$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

3 stars
View map of 237 South Broad Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5686

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RNAsh
Business
Richmond, VA
Oct 28, 2013

Eagle Football Game

Perfect hotel for game day! The subway is right in front of the hotel and drops off in front of the stadium. Cheap travel too! Hotel clean and comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Subway

Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BCinAP
Business
New Jersey, USA
Oct 8, 2013

Stay Here to feel like a 2nd Class Citizen!

Let me first say that I rarely write bad reviews - I'm very easy going. That said, I am still upset over the way I was treated at this hotel. Every staff member I encountered had a chip on their shoulder, from check-in to check-out. I had reserved a room with 2 Queen beds. However, I entered the room to find 1 Queen. Called downstairs and the reception desk said "We don't have 2 beds in a room. The third party site was wrong". No apology, no nothing - just attitude. So, not wanting to be a difficult customer, my friend and I shared one bed. I was annoyed less about there being one bed than the rude way I was treated on the phone #and I didn't call down with an attitude#. The next morning, I waited over 15 minutes #truly# for the elevator to never come to the 6th floor. So I walked down the stairs with my bags, which forced me to go out an emergency exit onto the street, sounding an alarm. Oops. Walked back in to the lobby to check out. I wasn't asked how my stay was, or even wished a good day. This last part is all my own naive fault, but still annoyed me. Before I left, I was hungry and sought out the breakfast buffet they had been mentioning throughout the hotel. There was never a price anywhere, and it was worded in a way that led me to believe it was free. I took two sausages and some scrambled eggs, and was presented a bill for $18. I guess I should have asked to make sure it was free, but I was really annoyed as it felt like one last slap in the face before I left the hotel for good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mex to US
Business
Ciudad de México, DF, México
Oct 8, 2013

Great locale

This hotel is in a wonderful spot in downtown Phillly. The staff was very pleasant but the room cleaning was a bit spotty - they did not take the trash one day, for example. And I hate paying for Internet ($10/day), but this is hard to escape these days in a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for coffee at La Colombe - farther than Starbucks but well worth it!

Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ch4rla
Business
Mechanicsburg, PA
Oct 6, 2013

Incredible Center City, Philadelphia, Hotel!

The hotel and service were amazing! From the moment we pulled up in front of the hotel, the staff were eager to assist, giving us parking options (self-park with in-and-out priveleges was only $25 and was right next to the hotel) and restaurant ideas. Warm chocolate chip cookies were provided at check-in, which was a welcoming touch (beware, those with nut allergies; they contain walnuts as marked on the package). We selected a special option to get a beautiful and spacious corner room for a couple dollars extra (and it was lovely and on the top floor with a wonderful view of the city!). The room was clean, luxurious, and the beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast in their wonderful restaurant, with a view of the city below. The waiter was kind enough to work out one free continental breakfast for us, since we weren't given the coupon upon check-in (also part of a deal). The location couldn't have been better as we were within easy walking distance of many landmarks and enjoyed a short walk to excellent shopping and Rittenhouse Square. Check-out was a breeze and my only regret was that we didn't have time to check out the pool. We must have scored an incredible room rate, because when I checked back later, the rate had gone up by almost $100 for the same date. I will definitely check out the Doubletree for my next downtown Philadelphia stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick but adequate dinner, the Fox and Hound restaurant (and sports bar) is just a couple blocks away at Spruce and 15th. When we were there on a weekday night, it seemed that a painting class was going on in one half of the restaurant.

Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super
Business
Stonington, CT
Sep 21, 2013

Excellent location and price

I thought this hotel gave great value for the price. I would not hesitate to stay there again. Good location in the heart of downtown, friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dank74
Business
chicago
Sep 18, 2013

huge room, super cheap

Great experience. Early check-in was no problem. The room was huge. The bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jayduke
Business
philadelphia, pa
Sep 15, 2013

Good value and gret view

I was on he 25th floor at the Doubletree, and there were some advantages. The room I was in had spectacular views down Broad Street and over to the Jersey shore, and the windows were nice big ones.The layout of the room was unusual; the bed was in one section, and the desk, computer and bathroom were in another section. That made the room feel as if it were two rooms and feel bigger than it really was. I liked that.The staff was courtesous and a few of them were friendly. There is not an ice machine on the 25th floor, though, and going down to the 24th florr to get ice meant I had to get dressed. That was a drag. I booked the room on a Thursday one day before a weekend, so i got a great deal. All in all, I was quite pleased

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disgusted by Doubletre
Business
Chicago, IL
Sep 11, 2013

Avoid at all cost!

I arrived around 2:30pm to check in on Sept 1st, but was told that my room wouldn't be ready. So, I walked around for a bit and came back around 3:30pm. Again, I was told that my room wasn't ready...even though check-in is guaranteed by 3pm. It wouldn't be a big deal, but had plans in an hour and needed to shower and get ready beforehand. Although, I repeatedly asked for and guaranteed that my room was not next to the elevator, when I got to the room, I was put right next to it. There was toilet paper in the toilet, debris on the floor, and drawers left open. But was in a rush to get ready, so accepted it. When I got back that evening at 11pm, there was a very loud people by the elevator, exactly why I asked to not be by the elevator. When I called to the front desk to ask them to do something about the noise, I got major attitude. So, I requested a change of room. I was placed in a room far from the elevator. When I entered the bathroom, there was water damage on the ceiling and paint peeling. Disgusting!! By this time, it was almost midnight but I can't stay in a place that looks like the ceiling may fall in on me. So, I went down to the front desk to request another room and complain about the horrible service I've gotten so far. Again, major attitude from the front desk. I'll never stay at this hotel again unless it undergoes a major overhaul! Besides the deplorable condition of the rooms and put-upon attitude of the front desk, there were cobwebs all along the walls of the windows in the lobby. Avoid at all cost!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MVikta
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Sep 5, 2013

An OK place

The hotel's locaiton was good. However, the lobby was teaming with people (mostly young kids) at all hours of the day and night and the wait for the elevator was interminable. The room was clean and pleasant enough. I enjoyed the cookies that they gave us at reception very much -- a very nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Time Restaurant is right around the corner. It has an impressive whiskey selection, if you are in to that. I think that there is jazz on the weekends.

Review of Doubletree Hotel Philadelphia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Visiting From NYC
Business
New York, NY
Sep 4, 2013

great all around -- and a warm cookie

Got a delicious warm chocolate chip cookie when I checked in. Front desk was friendly, check-in was efficient. Room was very comfortable and clean with a great view and plenty of desk space, which I needed. You can use wireless or wired Internet access. The lobby was comfortable to sit and work in after I'd checked out and had some time before the next leg of my trip. A very minor drawback is that the elevators were being worked on, which slowed things down a bit. Very minor. I found a comfortable diner a few blocks south and had a delicious breakfast sandwich. Of course I can't credit the hotel for that but it was a nice part of my overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top