$111 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

4 stars
4010 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
54 reviews
Great experience!

We got checked in with Purvi. She was absolutely welcoming and friendly. She answered our questions... See full review

  • Dee No
  • Oct 10, 2014
Great experience over-all

This was a very good experience, everyone was super friendly and they were willing to help a... See full review

  • the rez
  • Jan 24, 2014
A good night's sleep and easy access to Philly west suburbs or Center City

Located just off of Interstate 76, next door to a popular park, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia West is centrally positioned between downtown Philadelphia and nearby suburbs and universities. The 100-percent nonsmoking property provides guests with its unique Sleep Advantage Program , free wireless high-speed Internet access, a fitness center, an indoor pool and whirlpool, an on-site bar and grill and a business center. Parking is complimentary for guests, and laundry facilities are also available on-site.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout hotel
  • Indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center
  • Unique room amenities include eye masks, drape clips, lavender spray and a nightlight
Rooms

The completely nonsmoking Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West offers 337 guest rooms and suites, all decorated in muted tones and dark-wood furniture. Standard amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet and work desks. Beds have pillow-top mattresses and luxury linens. Televisions include premium channels and pay movies. Other standard amenities include a coffee-maker, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board. All guests are also provided with complimentary newspapers.

Features

The hotel provides guests with the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program, featuring comfortable new beds appointed with seven pillows, a plush duvet and high-thread-count sheets. Guests also receive guaranteed wake-up calls within five minutes of request, or the room is free. Quiet-zone floors ensure no noise during sleeping hours, and sleep aids such as an eye mask, drape clip, earplugs, lavender spray and a nightlight are standard amenities.

Dining

The hotel's restaurant, Avenue Grill & Bar, provides a full selection of Continental American cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The lounge offers an extensive wine list and signature drinks, as well as draft beers from local microbreweries.

Transportation
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
Attractions
  • Fairmount Park (across the street)
  • St. Joseph's University (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (5 mi/8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Historic District (7 mi/11.3 km)
Business
  • Multiple conference and meeting rooms
  • Dedicated meetings director
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Catering services
  • Audio/Visual equipment

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Please Touch Museum: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 3.3 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 3.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 3.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 3.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 3.9 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 4 mi
  • The Palestra: 4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Penn Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 4.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 4.5 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 3.3 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 3.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 3.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 3.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 3.9 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 4 mi
  • The Palestra: 4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Penn Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 4.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 4.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 4.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 4.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 4.7 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 4.8 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 5 mi
  • Christ Church: 5.1 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 5.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 5.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 5.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 5.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 5.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 5.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 5.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 6.6 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 7.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 7.7 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 7.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 7.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,453.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.8 mi

Dining

Avenue Grill
Open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service, the Avenue Grill is serving up some of the best cuisine in town! Located on our lobby level, the Avenue Grill dishes up perennial favorites like crab cakes and steaks, along with seasonal specials
Avenue Grill
The Lounge in the Avenue Grill offers up an extensive wine list and signature drinks, as well as featuring draft beers from local microbreweries.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 54
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BusyConsultant
Business
New York
Nov 11, 2014

Run Down

Staff was very nice, but hotel and rooms were pretty rundown. Decent place, good location, decent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr. Vegas two
Business
NY
Nov 7, 2014

Nice Location

Hotel was in an ideal location. The staff was friendly and nice. Only setback I had was the leak in the ceiling. We stayed for one night and woke up to a leaking ceiling the next morning due to the heavy Rain. After the hotel staff was informed they offered us another room and late check out. Unfortunately we had to leave to be at another location. The hotel is close to Starbucks, California pizza kitchen and even target. TGI Fridays is just steps away. All in all it was a good stay minus the leaking ceiling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TGI Fridays

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dee No
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Oct 10, 2014

Great experience!

We got checked in with Purvi. She was absolutely welcoming and friendly. She answered our questions and recommended the on site restaurant. (which employees usually do,) but when we asked for recommendations, her suggestions were spot on! I cam tell she knows what she's talking about. Avenue Grill was tasty. Food was wonderful and the fries were amazing. Our waitress was very friendly and made me a drink based off my "I don't really like the taste of alcohol" statement. The drink was a hit! Its soon to be called the "Avenue Delight". But I implore you to name it after the creator! There's an indoor pool and jacuzzi, and although I didn't partake, the area was clean and had plenty of towels. Parking is on site, and manageable. Only complaint/gripe Is that a continental breakfast isn't provided, and the hotel is pretty far from Central Philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Target and TGI Fridays are a short walk away. The scenic walk is worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Philly Weekender
Business
North Jersey
Aug 31, 2013

Great Location BUT...

