$126 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

4 stars
4010 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
56 reviews
Enjoyable stay at the spur of the moment

We just got tickets for the playoff game vs. the Saints. We were able to get reservations... See full review

  • Michael B.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Enjoyable stay at the spur of the moment

We just got tickets for the playoff game vs. the Saints. We were able to get reservations... See full review

  • Michael B.
  • Dec 22, 2014
A good night's sleep and easy access to Philly west suburbs or Center City

Located just off of Interstate 76, next door to a popular park, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia West is centrally positioned between downtown Philadelphia and nearby suburbs and universities. The 100-percent nonsmoking property provides guests with its unique Sleep Advantage Program , free wireless high-speed Internet access, a fitness center, an indoor pool and whirlpool, an on-site bar and grill and a business center. Parking is complimentary for guests, and laundry facilities are also available on-site.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout hotel
  • Indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center
  • Unique room amenities include eye masks, drape clips, lavender spray and a nightlight
Rooms

The completely nonsmoking Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West offers 337 guest rooms and suites, all decorated in muted tones and dark-wood furniture. Standard amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet and work desks. Beds have pillow-top mattresses and luxury linens. Televisions include premium channels and pay movies. Other standard amenities include a coffee-maker, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board. All guests are also provided with complimentary newspapers.

Features

The hotel provides guests with the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program, featuring comfortable new beds appointed with seven pillows, a plush duvet and high-thread-count sheets. Guests also receive guaranteed wake-up calls within five minutes of request, or the room is free. Quiet-zone floors ensure no noise during sleeping hours, and sleep aids such as an eye mask, drape clip, earplugs, lavender spray and a nightlight are standard amenities.

Dining

The hotel's restaurant, Avenue Grill & Bar, provides a full selection of Continental American cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The lounge offers an extensive wine list and signature drinks, as well as draft beers from local microbreweries.

Transportation
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
Attractions
  • Fairmount Park (across the street)
  • St. Joseph's University (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (5 mi/8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Historic District (7 mi/11.3 km)
Business
  • Multiple conference and meeting rooms
  • Dedicated meetings director
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Catering services
  • Audio/Visual equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Please Touch Museum: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 3.3 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 3.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 3.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 3.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 3.9 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 4 mi
  • The Palestra: 4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Penn Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 4.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 4.5 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 3.3 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 3.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 3.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 3.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 3.9 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 4 mi
  • The Palestra: 4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Penn Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 4.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 4.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 4.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 4.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 4.7 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 4.8 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 5 mi
  • Christ Church: 5.1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 5.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 5.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 5.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 5.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 5.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 5.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 5.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 6.6 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 7.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 7.7 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 7.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 7.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,453.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.8 mi

Dining

Avenue Grill
Open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service, the Avenue Grill is serving up some of the best cuisine in town! Located on our lobby level, the Avenue Grill dishes up perennial favorites like crab cakes and steaks, along with seasonal specials
Avenue Grill
The Lounge in the Avenue Grill offers up an extensive wine list and signature drinks, as well as featuring draft beers from local microbreweries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 56
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jabbasmom
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 13, 2013

Great location but too pricey

We traveled to visit two local universities but was during the U.S. Open so had to deal with high prices and crazy traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LREE
Business
Guadalajara, Jalisco, México
Apr 18, 2013

Location

Although the hotel is not located close to the landmarks of Philadelphia, it offers a city shutle service every hour and coming back is easy using public transportation. The area is nice and a lot of restaurants are within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the see food restaurant across the street from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pgh445
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 2, 2013

Very nice

We were visiting my sister in Ardmore for Easter weekend, and this hotel was nicely located. I am not sure why this happened (perhaps because the hotel was busy that weekend), but they gave us a room on the top floor, which included access to the Executive Lounge, which is a small room stocked with various snacks and drinks. It ended up being a really nice perk for my 3 kids. The kids also loved the pool, and while it wasn't the fanciest hotel room I have ever encountered, I felt that the room was clean and the hotel staff was friendly. Even though the hotel was busy, we didn't have any problems with excessive noise in the halls. There is a Target next door, which was handy when I had to run out to buy swim goggles for the kids. We also ate at the TGI Fridays, which shares the same parking lot. There are other restaurants within walking distance (Starbucks, etc). Overall, we were very pleased - we would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Southern Dad of 2
Business
Upstate, SC
Dec 10, 2012

Weekend in Philly!

Chose this hotel because of star rating and proximity to airport and Lincoln Financial Field. Location is fine, plenty of shopping and restaurants in the area. Room was small, paper thin walls, and a drunk fest everywhere you looked. I would not recommend for families! Staff seemed to just observe, no security presence at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eli the flower
Business
LA
Aug 23, 2012

College entrance

The morning staff said that they could not acommodate us because the entrance time was 4:00 pm and it was barely 9:30.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xfiler
Business
Mitchellville, MD
Aug 14, 2012

Excellent stopover

The location was perfect for us because we needed to get up and continue our journey on Rte. 476. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We like the elevator security. Did not like being charged for use of microwave and refrigerator, as we are Priority Club members. We did appreciate very much the late checkout time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Another Life
Business
Schenectady, NY
Dec 23, 2011

Great hotel

The staff at this hotel was very friendly. We liked the strawberry & cucumber water in the lobby, although free coffee would have been good too. We enjoyed the pool, hottub and exercise room. The room was very clean and comfortable. Only annoying thing was the flourescent lights in the lamps. Location very good - shuttle bus brings you into town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hit the Philadelphia Museum of Art for sure!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bake
Business
Connecticut, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Nice rooms and staff, but breakfast not included.

Our beds were very comfortable, We were surprised that there was neither a changing area nor showers by the pool. The location is handy for shopping and close to the highway, but you are some distance from the historical area, and it is not very pedestrian friendly. The staff was very friendly, and when we needed service in our room, they were prompt. We wish a continental breakfast was included, and without it, consider the price on the expensive side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Horst
Business
Mexico
Aug 23, 2011

Family vacation

We were on a trip visiting Boston, New York, Philadelphia and Washington DC. Good location if you have a car (parking is free !). Around the hotel there are different options to eat and a Target, whichis very convenient. Staff was very friendly. Rooms are spacious. Pool is small, not suitable if you want to swim a few rounds. We felt very comfortable in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
roslyn mckoy
Business
brooklyn nyc
Aug 8, 2011

horrible

the hotel was nice but the service was not up par.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top