm very easy going. That said, I am still upset over the way I was treated at this hotel. Every staff member I encountered had a chip on their shoulder, from check-in to check-out. I had reserved a room with 2 Queen beds. However, I entered the room to find 1 Queen. Called downstairs and the reception desk said "We don't have 2 beds in a room. The third party site was wrong". No apology, no nothing - just attitude. So, not wanting to be a difficult customer, my friend and I shared one bed. I was annoyed less about there being one bed than the rude way I was treated on the phone #and I didn't call down with an attitude#. The next morning, I waited over 15 minutes #truly# for the elevator to never come to the 6th floor. So I walked down the stairs with my bags, which forced me to go out an emergency exit onto the street, sounding an alarm. Oops. Walked back in to the lobby to check out. I wasn't asked how my stay was, or even wished a good day. This last part is all my own naive fault, but still annoyed me. Before I left, I was hungry and sought out the breakfast buffet they had been mentioning throughout the hotel. There was never a price anywhere, and it was worded in a way that led me to believe it was free. I took two sausages and some scrambled eggs, and was presented a bill for $18. I guess I should have asked to make sure it was free, but I was really annoyed as it felt like one last slap in the face before I left the hotel for good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jayduke
philadelphia, pa
Sep 15, 2013

Good value and gret view

I was on he 25th floor at the Doubletree, and there were some advantages. The room I was in had spectacular views down Broad Street and over to the Jersey shore, and the windows were nice big ones.The layout of the room was unusual; the bed was in one section, and the desk, computer and bathroom were in another section. That made the room feel as if it were two rooms and feel bigger than it really was. I liked that.The staff was courtesous and a few of them were friendly. There is not an ice machine on the 25th floor, though, and going down to the 24th florr to get ice meant I had to get dressed. That was a drag. I booked the room on a Thursday one day before a weekend, so i got a great deal. All in all, I was quite pleased

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visiting From NYC
New York, NY
Sep 4, 2013

great all around -- and a warm cookie

Got a delicious warm chocolate chip cookie when I checked in. Front desk was friendly, check-in was efficient. Room was very comfortable and clean with a great view and plenty of desk space, which I needed. You can use wireless or wired Internet access. The lobby was comfortable to sit and work in after I'd checked out and had some time before the next leg of my trip. A very minor drawback is that the elevators were being worked on, which slowed things down a bit. Very minor. I found a comfortable diner a few blocks south and had a delicious breakfast sandwich. Of course I can't credit the hotel for that but it was a nice part of my overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr Todd
Williamsburg VA
Sep 3, 2013

Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

If you're shopping at this site you're probably considering price - so note that parking is an additional $25/night. Otherwise, perfectly acceptable downtown "value" hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kenneth3812
Lancaster, PA, USA
Mar 8, 2012

Great Nightlife

The nightlife is great in this part of town, highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pete Nelson
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Feb 9, 2012

Great service

Among the great location and accesibility, what capture my attention was it service, staff was very friendly and has a well knowledge of the city. They went over my expectation even when they leave me information on my door after I ask something and at the moment of the question they don't have the answer, they check and find it. When I saw the info it was a detail I never expect. I recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the subway for all the sport venues of Philadephia and the center of the city.

Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Jul 24, 2011

Nice Hotel

Clean and comfortable. Very nice dining. Very helpful in having my room ready for early check in. Good location in down town area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Jul 24, 2011

Nice Hotel

Clean and comfortable. Very nice dining. Very helpful in having my room ready for early check in. Good location in down town area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobby Baby
Marina del Rey, CA
May 17, 2010

Center City value

Great views with large windows in the perfect location in the center of Center City, steps away from the subway, directly across from the Academy of Music. Very fast efficient elevators and free internet access for Hhonors guests in the Hhonors lounge. Nice sized rooms and bathroom. I would have appreciated an in-room safe, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top