I really like the location of this hotel, as its in a great section of Philly, with lots of inexpensive restaurants, and only few exits away by car to Center City. I got a great deal for this hotel, but I would not spend too much for it, as its not worth the regular price. I got what I expected. One thing I didn't like, was that I asked the person that checked me in to correct the reservation from double beds to king. She nodded, and I saw she made no effort to change it. We got to the room, to find it right next to the elevators. Umm.... okay. My other half laughed when we entered the room to see the double beds. I exclaimed, "I thought she said she was going to change it!!! He thought i intentionally asked to sleep separately like Ricky and Lucy. He said, "These look like twin beds!" He went on to sleep in the other bed and expressed how nice it was to have his own bed for a change! Thanks Crown Plaza. A few minutes in, the noise began. There was a cheerleading team practicing flips in the hallway, and people made small talk by the elevators all night. The rooms are comfortable, small, and clean, however, the lobby and hallways are definitely not up to date. The room only had one tiny bar of soap. Was it that difficult to put two out? The green marble and red walls are so ugly. The other people staying at the hotel, looked sloppy, were loitering, and had the furniture scattered about. It didn't look upscale - just the type of hotel that lots of groups would stay out to stay on a cheap budget, and families visiting families. I wasn't impressed. Its a solid 3 star hotel, but not luxury. Its definitely NOT a destination hotel if you were looking for a romantic getaway - obviously with the double beds, it did feel like a dormitory. I've stayed at the best of the best throughout the world, but I can tell you I've stayed at road motels, with a better atmosphere. I was just happy it was clean and close to Center City. On a holiday weekend, it was a great deal, and that's what mattered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a lot of great stores like Saks and Lord & Taylor closeby. I love that there are chain restaurants closeby, so we didn't have to trek back into the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Another Life
Business
Schenectady, NY
Nov 6, 2011

Happy with the Crowne Plaza hotel

For the price, this was a great hotel. It's located 4 miles outside of downtown Philadelphia, but the free shuttle bus service each day makes it easy to get into town. The pool and hottub were very nice. The rooms were clean and comfortable, although the flourescent bulbs in the lamps are annoying. The front desk, restaurant and shuttle driver staff were VERY friendly, helpful and polite. The restaurant was convenient. Breakfast was good, dinner left a little to be desired. There's free water in the lobby but coffee or tea would be nice too. Workout room was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Philadelphia Museum of Art was fantastic - competes with any big museum. The shuttle bus ride along the Schulkyll River was beautiful and if you have time, it's a nice walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Poppy's Hunter
Business
Stockbridge, MA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

TIME STOOD STILL

We were aghast at the flickering lightbulbs in the nearly all grey room. The bathtub was 50's tiny. The room smelled peculiar, there was a rotten tomato squished on a vent on the ceiling....the whole place creeped us out....we could even hear between the walls, a man speaking business at 3am....as if he was in our room. Pay no attention to the positive things said about this spooky hotel----they must be planted or something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bunny love
Business
Bergen, NJ
Apr 1, 2011

Great last minute stay!

[...] found an affordable last minute hotel only 13 minutes from downtown Philly. All the hotels in downtown were either booked or overpriced. We just needed a nice, clean bed for the night. This hotel exceeded our expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel was more affordable than most 4 star hotels in and around the 2 mile radius of downtown Philly. There were good family friendly restaurants adjoining the hotel parking. We had a great dinner at the CPK restaurant and walked right back to our room. Convenient, affordable, and clean.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 20, 2011

nice stay

We were there for the NCAA and we were gone all day. The stay was fine my only complaint is the parking. We drove around looking for a space to park. I went inside and asked and they told me to go around the back and a bell man was there to direct us. Tell people this when they check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth Meeting, Pa.
Feb 6, 2011

Just Fine

The rooms were standard, nothing particularly special. The hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul NYC
Business
NYC
Oct 5, 2010

Good hotel on City Avenue

Convenient to Merion where we visited friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top