$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

3 stars
21, North Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
183 reviews
Wonderful experience

Our experience here was superb! Highly recommend!! See full review

  • S Wa
  • Jun 9, 2014
Perfect location

An extended family of 7 spent two nights there. The location is perfect: gorgeous view of city... See full review

  • pigletj
  • Jun 8, 2014
Marriott's Courtyard Downtown Hotel Philadelphia prides itself on a fusion of historic elegance and modern comfort. Beautifully restored from the 1920s-era original building, guests experience soaring, arched lobby windows, gilded doorframes and a monochrome-tiled pool area. With the on-site gym, there's no need to break your exercise routine, but kicking back in the spa tub is a great way to ease overworked muscles. Classic US fare - in sizable portions - is served up in the eye-catching blue and orange interior of the Nineteen26 Restaurant. Check your emails over a takeout latte from the in-house Starbucks - high-speed Internet is accessible throughout the hotel (fees may apply).
Key facts
  • 498 guestrooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • On-site restaurant: Nineteen26
  • Starbucks Coffee house
  • Valet parking
  • 12 meeting rooms
  • Junipers Ballroom
Neighborhood
Just opposite Philly's City Hall and only a block from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Courtyard Downtown aims to please professionals and leisure-seekers alike. With an Amtrak station just around the corner, visitors never need to struggle through local traffic, and foodies will love the tastes available from the Pennsylvania Amish farms at Reading Terminal Market. A visit to the Museum of American Art is highly recommended for those anxious to check out an outstanding Impressionist painting collection, or unique artifacts from the far-off shores of Korea and Japan.
Hints and tips
For gorgeous panoramic views with the Masonic Temple and City Hall in the background, ask for an executive suite with a city view.
The space in front of the hotel is limited for car drop-offs, so call the valet service at least 30 minutes before you will need your vehicle.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.953 -75.1625
Area served
Center City Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.1 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Dining

NINETEEN 26
Enjoy a delicious meal at our lively on-site downtown Philadelphia hotel restaurant, NINETEEN 26, offering exciting drinks and classic American fare.
Starbucks®
Start off your morning with your favorite selection of coffees and pastries, or swing by in the evening for an iced latté or steaming espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
haroon imran
nyc
Aug 12, 2013

Great hotel and location

My wife and I stayed at the courtyard Marriot at centre city over the weekend. They let us check in a good 4 hours prior to the 3 o clock check in time. The checkin and checkout were very swift and hassle free. The room was very comfortable simple and elegant. The location is ideal and close to shops, public transport, the reading terminal market and historic attractions. An ideal place to stay if you are visiting philly for sightseeing. They lock their entrances at night for security but you can access the hotel at late hours using the room keys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading terminal market for a vareity of cheap eats. Tray the crepes. Yummy food at reasonable prices. The place also features fresh produce, sea food meats and cheeses.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50 Birthday Girl
Philadelphia pa
Jun 18, 2012

50th Birthday Celebration w/ Friends

Nice comfy room right in Center City - great for an overnight splurge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Audrey Clair for dinner

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ripped
Phialdelphia, PA
Aug 12, 2013

Lover's getaway

It was a great getaway for me and my honey bunny. We stay frequently in Philadelphia and this is the first time we were able to book the Courtyard Marriott. Staff was friendly and the hotel definitely has old world charm. My boyfriend asked me if we could stay there again. I told him absolutely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right at Macy's :)

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Queens, NY
May 24, 2010

Good Hotel

Great Hotel, in great location in Philadelphia. I would rather stay here than the Philadelphia Marriott or the Loews. The hotel is clean with great customer service. I went here with my wife and we were both satisfied. The valet parking is expensive. You're better off going across the street and to park the car yourself in the garage above Chili's restaurant. I left my car there the entire trip. Everything is a short walk away from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
des moines, iowa
Oct 26, 2009

Great location!

I stayed at the Courtyard in Philadelphia for a conference. I couldn't have picked a better location. It was very centrally located right by City Hall, Macy's, and the Market East rail station. From the airport, I was able to take a $7 train, get off two blocks from the hotel, check in, walk to dinner near Rittenhouse Square, and walk everywhere I needed to go in the city. For a business related trip it was perfect. The staff was prompt and the room was nice--not luxurious, but comfortable, clean, and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To take the R1 from the airport, you can buy your ticket on the train and get off at Market East. It's about a half hour, easy, and cheap ground transportation.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nic0le
Havertown, PA
Aug 5, 2013

Romantic Couple Getaway

Our stay the the Marriott was beautiful, we could not have wished for a better time. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel was within walking distance from countless bars and restaurants. I will admit that I was extremely under impressed by the pool. The indoor pool was one of the hotel features I was most excited for. Realistically the pool was VERY small, dirty, crowded, and extremely warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trying to see a 1000 places before dying
Chicago, IL
Oct 26, 2009

Great location

Within walking distance of many things to see in Philly; among others are the City Hall, historical district, Franklin Institute and great restaurants ... found 2 good ones walking around: Sabrina's Cafe and Chima Brazillian Steakhouse. Their business center is not the best. Slow connection and rather expensive. Printer didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

A bit hard to park around the hotel: public parking and valet service are the only two real options. Their valets are friendly and the service is convenient. Getting your car back can take some time though, make sure you call 30min in advance like they recommend.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 16, 2010

Good price, nice enough room

Room was nice enough and the breakfast deal seemed very good (though I didn't eat there as breakfast was included at a conference I was attending across the street at the Marriott Downtown). Room was spacious and nice and the free internet was reasonably fast most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Trecker
DC
Jul 7, 2013

4th in Philly

Perfert location for touring historic sites and to get a feel for the day to day life in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BlueCharvel
Doylestown, PA
Feb 4, 2013

Great room in a great city

Very spacious room in the executive suite for $199, a steal in center city Philadelphia as far as I'm concerned. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Also dig a checkout time of noon as so many are 11:00 or (shudder) 10:00am...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Terminal Market is one block away. Any and all things Philly food related can be found in this bustling indoor marketplace. Bring an empty stomach!

Back to menu Return to top