$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

3 stars
View map of 21, North Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
seattle wa
Oct 12, 2010

nice and clean, not too fragranced

This was a nice hotel. We were disappointed that the pool was pretty chilly but 3 feet deep worked well for our kids. There was a absence of take out after 9 pm in the immediate area. Great proximity to the market and close to museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

nice breakfast take out options at the market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somerville, MA
Jun 8, 2009

Choice

I stayed at this hotel when in town for a wedding...the location was very convenient, the hotel itself was quite nice, and the room was very comfortable. Although the bathroom setup was a little weird - the shower and toilet in one room, the sink in another - that didn't hamper the enjoyment of my stay at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

By circling around City Hall and taking Juniper St. south, you can get to a $16 weekend parking garage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 16, 2010

Good price, nice enough room

Room was nice enough and the breakfast deal seemed very good (though I didn't eat there as breakfast was included at a conference I was attending across the street at the Marriott Downtown). Room was spacious and nice and the free internet was reasonably fast most of the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago, il
Jun 4, 2011

weekend stay

very clean and up-to-date

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
brooklyn, ny
Jan 17, 2011

All good but the parking!

I've been to philly for sports before so this time the wife and I decided to go sightseeing this time. We decided to stay in the city figuring it would be closer to everything. The hotel was in the perfect place for all attractions and i can't say a bad word about it EXCEPT... THE PARKING! THE HOTEL VALET COMES OUT TO 45$ AND IT TAKES 30-45 MINUTES TO GET THE CAR BACK. forget about street parking. There is none since its the city district. Best bet is the lot around the corner. Its 31$ if you leave the car there for the night. BTW the beds are amazingly comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

South street is great for shopping and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
north carolina
Sep 12, 2009

central location

fine hotel - staff okay but I've seen better. Central location - easy walking distance to good restaurants and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 17, 2009

Excellent service & location, nice room.

The location was excellent; right next to City Hall and within walking distance of many things. We needed to take the bus to get to the zoo, and if you are going to South Street you can either pay $6.00 cab or take a long walk. The restaurants in the area are great, as well as the fast-paced market. Plus right near the bus terminal. The service was absolutely excellent, from calling to confirm our reservation, to absolutely every interaction we had. They advertised a complimentary newspaper, but Sunday morning there was none at the door. We called downstairs to ask, and they said they had recently stopped delivering them to doors, and were out of all papers downstairs, so they actually had someone go out to the store and get one, delivered directly to our door! Downside was there was no refridgerator or microwave in the room, though there was a one-cup coffeemaker. If you don't like powdered creamer, you are in trouble, b/c you won't have the fridge to keep milk or leftover food. I liked the linens a lot- good quality, but I hated the pillows. My head sunk into them, but two was a little too much. Pool: Very good for kids. Not so great for adults. The entire pool is 3 feet deep and not heated. There is a (very)hot tub. The fitness center has many machines, including several treadmills, eliptical machines, medicine balls and a Swiss ball. There is TV hooked up to the cardio machines, but I could not for the life of me get the buttons to move to change channel or sound, so I scrapped that. As someone coming from economy rooms, I thought the room was beautifully decorated. Staff was great and I would definitely consider returning to this hotel if I am in Philly again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't worry about getting a car. Numerous restaurants are in walking distance, and for the few times you would prefer to drive somewhere, there are enough cabs around. Everything is close enough that the cabs would not be that expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham Alabama
Jun 20, 2011

Great Hotel! Hospitality first class

A wonderful getaway with my sorority sister of 30 years. We had a simply delightful time, touring Philadelpha and also a trip to New York. [...]helped with City Passes and a Broadway show; "The Lion King". Too much to take in,in four days. We must do it again!! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Commons Wonderful food, gifts, fresh vegetables, fruits and heavenly desserts. Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 6, 2009

Better than expected

Good: Location Big room Accommodating staff Comfy beds Not TOO noisy, considering the location Check out a 12:00, not 11:00 (important after those long nights out :) ) Availability of roll-away beds (was important for us with a child who wiggles all night long when sleeping :) ) Bad: No parking to be found other than valet Coffee maker makes ONE cup at a time... water conservation? What's the point? No complementary breakfast No room service (food) other than for dinner Strange: We were given disable access room. None of us are disabled. Was not worth switching a room in the middle of the night when we lugged ourselves on the fifth floor, but I never figured out the reason behind it. Was weird taking showers sitting on the bench... Check upon the check-in I suppose. Never would have thought to do so. In general though - for a hotel in the center of the busy city I would say it was not bad at all. This is for a hotel only. The nightmare we had to go through with the airlines (Delta and US Air) which put Orbitz reservation on the very bottom of the priority list is a whole 'nother story

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Watch for what taxi drivers tell you and charge you. Ours at first said that his card machine was broken (that's after the starter at the airport assured us that ALL taxi drivers accept credit cards)Then, after the card machine miraculously fixed itself - it refused to accept the payment unless 20% gratuity was added. Then, when I swiped the card again, 20% turned into $10. I did not have time to argue and that's what they count on.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stamford, CT
Apr 23, 2009

Once you find it you'll love it

The most challenging part of staying at the Courtyard Marriot was getting to it; I was one of many who passed it several times before calling and literally being talked to the front door. Primarily due to the old Square that it and two other Marriott’s are located on. Once I pulled up the valet took care of the rest. Note that the valet area itself tended to get a bit crowded but the staff were excellent. In fact the valet who assisted me flagged down my friend, who I was meeting in Philly, into the hotel. I mean he literally walked part way down the block waving his arms  later we witnessed another valet staff doing something similar, as I said getting to the front door is the tricky part-LOL While the accommodations were nothing more or less than you would expect it was the staff that will bring me back. I had made an error in booking my room and had us checking out a night earlier than we actually wanted and even though online the hotel was full, they took care of it. Everyone on the staff went above and beyond the call of duty thus the service was 5 Star all the way!! This hotel is centrally located, as far as the historic sites, along with many other attractions like the art museum and most of them walking distance from the hotel. The work out facility was good, clean but the view was great! Same with the pool, while it was small, it was tastefully designed and had an amazing view!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

or a short drive very centrally located

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top