$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

3 stars
237 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
189 reviews
Warm cookies:)

Everyone was helpful & courteous.We were given two warm & delicious chocolate chip cookies when we... See full review

  • Alice Shoe Lover
  • Nov 29, 2014
Great stay!!

I always enjoy my stay! From the cookie to the great room to the breakfast - all smiles and... See full review

  • U of Arts Mom
  • Nov 17, 2014
Symphony of Cultural District comfort with pool and fitness center
The Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia boasts a top location in the heart of the city's Cultural District on the Avenue of the Arts. Across from the Academy of Music, this 432-room high-rise is within walking distance of many of Philadelphia's attractions, including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, City Hall and the Liberty Bell. Hotel amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, a fitness center, a business center, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), and an on-site restaurant. All nonsmoking guestrooms include Doubletree's signature bedding.
Highlights:
  • Convenient Center City location in the heart of Philadelphia's cultural district
  • Indoor pool, spa tub, racquetball court, rooftop track, and fitness center
  • Complimentary chocolate-chip cookies upon check-in
Rooms:

The 26-story Doubletree offers 432 nonsmoking guestrooms and suites tastefully decorated in neutral shades. All rooms feature The Sweet Dreams by Doubletree bed, which includes a plush-top mattress that is triple-sheeted with high-thread-count linens; a down comforter and jumbo pillows. Amenities include a Herman Miller ergonomic chair at an oversized desk with task lighting; two dual-line telephones with data port, speakerphone, and private voicemail; high-speed Internet access (fees apply); cable TV with HBO and pay movies; a PlayStation console (fees apply); coffeemaker; hair dryer; iron/ironing board and complimentary newspapers. Refrigerators are available upon request (fees apply).

Features

The Doubletree has two on-site dining options. Standing O is open for lunch and dinner and serves light fare and cocktails. The Academy Cafe is an informal restaurant that overlooks the Avenue of the Arts with a view of the Academy of Music. Dining options include a variety of buffet and a-la-carte selections for breakfast daily.   

 

24-hour fitness center features Fitness by Precor, which includes Cardio machines with personal TV screens and headphones.

Transportation:

                     

  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (Across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9.1 mi/14.7 km
Attractions:
  • Academy of Music (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Historic District (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)

 

Business:
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Business Center
  • Multiple meeting rooms
  • Notary public
  • Secretarial service
  • Video conferencing
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Banquet facilities
  • Event Catering

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.8 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.9 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.8 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.9 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.3 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 2.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.3 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.5 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (189)

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
189 out of 189
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dani young professional
Business
Bucks county
Dec 1, 2013

Great weekend with friends

The staff was extremely Helpful and accommodating ! great hotel !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EPH Trav
Business
Denver, colorado
Nov 10, 2013

Great affordable spot in downtown Philly

Good value without sacrificing quality. I'll stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
traveledone
Business
Pennsylvania
Nov 4, 2013

I will do this again

This is a perfectly located, very comfortable, clean, and attractive hotel. The staff was polite, friendly, and helpful. There is parking next to the hotel at a very reasonable price. Although I can easily do day trips to Philadelphia, my experience at this hotel was so pleasant that I am planning to come back soon for at least one overnight. This was a very nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Geen
Business
Reading
Oct 28, 2013

Nice hotel

Location, room comfort, amenities are perfect. Overall very nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RNAsh
Business
Richmond, VA
Oct 28, 2013

Eagle Football Game

Perfect hotel for game day! The subway is right in front of the hotel and drops off in front of the stadium. Cheap travel too! Hotel clean and comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Subway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BCinAP
Business
New Jersey, USA
Oct 8, 2013

Stay Here to feel like a 2nd Class Citizen!

Let me first say that I rarely write bad reviews - I'm very easy going. That said, I am still upset over the way I was treated at this hotel. Every staff member I encountered had a chip on their shoulder, from check-in to check-out. I had reserved a room with 2 Queen beds. However, I entered the room to find 1 Queen. Called downstairs and the reception desk said "We don't have 2 beds in a room. The third party site was wrong". No apology, no nothing - just attitude. So, not wanting to be a difficult customer, my friend and I shared one bed. I was annoyed less about there being one bed than the rude way I was treated on the phone #and I didn't call down with an attitude#. The next morning, I waited over 15 minutes #truly# for the elevator to never come to the 6th floor. So I walked down the stairs with my bags, which forced me to go out an emergency exit onto the street, sounding an alarm. Oops. Walked back in to the lobby to check out. I wasn't asked how my stay was, or even wished a good day. This last part is all my own naive fault, but still annoyed me. Before I left, I was hungry and sought out the breakfast buffet they had been mentioning throughout the hotel. There was never a price anywhere, and it was worded in a way that led me to believe it was free. I took two sausages and some scrambled eggs, and was presented a bill for $18. I guess I should have asked to make sure it was free, but I was really annoyed as it felt like one last slap in the face before I left the hotel for good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mex to US
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Oct 8, 2013

Great locale

This hotel is in a wonderful spot in downtown Phillly. The staff was very pleasant but the room cleaning was a bit spotty - they did not take the trash one day, for example. And I hate paying for Internet ($10/day), but this is hard to escape these days in a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for coffee at La Colombe - farther than Starbucks but well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ch4rla
Business
Mechanicsburg, PA
Oct 6, 2013

Incredible Center City, Philadelphia, Hotel!

The hotel and service were amazing! From the moment we pulled up in front of the hotel, the staff were eager to assist, giving us parking options (self-park with in-and-out priveleges was only $25 and was right next to the hotel) and restaurant ideas. Warm chocolate chip cookies were provided at check-in, which was a welcoming touch (beware, those with nut allergies; they contain walnuts as marked on the package). We selected a special option to get a beautiful and spacious corner room for a couple dollars extra (and it was lovely and on the top floor with a wonderful view of the city!). The room was clean, luxurious, and the beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast in their wonderful restaurant, with a view of the city below. The waiter was kind enough to work out one free continental breakfast for us, since we weren't given the coupon upon check-in (also part of a deal). The location couldn't have been better as we were within easy walking distance of many landmarks and enjoyed a short walk to excellent shopping and Rittenhouse Square. Check-out was a breeze and my only regret was that we didn't have time to check out the pool. We must have scored an incredible room rate, because when I checked back later, the rate had gone up by almost $100 for the same date. I will definitely check out the Doubletree for my next downtown Philadelphia stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick but adequate dinner, the Fox and Hound restaurant (and sports bar) is just a couple blocks away at Spruce and 15th. When we were there on a weekday night, it seemed that a painting class was going on in one half of the restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super
Business
Stonington, CT
Sep 21, 2013

Excellent location and price

I thought this hotel gave great value for the price. I would not hesitate to stay there again. Good location in the heart of downtown, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dank74
Business
chicago
Sep 18, 2013

huge room, super cheap

Great experience. Early check-in was no problem. The room was huge. The bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top