$128 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

4 stars
View map of 4010 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parasnowman
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Sep 23, 2013

Pretty Good Hotel in Nice location

Nice place to stay if you are in Philly a couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Philly Weekender
Business
North Jersey
Aug 31, 2013

Great Location BUT...

I really like the location of this hotel, as its in a great section of Philly, with lots of inexpensive restaurants, and only few exits away by car to Center City. I got a great deal for this hotel, but I would not spend too much for it, as its not worth the regular price. I got what I expected. One thing I didn't like, was that I asked the person that checked me in to correct the reservation from double beds to king. She nodded, and I saw she made no effort to change it. We got to the room, to find it right next to the elevators. Umm.... okay. My other half laughed when we entered the room to see the double beds. I exclaimed, "I thought she said she was going to change it!!! He thought i intentionally asked to sleep separately like Ricky and Lucy. He said, "These look like twin beds!" He went on to sleep in the other bed and expressed how nice it was to have his own bed for a change! Thanks Crown Plaza. A few minutes in, the noise began. There was a cheerleading team practicing flips in the hallway, and people made small talk by the elevators all night. The rooms are comfortable, small, and clean, however, the lobby and hallways are definitely not up to date. The room only had one tiny bar of soap. Was it that difficult to put two out? The green marble and red walls are so ugly. The other people staying at the hotel, looked sloppy, were loitering, and had the furniture scattered about. It didn't look upscale - just the type of hotel that lots of groups would stay out to stay on a cheap budget, and families visiting families. I wasn't impressed. Its a solid 3 star hotel, but not luxury. Its definitely NOT a destination hotel if you were looking for a romantic getaway - obviously with the double beds, it did feel like a dormitory. I've stayed at the best of the best throughout the world, but I can tell you I've stayed at road motels, with a better atmosphere. I was just happy it was clean and close to Center City. On a holiday weekend, it was a great deal, and that's what mattered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a lot of great stores like Saks and Lord & Taylor closeby. I love that there are chain restaurants closeby, so we didn't have to trek back into the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jabbasmom
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 13, 2013

Great location but too pricey

We traveled to visit two local universities but was during the U.S. Open so had to deal with high prices and crazy traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happywill
Business
New York
Jun 3, 2013

Good Location

Really nice area to get into Philly. Saks Fifth Ave and Target are both across the street. Rush hour traffic is like 20-25 minutes into downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LREE
Business
Guadalajara, Jalisco, México
Apr 18, 2013

Location

Although the hotel is not located close to the landmarks of Philadelphia, it offers a city shutle service every hour and coming back is easy using public transportation. The area is nice and a lot of restaurants are within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the see food restaurant across the street from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pgh445
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 2, 2013

Very nice

We were visiting my sister in Ardmore for Easter weekend, and this hotel was nicely located. I am not sure why this happened (perhaps because the hotel was busy that weekend), but they gave us a room on the top floor, which included access to the Executive Lounge, which is a small room stocked with various snacks and drinks. It ended up being a really nice perk for my 3 kids. The kids also loved the pool, and while it wasn't the fanciest hotel room I have ever encountered, I felt that the room was clean and the hotel staff was friendly. Even though the hotel was busy, we didn't have any problems with excessive noise in the halls. There is a Target next door, which was handy when I had to run out to buy swim goggles for the kids. We also ate at the TGI Fridays, which shares the same parking lot. There are other restaurants within walking distance (Starbucks, etc). Overall, we were very pleased - we would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arleydreamer
Business
Ireland
Mar 10, 2013

Business trip

Check-in staff & porter were very helpful, we arrived early and were given our room immediately. The room was on the second floor, beds were very comfortable. Room was clean and there were plenty of towels and toiletries. Great coffee/tea making facilities. Free wifi and access to printers and PC stations at no extra cost were a bonus. We ate breakfast in the hotel each morning and once again the staff were helpful and the food was plentiful including healthy options! We ate one evening meal there which was also of good standard. The hotel was located conveniently for our business trip, however it cost roughly $40 each way to travel to the nearest large Mall for shopping or sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TGIF located in front of hotel as were a number of other eateries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lauren Loves To Travel
Business
Tampa, FL, USA
Dec 30, 2012

Great stay!

I only stayed one night here, but it was a very enjoyable stay. The location is very convenient to the highway, and you can walk to many places. I especially liked that there is no fee to park there overnight. I went down to the hotel bar for dinner and a few drinks, and it was very nice. The front desk staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again when I am back in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many places to eat that are a very short walk from the hotel, like Friday's, Pei Wei, California Pizza Kitchen, Starbucks, Potbelly's, and Chipotle. There is also a Target next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Southern Dad of 2
Business
Upstate, SC
Dec 10, 2012

Weekend in Philly!

Chose this hotel because of star rating and proximity to airport and Lincoln Financial Field. Location is fine, plenty of shopping and restaurants in the area. Room was small, paper thin walls, and a drunk fest everywhere you looked. I would not recommend for families! Staff seemed to just observe, no security presence at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DKYIE
Business
Norwich, NY 13815, USA
Aug 27, 2012

PHILADELPHIA CONCERT TRIP

ARIVED LATER THEN EXPECTED AND WAS QICKLY CHECKED IN. ROOM WAS CLEAN AND EVERYTHING WORKED. ALWAYS ASKED IF I NEED HELP AND THE MORNING I WAS TO CHECK OUT MY RECEIPT WITH A THANK YOU WAS SLID UNDER MY DOOR. WOULD STAY AGAIN HERE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top