$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

4 stars
4010 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
50 reviews
Great experience over-all

This was a very good experience, everyone was super friendly and they were willing to help a... See full review

  • the rez
  • Jan 24, 2014
Crowning Visit

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 3 nights to attend a conference. The hotel staff was friendly,... See full review

  • Bearr
  • Jan 30, 2014
A good night's sleep and easy access to Philly west suburbs or Center City

Located just off of Interstate 76, next door to a popular park, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia West is centrally positioned between downtown Philadelphia and nearby suburbs and universities. The 100-percent nonsmoking property provides guests with its unique Sleep Advantage Program , free wireless high-speed Internet access, a fitness center, an indoor pool and whirlpool, an on-site bar and grill and a business center. Parking is complimentary for guests, and laundry facilities are also available on-site.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout hotel
  • Indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center
  • Unique room amenities include eye masks, drape clips, lavender spray and a nightlight
Rooms

The completely nonsmoking Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West offers 337 guest rooms and suites, all decorated in muted tones and dark-wood furniture. Standard amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet and work desks. Beds have pillow-top mattresses and luxury linens. Televisions include premium channels and pay movies. Other standard amenities include a coffee-maker, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board. All guests are also provided with complimentary newspapers.

Features

The hotel provides guests with the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program, featuring comfortable new beds appointed with seven pillows, a plush duvet and high-thread-count sheets. Guests also receive guaranteed wake-up calls within five minutes of request, or the room is free. Quiet-zone floors ensure no noise during sleeping hours, and sleep aids such as an eye mask, drape clip, earplugs, lavender spray and a nightlight are standard amenities.

Dining

The hotel's restaurant, Avenue Grill & Bar, provides a full selection of Continental American cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The lounge offers an extensive wine list and signature drinks, as well as draft beers from local microbreweries.

Transportation
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
Attractions
  • Fairmount Park (across the street)
  • St. Joseph's University (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (5 mi/8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Historic District (7 mi/11.3 km)
Business
  • Multiple conference and meeting rooms
  • Dedicated meetings director
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Catering services
  • Audio/Visual equipment

Hotel Map

40.0076 -75.21
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 15.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Please Touch Museum: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 3.3 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 3.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 3.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 3.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 3.9 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 4 mi
  • The Palestra: 4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Penn Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 4.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 4.5 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 3.3 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 3.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 3.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 3.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 3.9 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 4 mi
  • The Palestra: 4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Penn Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 4.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 4.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 4.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 4.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 4.7 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 4.8 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 5 mi
  • Christ Church: 5.1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 5.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 5.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 5.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 5.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 5.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 5.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 5.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 6.6 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 7.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 7.7 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 7.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 7.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,453.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.8 mi

Dining

Avenue Grill
Open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service, the Avenue Grill is serving up some of the best cuisine in town! Located on our lobby level, the Avenue Grill dishes up perennial favorites like crab cakes and steaks, along with seasonal specials

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul NYC
NYC
Oct 5, 2010

Good hotel on City Avenue

Convenient to Merion where we visited friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the rez
Business
Cupetino California
Jan 24, 2014

Great experience over-all

This was a very good experience, everyone was super friendly and they were willing to help a Student out. I had a red eye flight and arrived in Philadelphia at 630 am. I called them to see if it was possible to check in early... and guess what they did. I was able to check in at 830, which was a relief especially because i was stuck in a middle seat. Then when i had to check out, they let me keep my luggage in their safe room while I had to do some more things in Philadelphia. I would definitely go there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Their 5 dollar wings are worth it!!! and 3 dollar beers are a great deal for a bar.

Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massillon
Sep 23, 2008

Exceptional Service

This was my first time staying at the Crown Plaza on the mainline and I travel allot to the Philadelphia area and usually stay in the center city area. I really love this hotel the hotel staff was exceptional in getting me check in , the hotel amenities was a plus for me since I left my laptop behind and I had to bring up a report and print it out , having free internet in the lobby and a printer was a lifesaver for me. I will be back again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great places to dine nearby just a short walk to Starbuck or TGIF to have a great meal.

Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mayla
Business
Florida
May 30, 2012

Great Hotel

Wonderful Staff. They are all kind and respond quickly to address your needs. Room and environment were always clean. The location was perfect. I have no complains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ulrich
Business
Sacramento, CA
Feb 20, 2008

Very helpful staff

Check-inn was quick - and the staff was very helpful with additional questions I had. The room was spacious, bathroom size in proportion rather small. Bed was excellent - and as icing on the cake there was a big selection of pillows. If you need to choose - here you can. The alarm clock also came with a cd-player - and you can hook up your MP-3-player - if you remembered to bring a 3,5' connection cable with you, which would also help in your rental car. Mine was at home ;-( ... Moreover there was a CD-provided with relaxing music - and lavender pillow spray. Nice amenities ... Design was obviously not the main topic when creating the rooms - but you have all you need: Great bed, working TV, fridge and microwave. A desk and a sofa. I had no trouble sleeping - no noise to talk about - although I was only on the 3rd level. I had forgotten my power adapter and had only my cable with the EURO-plug for my electric shaver with me. No problem - the lady at the front desk did not really understand first what I wanted - but called her maintenance colleague who was able to fetch me what I needed. Very friendly - straight forward service! Would recommend this hotel anytime. Locationwise it was fine for my needs of this trip. Not exactly downtown - but still with a few dining options, e.g. TGIF right in front of the main entrance. Also the TARGET next door is convenient, as can be STARBUCKS and other watering holes in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

TARGET

Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jun 24, 2010

FREE WiFi everywhere!

WhooWho! My favority amenity ever--FREE WiFi everywhere! Also a 3-computer business center with free copies. Great location as well. Plus all the usual expected features--quiet, clean room. Exceptionally friendly, helpful staff. No dings on the bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Saks and Lord & Taylor along with many restaurants nearby. Barnes Foundation within 2 miles.

Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pghbaker
Business
Pittsburgh
Mar 22, 2012

busness trip

very nice stay, comfortable, clean and very nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Philadelphia U graduate parent
Johnston, RI
May 20, 2010

Another great stay

This is the 2nd time I've been here and I will continue to do it in the future. This hotel is convenient to all the surrounding areas. The hotel is clean and the staff is great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lauren Loves To Travel
Tampa, FL, USA
Dec 30, 2012

Great stay!

I only stayed one night here, but it was a very enjoyable stay. The location is very convenient to the highway, and you can walk to many places. I especially liked that there is no fee to park there overnight. I went down to the hotel bar for dinner and a few drinks, and it was very nice. The front desk staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again when I am back in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many places to eat that are a very short walk from the hotel, like Friday's, Pei Wei, California Pizza Kitchen, Starbucks, Potbelly's, and Chipotle. There is also a Target next door.

Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 20, 2011

nice stay

We were there for the NCAA and we were gone all day. The stay was fine my only complaint is the parking. We drove around looking for a space to park. I went inside and asked and they told me to go around the back and a bell man was there to direct us. Tell people this when they check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search