$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

3 stars
View map of 21, North Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 143
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweetnlow36
Business
Land O Lakes, FL
Jun 3, 2010

Not so Great

we went to main Marriott for pop warner event and convention center. Breakfast should be included. parking should be reduced. shuttle to and from airport. something for kids(activities) maps of suggested places to go...Shuttle around downtown area for guest to say on all the parking...willing to pay a fee for daily stay. Ask customer how they want to pay for parking before charging credit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very popular restaurants across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Jun 27, 2011

Nice!

We went to Philly for the weekend for a Beady Eye concert at the Theatre of Living Arts. The hotel was about a 15 minute taxi ride. Not bad. The people at the front desk were very nice. We got there at 2pm and our room wasn't ready so they asked us to come back later. They gave us directions to a nearby pub we could spend the time at. I really enjoyed my stay here, however would have enjoyes it more if the price was less expensive. Also, the Theatre of the Living Arts is not in the best part of town, but there are about 4-5 police officers on every corner. I would stay here again, if I ever decide to go to Philly once more. There really isn't anything spectacular to do in Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

theres a macys right across the street in case you forgot a cute outfit, no worries, just go to Macys!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
May 30, 2011

Great location, poor service

We arrived to this hotel at 1am, after a long flight delay. Upon arrival we were told that the room we reserved, a king room, was not available. The front desk clerk was not kind and rudely told us that only a queen room was avaialble. We could have that room or wait until a king room became available. Definitely poor customer service at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market has the best of everything. Beiler's bakery makes the best sticky buns! Bassett's ice cream is definitely worth waiting in line for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ripped-Off
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Jul 27, 2010

Collateral Damages

I was in town for 2 days to attend an event at Temple University. This hotel was in downtown so I thought it would be a great location. However what I did not know was that this hotel charged (hold your breath) $45 for vallet parking!!!! And if you need to park on your own, the nearest parking garage will cost you $33 for overnight. I was mad at the hotel [...]s for not sharing this critical information with me. Further what infuriated me was that the elevators had notices saying "Join us for breakfast buffet". Turned out they charged me $18 for buffet. The eggs were dry, the omellette line was too long and I ended up paying all that money just for Kelloggs cornflakes. I am mad as can be. Another problem was that the mattress was memory foam and that was not my type.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Forget about renting a car. Use the trains instead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr McGoo
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 25, 2014

Weekend Getaway

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Downtown Courtyard Marriot. Being situatated next to Market St and the Broad St subway line was ideal. My only gripe would be with the perceived cleanliness of the room/batchroom. Generally speaking, the room was great and I don't consider myself a clean freak. However, upon closer inspection, It was evident that there were areas of the room that were not properly vacuumed as well as a bathroom floor that could have been cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kt fonte
Business
worton md
Jan 1, 2014

In the Heart of Philly

This hotel is right on the city hall square. It was relatively easy to get to from 676. The room was nice and the bed comfy. Parking was extra money, and seemed a little pricey to me (but i think typically for the city). The staff was very friendly and helpful with getting cabs and answering any questions. Overall, a very nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
browneyedgirl73
Business
NC
Mar 16, 2014

Perfect midown location

I had meeting downtown Philadelphia and this was a great location. I walked to the local indoor market a block away and was able to get a wide variety of great food for almost nothing. I ate at the hotel the first night, got in really late due to flight delays, and they were so friendly, and the food was still tasty and fresh. The museums were less than a mile away and easy to walk to. A quick cab ride can get you almost anywhere you need to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market - variety of foods, can even buy fresh veggies and have a buffet/picnic in your room. Open till 6pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 18, 2010

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downt

My stay was quite comfortable. I was able to get exactly what I had reserved with no problems. The room was very clean and quiet. I truly enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you would like to get in a bit of NY shopping it is a short walk and cheap treansportation available. There is a charter bus company on Filbert that will take you to NY for $20 round trip. Also, PHLASH is a bus (trolley) company that makes stops at numerous destinations (Penn's Landing, Zoo, Art Museum, etc.) for $5 a day (all day).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMWhit
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Downtown Philly

Great trip! Short walk to the Reading Terminal that has a lot to choose from for shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do a bus tour, worth the $

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dancemom7
Business
Perkasie, PA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

In for dance competition

My daughter and I were in town for a dance competition. The hotel was a short walk to the convention center and there were plenty of options for dining nearby. The room was clean and the staff was great. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top