$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

3 stars
237 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
167 reviews
Perfect location and lovely suite

We bumped up our reservation and it was totally worth it to nab a spot in the executive lounge... See full review

  • Dave and Jasmine
  • Jul 6, 2014
Perfect trip

It doesn't get any better than the Doubletree especially on 4th of July. Staying at this hotel was... See full review

  • Lemaj
  • Jul 6, 2014
Symphony of Cultural District comfort with pool and fitness center
The Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia boasts a top location in the heart of the city's Cultural District on the Avenue of the Arts. Across from the Academy of Music, this 432-room high-rise is within walking distance of many of Philadelphia's attractions, including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, City Hall and the Liberty Bell. Hotel amenities include an indoor pool, a spa tub, a fitness center, a business center, high-speed Internet access (fees apply), and an on-site restaurant. All nonsmoking guestrooms include Doubletree's signature bedding.
Highlights:
  • Convenient Center City location in the heart of Philadelphia's cultural district
  • Indoor pool, spa tub, racquetball court, rooftop track, and fitness center
  • Complimentary chocolate-chip cookies upon check-in
Rooms:

The 26-story Doubletree offers 432 nonsmoking guestrooms and suites tastefully decorated in neutral shades. All rooms feature The Sweet Dreams by Doubletree bed, which includes a plush-top mattress that is triple-sheeted with high-thread-count linens; a down comforter and jumbo pillows. Amenities include a Herman Miller ergonomic chair at an oversized desk with task lighting; two dual-line telephones with data port, speakerphone, and private voicemail; high-speed Internet access (fees apply); cable TV with HBO and pay movies; a PlayStation console (fees apply); coffeemaker; hair dryer; iron/ironing board and complimentary newspapers. Refrigerators are available upon request (fees apply).

Features

The Doubletree has two on-site dining options. Standing O is open for lunch and dinner and serves light fare and cocktails. The Academy Cafe is an informal restaurant that overlooks the Avenue of the Arts with a view of the Academy of Music. Dining options include a variety of buffet and a-la-carte selections for breakfast daily.   

 

24-hour fitness center features Fitness by Precor, which includes Cardio machines with personal TV screens and headphones.

Transportation:

                     

  • SEPTA Subway Walnut-Locust Station (Across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (9.1 mi/14.7 km
Attractions:
  • Academy of Music (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Historic District (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Professional Sports/Concert Venues (3 mi/4.9 km)

 

Business:
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Business Center
  • Multiple meeting rooms
  • Notary public
  • Secretarial service
  • Video conferencing
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Banquet facilities
  • Event Catering

Hotel Map

39.9481 -75.1645
Nearby airports
Philadelphia Intl Airport, (PHL), 9.00, MI, NW;

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Wheel chair access

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.8 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.9 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.3 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.6 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.8 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.9 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.9 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1.1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.2 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.3 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.4 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.5 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 2.9 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.3 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.3 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.5 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.4 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (167)

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
167 out of 167
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Feb 15, 2010

Great room, great location

This was my first time at a Doubletree hotel. I was quite impressed. I got a great deal on a corner room. It was very spacious and clean. It wasn't noisy at all, and the staff was very helpful. I can only give it 4 stars because I didn't really use the amenities, such as the gym. The hotel bar, Standing O's, was good for a quick drink, and the bartenders were friendly. The location was fantastic as well. I definitely recommend staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EANGEL
MARYLAND
Feb 1, 2010

NICE PLACE TO STAY

WE HAD A NICE TIME. OUR ROOM WAS BY THE ICE MACHINE WHICH ENDED UP BEING USED OFTEN BY OTHER GUESTS THAT NIGHT. THE TOILET DIDN'T WORK VERY WELL BUT THE ROOM WAS CLEAN AND THE BED WAS SUPER COMFORTABLE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Allentown PA
Jan 25, 2010

Very nice, in the heart of the arts dist

My wife and I really enjoyed staying at the Doubletree. Great cookie at check-in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shakespeareteecher
Cincinnati, OH
Nov 27, 2009

Wonderful

I was in Philadelphia for an English teachers conference. The hotel was a short, manageable walk from the convention center. The location was great. Years ago, I spent a lot of time in Philadelphia; on this trip I was able to visit a lot of old haunts and hangouts. There were lots of restaurants and other attractions within walking distance or no more than a short cab ride. The room and facilities at the hotel were clean, comfortable, and inviting. And, as always, I love the warm cookies anytime I stay at a Doubletree.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tavern on Broad (about a block and half away straight up Broad Street toward City Hall)was my favorite. Happy hour until 8 p.m. (even on Friday and Saturday!), featuring half-price beer, drinks, and burgers. A really good band that wasn't too loud or overpowering (I could still conduct a conversation). Attentive (and attractive) bartenders. Lots of sports on lots of HD TVs. I was there four times in four nights.

Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Nov 24, 2009

Excellent location for the price

Excellent staff and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BizVacationer
Business
Columbus, OH
Nov 4, 2009

In the middle of everything!

The hotel is undergoing renovation and we stayed in one of the new rooms...it was great...just like the picture. Quiet, comfortable, and lots of natural light. The pool was closed due to the renovation so if you're attached to any particular ammenities, call ahead before you book:). Staff was friendly and the location was on Broad St in the arts district. Lots to do and easy to walk everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Djboombah
Business
Newton, MA
Nov 2, 2009

Good

Poor sound insulation: I kept awakening with doors banging closed in the hallways until 3AM!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Oct 26, 2009

very impressive! no complaints

Hotel lobby looks very upscale and impressive. Loved getting freshly baked cookies upon checking in! what a great idea! Room was very comfortable and had all the expected ammenities. Staff were very knowledgable about nearby restaurants and directions. I honestly don't have ONE complaint!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I didn't know there was a Chinatown section close by..not as big as the one in NYC, but still worth checking out.

Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middletown, NJ
Oct 17, 2009

great hotel to stay in philly

Was in Philadelphia for a concert at the Wachovia Center. The subway is right outside the hotel, so getting there was easy. Ate at an amazing restaurant across the street. The hotel was clean and the room spotless. Although it appeared to be full of guest, it was quiet at night. The beds were comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairmont, WV
Oct 14, 2009

Good location, bad room

The hotel was in a great location, within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, and historic sites. Unfortunately, our room for the first night was in the middle of the bay of elevators, where the ice machine and cleaning supplies usually go (it was an actual guest room). We stuffed towels under the door to try to block the noise, but the elevators and the people kept us up all night. For an unknown reason, we also had a Murphy bed, which was not comfortable. I had to ask three times before they moved us. They did move us to a quiet room with a real bed for the last two nights; however, on the third night, we had to wait until 11:00 to get hot water. On the other hand, the concierge and other staff were very helpful providing directions, dining recommendations, etc...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The neighborhood is full of a variety of restaurants and pubs. It seemed safe to walk around with a lot of foot traffic and police even at night.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search