$126 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 17, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

4 stars
4010 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
56 reviews
Enjoyable stay at the spur of the moment

We just got tickets for the playoff game vs. the Saints. We were able to get reservations... See full review

  • Michael B.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Enjoyable stay at the spur of the moment

We just got tickets for the playoff game vs. the Saints. We were able to get reservations... See full review

  • Michael B.
  • Dec 22, 2014
A good night's sleep and easy access to Philly west suburbs or Center City

Located just off of Interstate 76, next door to a popular park, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia West is centrally positioned between downtown Philadelphia and nearby suburbs and universities. The 100-percent nonsmoking property provides guests with its unique Sleep Advantage Program , free wireless high-speed Internet access, a fitness center, an indoor pool and whirlpool, an on-site bar and grill and a business center. Parking is complimentary for guests, and laundry facilities are also available on-site.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout hotel
  • Indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center
  • Unique room amenities include eye masks, drape clips, lavender spray and a nightlight
Rooms

The completely nonsmoking Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West offers 337 guest rooms and suites, all decorated in muted tones and dark-wood furniture. Standard amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet and work desks. Beds have pillow-top mattresses and luxury linens. Televisions include premium channels and pay movies. Other standard amenities include a coffee-maker, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board. All guests are also provided with complimentary newspapers.

Features

The hotel provides guests with the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program, featuring comfortable new beds appointed with seven pillows, a plush duvet and high-thread-count sheets. Guests also receive guaranteed wake-up calls within five minutes of request, or the room is free. Quiet-zone floors ensure no noise during sleeping hours, and sleep aids such as an eye mask, drape clip, earplugs, lavender spray and a nightlight are standard amenities.

Dining

The hotel's restaurant, Avenue Grill & Bar, provides a full selection of Continental American cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The lounge offers an extensive wine list and signature drinks, as well as draft beers from local microbreweries.

Transportation
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
Attractions
  • Fairmount Park (across the street)
  • St. Joseph's University (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (5 mi/8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Historic District (7 mi/11.3 km)
Business
  • Multiple conference and meeting rooms
  • Dedicated meetings director
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Catering services
  • Audio/Visual equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Please Touch Museum: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 3.3 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 3.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 3.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 3.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 3.9 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 4 mi
  • The Palestra: 4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Penn Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 4.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 4.5 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 3.3 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 3.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 3.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 3.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 3.9 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 4 mi
  • The Palestra: 4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Penn Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 4.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 4.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 4.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 4.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 4.7 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 4.8 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 5 mi
  • Christ Church: 5.1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 5.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 5.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 5.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 5.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 5.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 5.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 5.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 6.6 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 7.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 7.7 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 7.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 7.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,453.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.8 mi

Dining

Avenue Grill
Open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service, the Avenue Grill is serving up some of the best cuisine in town! Located on our lobby level, the Avenue Grill dishes up perennial favorites like crab cakes and steaks, along with seasonal specials
Avenue Grill
The Lounge in the Avenue Grill offers up an extensive wine list and signature drinks, as well as featuring draft beers from local microbreweries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 56
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8
Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duchess09
Business
Minot, ND, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Good location

Stayed in the 2 double bed room. The beds were comfortable but the room seemed a little outdated and small. The tub also had a few rusty spots. The staff was very helpful in recommending local spots.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Manayunk is a small town with lots of dining options and bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 8, 2011

OK, nothing special

Stayed for a two night weekend. The experience was fairly lack luster for the price range. Decor and service were sufficient, no smiles or warmth from either. There is a TGIF, Chipotle and Starbucks in the adjacent lot. The location is within 1/2 mile of biking/running paths along the river.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NW Suburbs, IL
Nov 17, 2010

My Philly Trip

All in all this particular hotel was pretty nice. I've stayed in lots of different hotels over the years in many different states & countries. It wasn't located smack-dab downtown but it was not an issue. I knew this going in anyhow. I didn't want to stay in one of those super frequented downtown locations. The location was only a few minutes away from downtown Philly by car. There is also a Target right next door which is helpful in case you want to get some groceries or forgot one of your toiletry items that you can't find at the hotel. The room was really nice. I had a room with a single queen bed. Quite spacious. There weren't any problems with my room in terms of any "defects" or anything worn or falling apart or anything. Completely non smoking facility. Go outside if you wanna smoke like I did. The furniture was pretty cool, which included a couple of chairs & an ottomon, there was a pretty new slim what looked to be HD ready TV (don't think it was displaying in High Def), and a helpful Timex CD player alarm with dual alarms. The bathroom and everything in it was more than sufficient. The few complaints I had were minor issues. I didn't think the automatic doors opened fast enough when going in or out, the elevator doors closed just a little bit too quickly, and I was not too happy about the refresh rate or what have you on the TV when clicking through channels. Until I found out and memorized what channel ESPN was on, it took forever to flip through and find ESPN. Channel 25 :D. I took a look at the pool and hot tub or whatever but did not get a chance to try them out. They looked solid. There was always plenty of free parking in front and on the sides. The staff gets an excellent rating. Anybody I talked to was very helpful and more friendly than anything. Look for [...] at the Hotel Bar. He's quite a nice young gentleman. I had a good time watching The Eagles play a Monday Night game from that Bar. It was quite a fun night. I would recommend this hotel to a friend or family member.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 7, 2008

My review of Crowne Plaza Hotel PHILADELPHIA PA-MAIN LINE

I felt very comfortable at the Crowne Plaza but i was not happy with the water temp. When i first got there the water was lukewarm and then the following morning it was cold... other than that i loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a Fridays right in front of the parking lot for the hotel which wss really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top