$127 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

4 stars
4010 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
50 reviews
Great experience over-all

This was a very good experience, everyone was super friendly and they were willing to help a... See full review

  • the rez
  • Jan 24, 2014
Crowning Visit

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 3 nights to attend a conference. The hotel staff was friendly,... See full review

  • Bearr
  • Jan 30, 2014
A good night's sleep and easy access to Philly west suburbs or Center City

Located just off of Interstate 76, next door to a popular park, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Philadelphia West is centrally positioned between downtown Philadelphia and nearby suburbs and universities. The 100-percent nonsmoking property provides guests with its unique Sleep Advantage Program , free wireless high-speed Internet access, a fitness center, an indoor pool and whirlpool, an on-site bar and grill and a business center. Parking is complimentary for guests, and laundry facilities are also available on-site.

Highlights
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout hotel
  • Indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center
  • Unique room amenities include eye masks, drape clips, lavender spray and a nightlight
Rooms

The completely nonsmoking Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West offers 337 guest rooms and suites, all decorated in muted tones and dark-wood furniture. Standard amenities include complimentary high-speed Internet and work desks. Beds have pillow-top mattresses and luxury linens. Televisions include premium channels and pay movies. Other standard amenities include a coffee-maker, hair-dryer and iron/ironing board. All guests are also provided with complimentary newspapers.

Features

The hotel provides guests with the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program, featuring comfortable new beds appointed with seven pillows, a plush duvet and high-thread-count sheets. Guests also receive guaranteed wake-up calls within five minutes of request, or the room is free. Quiet-zone floors ensure no noise during sleeping hours, and sleep aids such as an eye mask, drape clip, earplugs, lavender spray and a nightlight are standard amenities.

Dining

The hotel's restaurant, Avenue Grill & Bar, provides a full selection of Continental American cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The lounge offers an extensive wine list and signature drinks, as well as draft beers from local microbreweries.

Transportation
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (15 mi/24.1 km)
Attractions
  • Fairmount Park (across the street)
  • St. Joseph's University (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (5 mi/8 km)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (6.7 mi/10.8 km)
  • Historic District (7 mi/11.3 km)
Business
  • Multiple conference and meeting rooms
  • Dedicated meetings director
  • Business Center
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Catering services
  • Audio/Visual equipment

Hotel Map

40.0076 -75.21
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Please Touch Museum: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 3.3 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 3.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 3.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 3.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 3.9 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 4 mi
  • The Palestra: 4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Penn Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 4.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 4.5 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 3.3 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 3.4 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 3.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 3.8 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 3.9 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 4 mi
  • The Palestra: 4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 4.1 mi
  • Penn Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 4.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 4.5 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 4.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 4.6 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 4.7 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 4.8 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 5 mi
  • Christ Church: 5.1 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 5.1 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 5.1 mi
  • Independence Hall: 5.2 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 5.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 5.3 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 5.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 5.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 6.6 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 7.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 7.7 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 7.7 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 7.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,453.8 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.8 mi

Dining

Avenue Grill
Open daily for breakfast, lunch, dinner and room service, the Avenue Grill is serving up some of the best cuisine in town! Located on our lobby level, the Avenue Grill dishes up perennial favorites like crab cakes and steaks, along with seasonal specials

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lauren Loves To Travel
Tampa, FL, USA
Dec 30, 2012

Great stay!

I only stayed one night here, but it was a very enjoyable stay. The location is very convenient to the highway, and you can walk to many places. I especially liked that there is no fee to park there overnight. I went down to the hotel bar for dinner and a few drinks, and it was very nice. The front desk staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again when I am back in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many places to eat that are a very short walk from the hotel, like Friday's, Pei Wei, California Pizza Kitchen, Starbucks, Potbelly's, and Chipotle. There is also a Target next door.

Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bearr
Business
downeast Maine
Jan 30, 2014

Crowning Visit

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 3 nights to attend a conference. The hotel staff was friendly, available, and helpful. The room was comfortable; layout, bath, bed, temperature. I ate at the Avenue Grill, within the hotel which was quite good. The staff and service was friendly, attentive and good natured. I used the fitness facilities. The room temperature was quite high the first morning, I mentioned it to staff and it was comfortable the next morning. I would recommend staying at the hotel for the above reasons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Katz Deli, located on King's Grant Drive/adjacent to the GSB Building. I attended the Beck Institute in GSB blg. Katz Deli has great food, terrific variety, fresh, fast, tasty. I had lox and bagel one lunch, and a wrap the next day. I loved their cookies. Real Philly cookies! Try it!

Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the rez
Business
Cupetino California
Jan 24, 2014

Great experience over-all

This was a very good experience, everyone was super friendly and they were willing to help a Student out. I had a red eye flight and arrived in Philadelphia at 630 am. I called them to see if it was possible to check in early... and guess what they did. I was able to check in at 830, which was a relief especially because i was stuck in a middle seat. Then when i had to check out, they let me keep my luggage in their safe room while I had to do some more things in Philadelphia. I would definitely go there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Their 5 dollar wings are worth it!!! and 3 dollar beers are a great deal for a bar.

Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parasnowman
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Sep 23, 2013

Pretty Good Hotel in Nice location

Nice place to stay if you are in Philly a couple of days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent Philly Weekender
North Jersey
Aug 31, 2013

Great Location BUT...

I really like the location of this hotel, as its in a great section of Philly, with lots of inexpensive restaurants, and only few exits away by car to Center City. I got a great deal for this hotel, but I would not spend too much for it, as its not worth the regular price. I got what I expected. One thing I didn't like, was that I asked the person that checked me in to correct the reservation from double beds to king. She nodded, and I saw she made no effort to change it. We got to the room, to find it right next to the elevators. Umm.... okay. My other half laughed when we entered the room to see the double beds. I exclaimed, "I thought she said she was going to change it!!! He thought i intentionally asked to sleep separately like Ricky and Lucy. He said, "These look like twin beds!" He went on to sleep in the other bed and expressed how nice it was to have his own bed for a change! Thanks Crown Plaza. A few minutes in, the noise began. There was a cheerleading team practicing flips in the hallway, and people made small talk by the elevators all night. The rooms are comfortable, small, and clean, however, the lobby and hallways are definitely not up to date. The room only had one tiny bar of soap. Was it that difficult to put two out? The green marble and red walls are so ugly. The other people staying at the hotel, looked sloppy, were loitering, and had the furniture scattered about. It didn't look upscale - just the type of hotel that lots of groups would stay out to stay on a cheap budget, and families visiting families. I wasn't impressed. Its a solid 3 star hotel, but not luxury. Its definitely NOT a destination hotel if you were looking for a romantic getaway - obviously with the double beds, it did feel like a dormitory. I've stayed at the best of the best throughout the world, but I can tell you I've stayed at road motels, with a better atmosphere. I was just happy it was clean and close to Center City. On a holiday weekend, it was a great deal, and that's what mattered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are a lot of great stores like Saks and Lord & Taylor closeby. I love that there are chain restaurants closeby, so we didn't have to trek back into the city.

Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jabbasmom
Cleveland, Ohio
Jun 13, 2013

Great location but too pricey

We traveled to visit two local universities but was during the U.S. Open so had to deal with high prices and crazy traffic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happywill
Business
New York
Jun 3, 2013

Good Location

Really nice area to get into Philly. Saks Fifth Ave and Target are both across the street. Rush hour traffic is like 20-25 minutes into downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LREE
Guadalajara, Jalisco, México
Apr 18, 2013

Location

Although the hotel is not located close to the landmarks of Philadelphia, it offers a city shutle service every hour and coming back is easy using public transportation. The area is nice and a lot of restaurants are within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the see food restaurant across the street from the hotel

Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pgh445
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 2, 2013

Very nice

We were visiting my sister in Ardmore for Easter weekend, and this hotel was nicely located. I am not sure why this happened (perhaps because the hotel was busy that weekend), but they gave us a room on the top floor, which included access to the Executive Lounge, which is a small room stocked with various snacks and drinks. It ended up being a really nice perk for my 3 kids. The kids also loved the pool, and while it wasn't the fanciest hotel room I have ever encountered, I felt that the room was clean and the hotel staff was friendly. Even though the hotel was busy, we didn't have any problems with excessive noise in the halls. There is a Target next door, which was handy when I had to run out to buy swim goggles for the kids. We also ate at the TGI Fridays, which shares the same parking lot. There are other restaurants within walking distance (Starbucks, etc). Overall, we were very pleased - we would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza PHILADELPHIA WEST

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arleydreamer
Business
Ireland
Mar 10, 2013

Business trip

Check-in staff & porter were very helpful, we arrived early and were given our room immediately. The room was on the second floor, beds were very comfortable. Room was clean and there were plenty of towels and toiletries. Great coffee/tea making facilities. Free wifi and access to printers and PC stations at no extra cost were a bonus. We ate breakfast in the hotel each morning and once again the staff were helpful and the food was plentiful including healthy options! We ate one evening meal there which was also of good standard. The hotel was located conveniently for our business trip, however it cost roughly $40 each way to travel to the nearest large Mall for shopping or sightseeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TGIF located in front of hotel as were a number of other eateries.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search