$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2014 Check-out: May 11, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

3 stars
21 N Juniper Street, 21 North Juniper Street @ City Hall, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
122 reviews
fantastic

We really enjoyed our stay kids loved the pool. Will do it again See full review

  • thomka
  • Mar 10, 2014
Two Thumbs Up

Amazing room for a great price! I would highly recommend this hotel See full review

  • Hotel Bookie
  • Mar 9, 2014
Historic hotel near sights, cultural districts, convention center

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown has recaptured the grandeur of the original 1926 City Hall Annex building. Located across the street from City Hall, one block from the convention center and a short walk to the historic and cultural districts, the hotel puts guests in the heart of Philadelphia. Convenient amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, an indoor pool and whirlpool and an on-site restaurant and lounge. High-speed Internet access is complimentary in all rooms.

Highlights
  • Listed on the National Register of Historic Places with original 1920s architectural details
  • Indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center with all-new LifeFitness equipment featuring individual LCD televisions
  • Location within walking distance of most popular Center City attractions
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The 18-story Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown provides 498 nonsmoking guest rooms and suites with 11-foot ceilings. Rooms are decorated primarily in white and royal blue with art deco-style furnishings. All rooms include a 42 inch LCD television, refrigerator, and iHome docking station. In addition, a work desk, ergonomic chair and complimentary high-speed Internet access is provided.

Features
The hotel's on-site restaurant, NINETEEN26, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway 13th Street Station (across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • City Hall (across the street)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Reading Terminal Market (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional sports/concert venues (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Sesame Place (22 mi/35.4 km)
Business
  • Nearly 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 11 meeting rooms
  • Business center
  • Meeting/catering specialists
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Catering services
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.953 -75.1625
Area served
Center City Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.1 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Dining

NINETEEN 26
Enjoy a delicious meal at our lively on-site downtown Philadelphia hotel restaurant, NINETEEN 26, offering exciting drinks and classic American fare.
Starbucks®
Start off your morning with your favorite selection of coffees and pastries, or swing by in the evening for an iced latté or steaming espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
19 out of 122
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

2
Check ur bill
Business
Asheville NC
Feb 12, 2013

Charged my card erroneously

This is a comfortable and clean hotel in a great location. However my credit card was charged for the night's stay even though I booked and prepaid as part of an air/hotel package online. The charge had not shown up on my receipt upon checkout, but it showed up on my credit card bill later. I had to contest the charge with my card company in order to have the charge removed. Even upon checkout there was a $40 charge for overnight Valet parking even though I had no car for the trip. The desk clerk was only able to remove the charge by issuing a credit against the charge when I checked out. Two strikes and your out! I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
JGold
Business
Connecticut
Dec 6, 2012

good accommodations and price in Central Philly

I have stayed here several times as it is a central location, valet parking is reasonable, and the rooms are standard Courtyard type rooms. Staff was courteous and room was clean. Love that they have a Starbucks in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
Pan keegan
Business
Bradford Pa
Jan 22, 2014

Great location.

Clean, great location, good people. Only issue, had to pay for parking but I guess that's expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
healthy life style woman
Business
long island, New York
Feb 18, 2013

Average family getaway

The hotel is in a perfect location... but the staff, and cleanleness is averange... the staff is very simple with the guest and the rooms were average... I went on a business trip so I barely spent time in da room.. when I did spent time there I went to the pool and jaccusi and its not good at all is a 3 feet pool and the jacussi is very small.. you guys need improvement..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Mar 8, 2011

Good for Business Traveler

Very adequate complimentary fitness center/pool/hot tub Complimentary wireless and wired internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Professor Kate
Business
Portland, ME, USA
Apr 1, 2012

perfect for business trip

Friendly staff, comfortable room. Nice common spaces on ground floor to have coffee, read the paper. Not a romantic getaway, but excellent for a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
des moines, iowa
Oct 26, 2009

Great location!

I stayed at the Courtyard in Philadelphia for a conference. I couldn't have picked a better location. It was very centrally located right by City Hall, Macy's, and the Market East rail station. From the airport, I was able to take a $7 train, get off two blocks from the hotel, check in, walk to dinner near Rittenhouse Square, and walk everywhere I needed to go in the city. For a business related trip it was perfect. The staff was prompt and the room was nice--not luxurious, but comfortable, clean, and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To take the R1 from the airport, you can buy your ticket on the train and get off at Market East. It's about a half hour, easy, and cheap ground transportation.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
browneyedgirl73
Business
NC
Mar 16, 2014

Perfect midown location

I had meeting downtown Philadelphia and this was a great location. I walked to the local indoor market a block away and was able to get a wide variety of great food for almost nothing. I ate at the hotel the first night, got in really late due to flight delays, and they were so friendly, and the food was still tasty and fresh. The museums were less than a mile away and easy to walk to. A quick cab ride can get you almost anywhere you need to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market - variety of foods, can even buy fresh veggies and have a buffet/picnic in your room. Open till 6pm.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 16, 2010

Good price, nice enough room

Room was nice enough and the breakfast deal seemed very good (though I didn't eat there as breakfast was included at a conference I was attending across the street at the Marriott Downtown). Room was spacious and nice and the free internet was reasonably fast most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
north carolina
Sep 12, 2009

central location

fine hotel - staff okay but I've seen better. Central location - easy walking distance to good restaurants and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top