$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 15, 2015 Check-out: Mar 16, 2015

Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

3 stars
View map of 237 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
201 reviews
As good as a free, warm chocolate chip cookie

Good value for an excellent location. No complaints. See full review

  • DO2010
  • Feb 19, 2015
Great Stay

Visited Philadelphia to pick up our daughter who spent the summer interning with Broad Street... See full review

  • Leslie L.
  • Feb 14, 2015
Symphony of Cultural District comfort with pool and fitness center
The Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia boasts a top location in the heart of the city's Cultural District on the Avenue of the Arts. Across from the Academy of Music, this 432-room high-rise is within walking distance of many of Philadelphia's attractions, including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, City Hall and the Liberty Bell. Hotel amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, a fitness center, a business center, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), and an on-site restaurant. All nonsmoking guestrooms include Doubletree's signature bedding.
Highlights:
  • Convenient Center City location in the heart of Philadelphia's cultural district
  • Indoor pool, spa tub, racquetball court, rooftop track, and fitness center
  • Complimentary chocolate-chip cookies upon check-in
Rooms:

The 26-story Doubletree offers 432 nonsmoking guestrooms and suites tastefully decorated in neutral shades. All rooms feature The Sweet Dreams by Doubletree bed, which includes a plush-top mattress that is triple-sheeted with high-thread-count linens; a down comforter and jumbo pillows. Amenities include a Herman Miller ergonomic chair at an oversized desk with task lighting; two dual-line telephones with data port, speakerphone, and private voicemail; high-speed Internet access (fees apply); cable TV with HBO and pay movies; a PlayStation console (fees apply); coffeemaker; hair dryer; iron/ironing board and complimentary newspapers. Refrigerators are available upon request (fees apply).

Features

The Doubletree has two on-site dining options. Standing O is open for lunch and dinner and serves light fare and cocktails. The Academy Cafe is an informal restaurant that overlooks the Avenue of the Arts with a view of the Academy of Music. Dining options include a variety of buffet and a-la-carte selections for breakfast daily.   

 

24-hour fitness center features Fitness by Precor, which includes Cardio machines with personal TV screens and headphones.

Transportation:

                     

  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (Across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9.1 mi/14.7 km
Attractions:
  • Academy of Music (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Historic District (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)

 

Business:
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Business Center
  • Multiple meeting rooms
  • Notary public
  • Secretarial service
  • Video conferencing
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Banquet facilities
  • Event Catering

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.8 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.9 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.8 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.9 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.3 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 2.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.3 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.5 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (201)

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
201 out of 201
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super
Business
Stonington, CT
Sep 21, 2013

Excellent location and price

I thought this hotel gave great value for the price. I would not hesitate to stay there again. Good location in the heart of downtown, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dank74
Business
chicago
Sep 18, 2013

huge room, super cheap

Great experience. Early check-in was no problem. The room was huge. The bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jayduke
Business
philadelphia, pa
Sep 15, 2013

Good value and gret view

I was on he 25th floor at the Doubletree, and there were some advantages. The room I was in had spectacular views down Broad Street and over to the Jersey shore, and the windows were nice big ones.The layout of the room was unusual; the bed was in one section, and the desk, computer and bathroom were in another section. That made the room feel as if it were two rooms and feel bigger than it really was. I liked that.The staff was courtesous and a few of them were friendly. There is not an ice machine on the 25th floor, though, and going down to the 24th florr to get ice meant I had to get dressed. That was a drag. I booked the room on a Thursday one day before a weekend, so i got a great deal. All in all, I was quite pleased

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgusted by Doubletre
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 11, 2013

Avoid at all cost!

I arrived around 2:30pm to check in on Sept 1st, but was told that my room wouldn't be ready. So, I walked around for a bit and came back around 3:30pm. Again, I was told that my room wasn't ready...even though check-in is guaranteed by 3pm. It wouldn't be a big deal, but had plans in an hour and needed to shower and get ready beforehand. Although, I repeatedly asked for and guaranteed that my room was not next to the elevator, when I got to the room, I was put right next to it. There was toilet paper in the toilet, debris on the floor, and drawers left open. But was in a rush to get ready, so accepted it. When I got back that evening at 11pm, there was a very loud people by the elevator, exactly why I asked to not be by the elevator. When I called to the front desk to ask them to do something about the noise, I got major attitude. So, I requested a change of room. I was placed in a room far from the elevator. When I entered the bathroom, there was water damage on the ceiling and paint peeling. Disgusting!! By this time, it was almost midnight but I can't stay in a place that looks like the ceiling may fall in on me. So, I went down to the front desk to request another room and complain about the horrible service I've gotten so far. Again, major attitude from the front desk. I'll never stay at this hotel again unless it undergoes a major overhaul! Besides the deplorable condition of the rooms and put-upon attitude of the front desk, there were cobwebs all along the walls of the windows in the lobby. Avoid at all cost!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MVikta
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 5, 2013

An OK place

The hotel's locaiton was good. However, the lobby was teaming with people (mostly young kids) at all hours of the day and night and the wait for the elevator was interminable. The room was clean and pleasant enough. I enjoyed the cookies that they gave us at reception very much -- a very nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Time Restaurant is right around the corner. It has an impressive whiskey selection, if you are in to that. I think that there is jazz on the weekends.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visiting From NYC
Business
New York, NY
Sep 4, 2013

great all around -- and a warm cookie

Got a delicious warm chocolate chip cookie when I checked in. Front desk was friendly, check-in was efficient. Room was very comfortable and clean with a great view and plenty of desk space, which I needed. You can use wireless or wired Internet access. The lobby was comfortable to sit and work in after I'd checked out and had some time before the next leg of my trip. A very minor drawback is that the elevators were being worked on, which slowed things down a bit. Very minor. I found a comfortable diner a few blocks south and had a delicious breakfast sandwich. Of course I can't credit the hotel for that but it was a nice part of my overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr Todd
Business
Williamsburg VA
Sep 3, 2013

Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

If you're shopping at this site you're probably considering price - so note that parking is an additional $25/night. Otherwise, perfectly acceptable downtown "value" hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Passing through 10003
Business
NYC
Aug 31, 2013

25 mins waiting for an elevator

This hotel should have never been fully open with half the elevators not functioning. Unbearable and the staff did not seem to care that every guest was infuriated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CMSaunders
Business
Bluffton, SC
Aug 27, 2013

Great view!

We had a room on the 25th floor, great view!! The bed was super comfy too. The bathroom was sort of an awkward set up but clean and had plenty of room. The staff was awesome AND we got warm cookies at check in!! Parking is $25/day. It was a great location, close to everything we needed. Overall, great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road tripping dad
Business
New York, new York
Aug 24, 2013

Road tripping dad

Terrific location for exploring center city, rotten house sq area and right on top of broad st subway line which takes you to stadiums in 10 min. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful and prompt with requests. Room was large ( think we got an upgrade on our 2 queen bed room) with ample space for our family of 4. Beds were a little too soft and pillows too plump. We had to request an in room fridge and it cost $10 for our stay. Hotel has pool and gym that was being renovated during our stay. Self parking in adjacent garage for $25 per day with unlimited in and out at no extra charge and we only got charged for 1 night instead of 2! We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top