$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

3 stars
21, North Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
139 reviews
perfect location

great location, very nice and clean hotel, walking distance to some of the best spots in the city See full review

  • ah626
  • Dec 23, 2014
Courtyard by Mariott

We stayed there for a night while the weekend in the city. The location is veery convenient,... See full review

  • Kuzmila
  • Sep 29, 2014
Marriott's Courtyard Downtown Hotel Philadelphia prides itself on a fusion of historic elegance and modern comfort. Beautifully restored from the 1920s-era original building, guests experience soaring, arched lobby windows, gilded doorframes and a monochrome-tiled pool area. With the on-site gym, there's no need to break your exercise routine, but kicking back in the spa tub is a great way to ease overworked muscles. Classic US fare - in sizable portions - is served up in the eye-catching blue and orange interior of the Nineteen26 Restaurant. Check your emails over a takeout latte from the in-house Starbucks - high-speed Internet is accessible throughout the hotel (fees may apply).
Key facts
  • 498 guestrooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • On-site restaurant: Nineteen26
  • Starbucks Coffee house
  • Valet parking
  • 12 meeting rooms
  • Junipers Ballroom
Neighborhood
Just opposite Philly's City Hall and only a block from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Courtyard Downtown aims to please professionals and leisure-seekers alike. With an Amtrak station just around the corner, visitors never need to struggle through local traffic, and foodies will love the tastes available from the Pennsylvania Amish farms at Reading Terminal Market. A visit to the Museum of American Art is highly recommended for those anxious to check out an outstanding Impressionist painting collection, or unique artifacts from the far-off shores of Korea and Japan.
Hints and tips
For gorgeous panoramic views with the Masonic Temple and City Hall in the background, ask for an executive suite with a city view.
The space in front of the hotel is limited for car drop-offs, so call the valet service at least 30 minutes before you will need your vehicle.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.1 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Dining

NINETEEN 26
Enjoy a delicious meal at our lively on-site downtown Philadelphia hotel restaurant, NINETEEN 26, offering exciting drinks and classic American fare.
Starbucks®
Start off your morning with your favorite selection of coffees and pastries, or swing by in the evening for an iced latté or steaming espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jess17guffey
Business
milton, pa
Feb 25, 2013

Pretty Good

I love the hotel location. It was next to a lot of great places and experiences. The main reason why I was there it was literally an alley a way from the building. the rooms were very clean and staff was very helpful and nice. always greeted you with a smile when leaving or returning. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chili's is located right outside the hotel, Hard rock cafe on road down and to the right, Reading Terminal one block up and to the left.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dad Traveling with Teen daughter
Business
Keene, NH, USA
May 18, 2013

The McDonald's of hotels but not bad

Easy...great burger at bar...good location. I also liked the chill breakfast scene and great omelette and fresh fruit. Restaurant staff were real and fun to chat with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Market...try the cream donuts if you dare

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marybeth Super Man
Business
Commack, New York
Jul 29, 2013

Not bad, but not amazing

Great location in the center of the downtown area. Quick walk to get down Historical district and other museums nearby. Hotel itself is... all right. I reserved a King size bed which they did not have. Room was nice, with the exception of some spilled coffee grossness on the floor. Didn't take advantage of the restaurants in the building, but always a nice option. Ok for the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market is a five minute walk. Go here for breakfast before hitting the sites!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Drunk Dan
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 22, 2013

They put us in a handicapped accessible room

Granted I was pretty out of it checking in, they put us in a handicapped accessible room without even mentioning it. There was nothing wrong with the room itself, I just thought it was a bit weird that they didn't save that room for a guest who actually needed it. Room was clean, staff was great. Overall I would stay again, I'd just make sure I got a room with a regular layout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pan keegan
Business
Bradford Pa
Jan 22, 2014

Great location.

Clean, great location, good people. Only issue, had to pay for parking but I guess that's expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nodir
Business
Washington, DC
May 5, 2014

Weekend Stay with Kids

We stayed at this hotel during our weekend stay with our two kids. The hotel staff were friendly, and the rooms were spacious enough. We requested a room with a king-size bed and a sofa bed. Our preschooler and toddler slept well. We especially liked the heavy curtains which when drawn even in the afternoon make the room completely dark for the kids to take a nap. Unfortunately, we forgot our swimming suits, so we could not check out the pool. The breakfast was not bad: juices, scrambled eggs, sausages and yogurts with some pastries (but no smoked salmon, selection of cheeses or croissants, etc.) The best thing about this hotel is its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Reading Terminal Market, which is just couple of blocks away from the hotel. Lots of delicious food prepared for you. Get some Bassett's Ice Cream (first ice cream shop established in the US!) at the same place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dean Emeritus
Business
Cincinnati
Oct 16, 2010

It's the Courtyard, stupid!

It's a perfectly fine Marriott. But it is one of three Marriotts within one block. So make sure that you have gone to the right one - this one - the Residence Inn - was the least expensive. The room was fine, but we were overcharged nearly $40 for parking, which was adjusted upon complaint. The restaurant was dreadful for lunch, and the valet parking (the only type available) is very expensive. We tried to get our car at checkout, and it took 50 minuutes, for which they promised to discount the charge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Stay away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 27, 2010

4-night Philly stay

Great location, great staff and good service, BUT, everything about a hotel is about the bed. 1. Cotton comforter is triple sheeted with worn, thin permapress sheets rather than a duvet cover, which means many hands have touched, grabbed and pulled on the comforter to get it to stay in place. That means every guest in that room for a month or more has handled the comforter. Ug! 2. The floppy mattress shifted off the base 5-6" every night, and that meant the sheets all came undone. We had to redo the bed every day. Double Ug! 3. Worn thin permapress sheets with no elastic are not acceptable when room rates bump up on $200/night. Triple Ug!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweetnlow36
Business
Land O Lakes, FL
Jun 3, 2010

Not so Great

we went to main Marriott for pop warner event and convention center. Breakfast should be included. parking should be reduced. shuttle to and from airport. something for kids(activities) maps of suggested places to go...Shuttle around downtown area for guest to say on all the parking...willing to pay a fee for daily stay. Ask customer how they want to pay for parking before charging credit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very popular restaurants across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Jun 27, 2011

Nice!

We went to Philly for the weekend for a Beady Eye concert at the Theatre of Living Arts. The hotel was about a 15 minute taxi ride. Not bad. The people at the front desk were very nice. We got there at 2pm and our room wasn't ready so they asked us to come back later. They gave us directions to a nearby pub we could spend the time at. I really enjoyed my stay here, however would have enjoyes it more if the price was less expensive. Also, the Theatre of the Living Arts is not in the best part of town, but there are about 4-5 police officers on every corner. I would stay here again, if I ever decide to go to Philly once more. There really isn't anything spectacular to do in Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

theres a macys right across the street in case you forgot a cute outfit, no worries, just go to Macys!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top