$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

3 stars
21, North Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
138 reviews
Courtyard by Mariott

We stayed there for a night while the weekend in the city. The location is veery convenient,... See full review

  • Kuzmila
  • Sep 29, 2014
Great experience

My husband and I loved it! Rooms are comfortable, decoration is lovely, location is perfect, and... See full review

  • Lizzyjanmart
  • Aug 24, 2014
Marriott's Courtyard Downtown Hotel Philadelphia prides itself on a fusion of historic elegance and modern comfort. Beautifully restored from the 1920s-era original building, guests experience soaring, arched lobby windows, gilded doorframes and a monochrome-tiled pool area. With the on-site gym, there's no need to break your exercise routine, but kicking back in the spa tub is a great way to ease overworked muscles. Classic US fare - in sizable portions - is served up in the eye-catching blue and orange interior of the Nineteen26 Restaurant. Check your emails over a takeout latte from the in-house Starbucks - high-speed Internet is accessible throughout the hotel (fees may apply).
Key facts
  • 498 guestrooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • On-site restaurant: Nineteen26
  • Starbucks Coffee house
  • Valet parking
  • 12 meeting rooms
  • Junipers Ballroom
Neighborhood
Just opposite Philly's City Hall and only a block from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Courtyard Downtown aims to please professionals and leisure-seekers alike. With an Amtrak station just around the corner, visitors never need to struggle through local traffic, and foodies will love the tastes available from the Pennsylvania Amish farms at Reading Terminal Market. A visit to the Museum of American Art is highly recommended for those anxious to check out an outstanding Impressionist painting collection, or unique artifacts from the far-off shores of Korea and Japan.
Hints and tips
For gorgeous panoramic views with the Masonic Temple and City Hall in the background, ask for an executive suite with a city view.
The space in front of the hotel is limited for car drop-offs, so call the valet service at least 30 minutes before you will need your vehicle.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.1 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Dining

NINETEEN 26
Enjoy a delicious meal at our lively on-site downtown Philadelphia hotel restaurant, NINETEEN 26, offering exciting drinks and classic American fare.
Starbucks®
Start off your morning with your favorite selection of coffees and pastries, or swing by in the evening for an iced latté or steaming espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
May 30, 2011

Great location, poor service

We arrived to this hotel at 1am, after a long flight delay. Upon arrival we were told that the room we reserved, a king room, was not available. The front desk clerk was not kind and rudely told us that only a queen room was avaialble. We could have that room or wait until a king room became available. Definitely poor customer service at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market has the best of everything. Beiler's bakery makes the best sticky buns! Bassett's ice cream is definitely worth waiting in line for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
observant traveler
Business
florida
Apr 24, 2011

Not in as good shape as one would expect

I expected that the building itself< carrying the world renouned Marriott name would have been taken care of much better than it was. The caulking at the tub had mold on it,the crown joints were clearly in sight(as if a homeowner had installed the crown)in main public parts or the building.A patch had been recently done on a second floor column and not only was the sanded plaster left behind,but it wasn't even painted!! The hallways had a bad (old dusty carpet)smell that wasn't pleasent and the elevator was stuck on the third floor on Saturday. In general, it was quite appealing to look at and to stay at,but i'd like to see a better preventive mainteance program put in place to better preserve this jewel and to live up to the Marriott name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a beautiful dining room and the food was actually priced better than that of the other hotels in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Awake all nite!
Business
Maryland!!!
Jan 24, 2010

ALL NIGHT young punk party

The hotel is located in the heart of Philly, close to all locations. We where on the six floor and we could hear all the traffic in the streets. There was a room party all night with some young punks making noise and talking all night. The lavatory only had hot and burning hot water. The beds are made from that memory foam and the gave us both back pain. Other wise the hotel was not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Take ibuprofen for the body aches and ear plugs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ripped-Off
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Jul 27, 2010

Collateral Damages

I was in town for 2 days to attend an event at Temple University. This hotel was in downtown so I thought it would be a great location. However what I did not know was that this hotel charged (hold your breath) $45 for vallet parking!!!! And if you need to park on your own, the nearest parking garage will cost you $33 for overnight. I was mad at the hotel [...]s for not sharing this critical information with me. Further what infuriated me was that the elevators had notices saying "Join us for breakfast buffet". Turned out they charged me $18 for buffet. The eggs were dry, the omellette line was too long and I ended up paying all that money just for Kelloggs cornflakes. I am mad as can be. Another problem was that the mattress was memory foam and that was not my type.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Forget about renting a car. Use the trains instead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr McGoo
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 25, 2014

Weekend Getaway

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Downtown Courtyard Marriot. Being situatated next to Market St and the Broad St subway line was ideal. My only gripe would be with the perceived cleanliness of the room/batchroom. Generally speaking, the room was great and I don't consider myself a clean freak. However, upon closer inspection, It was evident that there were areas of the room that were not properly vacuumed as well as a bathroom floor that could have been cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 18, 2010

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downt

My stay was quite comfortable. I was able to get exactly what I had reserved with no problems. The room was very clean and quiet. I truly enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you would like to get in a bit of NY shopping it is a short walk and cheap treansportation available. There is a charter bus company on Filbert that will take you to NY for $20 round trip. Also, PHLASH is a bus (trolley) company that makes stops at numerous destinations (Penn's Landing, Zoo, Art Museum, etc.) for $5 a day (all day).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMWhit
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Downtown Philly

Great trip! Short walk to the Reading Terminal that has a lot to choose from for shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do a bus tour, worth the $

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dancemom7
Business
Perkasie, PA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

In for dance competition

My daughter and I were in town for a dance competition. The hotel was a short walk to the convention center and there were plenty of options for dining nearby. The room was clean and the staff was great. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professor Kate
Business
Portland, ME, USA
Apr 1, 2012

perfect for business trip

Friendly staff, comfortable room. Nice common spaces on ground floor to have coffee, read the paper. Not a romantic getaway, but excellent for a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kate art lover
Business
Kansas city, MO
Jul 22, 2012

Convenience

Good experience. Would stay there again. Excellent location. Visited museums, historical sites, all convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Barnes Foundation, order ticket in advance, if you like art, especially impressionist and post-impressionist, do not miss this experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top