$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2015 Check-out: Aug 16, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

3 stars
View map of 21, North Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
139 reviews
Brief getaway

This was just a two-day/one-night getaway to Philly. The hotel is in THE most central location -... See full review

  • Doc E
  • Jun 21, 2015
family trip

It was awesome, thanks. Went there for lscrosse and my daugyters had fun, ate good, lots of... See full review

  • Gary F.
  • May 27, 2015
Marriott's Courtyard Downtown Hotel Philadelphia prides itself on a fusion of historic elegance and modern comfort. Beautifully restored from the 1920s-era original building, guests experience soaring, arched lobby windows, gilded doorframes and a monochrome-tiled pool area. With the on-site gym, there's no need to break your exercise routine, but kicking back in the spa tub is a great way to ease overworked muscles. Classic US fare - in sizable portions - is served up in the eye-catching blue and orange interior of the Nineteen26 Restaurant. Check your emails over a takeout latte from the in-house Starbucks - high-speed Internet is accessible throughout the hotel (fees may apply).
Location
Just opposite Philly's City Hall and only a block from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Courtyard Downtown aims to please professionals and leisure-seekers alike. With an Amtrak station just around the corner, visitors never need to struggle through local traffic, and foodies will love the tastes available from the Pennsylvania Amish farms at Reading Terminal Market. A visit to the Museum of American Art is highly recommended for those anxious to check out an outstanding Impressionist painting collection, or unique artifacts from the far-off shores of Korea and Japan.
Highlights
  • 498 guestrooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • On-site restaurant: Nineteen26
  • Starbucks Coffee house
  • Valet parking
  • 12 meeting rooms
  • Junipers Ballroom
Policies
For gorgeous panoramic views with the Masonic Temple and City Hall in the background, ask for an executive suite with a city view.
The space in front of the hotel is limited for car drop-offs, so call the valet service at least 30 minutes before you will need your vehicle.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.1 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Dining

NINETEEN 26
Enjoy a delicious meal at our lively on-site downtown Philadelphia hotel restaurant, NINETEEN 26, offering exciting drinks and classic American fare.
Starbucks®
Start off your morning with your favorite selection of coffees and pastries, or swing by in the evening for an iced latté or steaming espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 139
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Check ur bill
Business
Asheville NC
Feb 12, 2013

Charged my card erroneously

This is a comfortable and clean hotel in a great location. However my credit card was charged for the night's stay even though I booked and prepaid as part of an air/hotel package online. The charge had not shown up on my receipt upon checkout, but it showed up on my credit card bill later. I had to contest the charge with my card company in order to have the charge removed. Even upon checkout there was a $40 charge for overnight Valet parking even though I had no car for the trip. The desk clerk was only able to remove the charge by issuing a credit against the charge when I checked out. Two strikes and your out! I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pan keegan
Business
Bradford Pa
Jan 22, 2014

Great location.

Clean, great location, good people. Only issue, had to pay for parking but I guess that's expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JGold
Business
Connecticut
Dec 6, 2012

good accommodations and price in Central Philly

I have stayed here several times as it is a central location, valet parking is reasonable, and the rooms are standard Courtyard type rooms. Staff was courteous and room was clean. Love that they have a Starbucks in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
healthy life style woman
Business
long island, New York
Feb 18, 2013

Average family getaway

The hotel is in a perfect location... but the staff, and cleanleness is averange... the staff is very simple with the guest and the rooms were average... I went on a business trip so I barely spent time in da room.. when I did spent time there I went to the pool and jaccusi and its not good at all is a 3 feet pool and the jacussi is very small.. you guys need improvement..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
browneyedgirl73
Business
NC
Mar 16, 2014

Perfect midown location

I had meeting downtown Philadelphia and this was a great location. I walked to the local indoor market a block away and was able to get a wide variety of great food for almost nothing. I ate at the hotel the first night, got in really late due to flight delays, and they were so friendly, and the food was still tasty and fresh. The museums were less than a mile away and easy to walk to. A quick cab ride can get you almost anywhere you need to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market - variety of foods, can even buy fresh veggies and have a buffet/picnic in your room. Open till 6pm.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professor Kate
Business
Portland, ME, USA
Apr 1, 2012

perfect for business trip

Friendly staff, comfortable room. Nice common spaces on ground floor to have coffee, read the paper. Not a romantic getaway, but excellent for a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 16, 2010

Good price, nice enough room

Room was nice enough and the breakfast deal seemed very good (though I didn't eat there as breakfast was included at a conference I was attending across the street at the Marriott Downtown). Room was spacious and nice and the free internet was reasonably fast most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north carolina
Sep 12, 2009

central location

fine hotel - staff okay but I've seen better. Central location - easy walking distance to good restaurants and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
des moines, iowa
Oct 26, 2009

Great location!

I stayed at the Courtyard in Philadelphia for a conference. I couldn't have picked a better location. It was very centrally located right by City Hall, Macy's, and the Market East rail station. From the airport, I was able to take a $7 train, get off two blocks from the hotel, check in, walk to dinner near Rittenhouse Square, and walk everywhere I needed to go in the city. For a business related trip it was perfect. The staff was prompt and the room was nice--not luxurious, but comfortable, clean, and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To take the R1 from the airport, you can buy your ticket on the train and get off at Market East. It's about a half hour, easy, and cheap ground transportation.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Mar 8, 2011

Good for Business Traveler

Very adequate complimentary fitness center/pool/hot tub Complimentary wireless and wired internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top