Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

2 stars
1227 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
91 reviews
great convention

The front desk personnel was very polite , nice and helpful in their service. The hotel's... See full review

  • radanza
  • Mar 17, 2014
philly

The staff were great, very helpful. The gift bag was a really nice touch. The location was great,... See full review

  • sarawithouttheh
  • Oct 14, 2014
Budget hotel across street from Convention Center and historic district
Located across the street from the Convention Center, the Travelodge is also close to local transportation and Philadelphia's historic district. The hotel is on a busy city street and is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. Guest rooms are basic, and complimentary hotel amenities include high-speed wireless Internet access, continental breakfast, weekday newspapers, local calls and premium television channels.
Highlights:
  • Convenient location across the street from Convention Center
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access and continental breakfast
  • Multi-lingual staff available for assistance
Rooms:

The four-floor hotel, opened in 2002, provides 50 air-conditioned guest rooms with one queen or two double beds. Amenities include complimentary high -speed wireless Internet access, free USA Today during the week, television with premium cable channels, free local calls, a clock radio, coffee/tea-maker and a hair-dryer. An iron and ironing board is available on request. Rooms are beige and basic, with some located on the first floor next to the lobby.

Features:

Ample parking is available nearby (fees apply).

Transportation:
  • SEPTA subway Race-Vine station (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16 km)

 

Attractions:
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (across the street)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Historic district (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Professional sports and concert venues (5 mi/8 km)
Business:
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Copy and fax services
  • Complimentary newspapers
  • 24-hour front desk
Policies and Fees:

No pets accepted.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

39.9559 -75.1599
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.6 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.7 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.9 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.5 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.8 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.9 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.1 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.2 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (91)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Haas
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Oct 15, 2011

not good if claustrophobic

Room was tiny without a window. Parking was several blocks away. There was trash on sidewalks leading from garage to hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dmeb.liu
Business
New York, NY
Mar 11, 2012

Avoid at all costs!

Two colleagues and I traveled to Philly for business, and our employer wanted us to travel on the cheap, hence our rooms at the Travelodge at under $80 a night. Our rooms were tiny (not the worst thing in the world) but they had no exterior windows. My window, which featured the same security glass seen in prisons and had a lovely view of the hallway. My room was directly across from the elevator, which beeped loudly every time it stopped on our floor. My remote control was missing the back panel, which caused the batteries to fall out if, so I had to use the remote bottom side up. Oh! And my blanket was full of holes. The Travelodge is next door to a homeless shelter (bad) but across the street from the police station (reassuring). The low cost of the hotel attracts an interesting clientele. I was awoken by another guest banging on his friend's door, screaming at the top of his lungs about how he was in dire need of a cheeseburger--at exactly 4:04 in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
holahan
Business
Pocono, PA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

If I could have escaped, I would have.

Upon arrival, staff was extremely professional and friendly. However, the hallway to my room was filled with 12 to 16 children, approximately 12 to 14 years of age. I blame the Chaperons for not guiding the children on proper behaviour. And if noisy, yelling, running children we not enough, there is no sound proofing in the walls adjacent to the hallways. To escape, I would have jumped out a window except the only window lead into the dreaded hallway. Frankly, I've stayed in better hostels. Room was prepaid with nothing available in the area. I was stuck, though in retrospect, I could have slept in my car. No shower but quieter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tequilas on Locust Ave; a fantastic Mexican restaurant. Don't be fooled by the term Mexican for this is not tacos and fajitas, it is upscale Mexican food superbly prepared in a fine, old world atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amjin
Business
Florida
Jun 27, 2012

Never again.

The inside of this 'hotel' looked more like a shelter for homeless people - which by the way was right next door. My one window was 6ft off the ground and looked into an alley. Each morning I was awakened at 6:15 am by loud talking and what sounded like trash cans in the alley. Evidently that was when the shelter next door released its patrons. Parking is terrible. You pay $15-$30 to park for the day. There is no in-and-out during the day (you'll pay each time). Unfortunately I was on a budget this trip and was out of options...so I got what I paid for. I will avoid this location next time even if I have to stay in Jersey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This hole in the wall is located on the edge of China Town and some great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
yueru
Business
los angeles
Mar 1, 2013

bad!DIRTY!

I don't like it .I DON'T FEEL SAFE AND IT IS TOOOOOO SMALL FOR ME

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous8
Business
Pennsylvania
Jul 27, 2013

Awful

I didn't get the room I reserved. The room was smelly, dirty, and we got bit by bugs. When this was brought to their attention, the staff was rude and unprofessional. In addition, the location is next to a homeless shelter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hotel Victim
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 26, 2013

Extremely Unpleasant Stay

After spending one night, I woke up the next morning with a terrible and very itchy skin rash. Concerned, I visited a doctor, who said that the bumps all over my skin looked like spider bites. Interestingly enough, I found a nasty-looking spider upon returning to room. I politely reported this incident to the front desk, who sent housekeeping to get rid of the spider. The front desk then asked me to fill out an incident report for them, but refused to give me a copy. After reviewing the report, the housekeeping staff actually denied seeing the spider in my room, even though they were the ones who killed it. Instead of apologizing, the hotel staff told me to leave immediately and even threatened to call the police.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hotel Victim
Business
Philadelphia
Jul 26, 2013

Dirty, Dangerous & Disgusting

The street outside of the hotel was full of garbage, and there were bugs and hairs inside of the room. The manager was aggressive and irresponsible. Stay away from it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
whithewall
Business
IN
Jul 15, 2010

Do not recommend to stay there

The location is good, close to downtown, but it seems like it is not safe there. The worst thing is that there is no window in my room, so i have to turn on the light during the day. Also, the carpet is very old and dirty. And there are some smell in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Sep 4, 2009

UGH!!

This was the noisiest, dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed at. This must THE place to go for hourly room rentals. There sure was lots of traffic in the hallways untill 3 A.M. Avoid if at all possible!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top