$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 7, 2014 Check-out: Nov 8, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

3 stars
21, North Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
137 reviews
Courtyard by Mariott

We stayed there for a night while the weekend in the city. The location is veery convenient,... See full review

  • Kuzmila
  • Sep 29, 2014
Great experience

My husband and I loved it! Rooms are comfortable, decoration is lovely, location is perfect, and... See full review

  • Lizzyjanmart
  • Aug 24, 2014
Marriott's Courtyard Downtown Hotel Philadelphia prides itself on a fusion of historic elegance and modern comfort. Beautifully restored from the 1920s-era original building, guests experience soaring, arched lobby windows, gilded doorframes and a monochrome-tiled pool area. With the on-site gym, there's no need to break your exercise routine, but kicking back in the spa tub is a great way to ease overworked muscles. Classic US fare - in sizable portions - is served up in the eye-catching blue and orange interior of the Nineteen26 Restaurant. Check your emails over a takeout latte from the in-house Starbucks - high-speed Internet is accessible throughout the hotel (fees may apply).
Key facts
  • 498 guestrooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • On-site restaurant: Nineteen26
  • Starbucks Coffee house
  • Valet parking
  • 12 meeting rooms
  • Junipers Ballroom
Neighborhood
Just opposite Philly's City Hall and only a block from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Courtyard Downtown aims to please professionals and leisure-seekers alike. With an Amtrak station just around the corner, visitors never need to struggle through local traffic, and foodies will love the tastes available from the Pennsylvania Amish farms at Reading Terminal Market. A visit to the Museum of American Art is highly recommended for those anxious to check out an outstanding Impressionist painting collection, or unique artifacts from the far-off shores of Korea and Japan.
Hints and tips
For gorgeous panoramic views with the Masonic Temple and City Hall in the background, ask for an executive suite with a city view.
The space in front of the hotel is limited for car drop-offs, so call the valet service at least 30 minutes before you will need your vehicle.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.953 -75.1625
Area served
Center City Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.1 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Dining

NINETEEN 26
Enjoy a delicious meal at our lively on-site downtown Philadelphia hotel restaurant, NINETEEN 26, offering exciting drinks and classic American fare.
Starbucks®
Start off your morning with your favorite selection of coffees and pastries, or swing by in the evening for an iced latté or steaming espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (137)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
137 out of 137
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jan 11, 2010

Everything Broken, stay at another Hotel

Everything seemed to be broken. The TV was constantly cutting in an out. Very few channels less than most hotels. Plus not a very good tv at that. While it does have an internet connection, it is very frustrating to connect to. Constantly have to go to Marriot.com to establish connection (which they don't tell you). Some of the doors were broken, and wouldn't unlock when the lights lit up correctly. Really over priced breakfast buffet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal is incredibly awesome, and just a short walk away. However, there are three marriots next to each other...so you don't have to stay at this one in order to be close to the Reading Terminal. I'd recommend one of the other two. It has to be better than this place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Check ur bill
Business
Asheville NC
Feb 12, 2013

Charged my card erroneously

This is a comfortable and clean hotel in a great location. However my credit card was charged for the night's stay even though I booked and prepaid as part of an air/hotel package online. The charge had not shown up on my receipt upon checkout, but it showed up on my credit card bill later. I had to contest the charge with my card company in order to have the charge removed. Even upon checkout there was a $40 charge for overnight Valet parking even though I had no car for the trip. The desk clerk was only able to remove the charge by issuing a credit against the charge when I checked out. Two strikes and your out! I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pan keegan
Business
Bradford Pa
Jan 22, 2014

Great location.

Clean, great location, good people. Only issue, had to pay for parking but I guess that's expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nodir
Business
Washington, DC
May 5, 2014

Weekend Stay with Kids

We stayed at this hotel during our weekend stay with our two kids. The hotel staff were friendly, and the rooms were spacious enough. We requested a room with a king-size bed and a sofa bed. Our preschooler and toddler slept well. We especially liked the heavy curtains which when drawn even in the afternoon make the room completely dark for the kids to take a nap. Unfortunately, we forgot our swimming suits, so we could not check out the pool. The breakfast was not bad: juices, scrambled eggs, sausages and yogurts with some pastries (but no smoked salmon, selection of cheeses or croissants, etc.) The best thing about this hotel is its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Reading Terminal Market, which is just couple of blocks away from the hotel. Lots of delicious food prepared for you. Get some Bassett's Ice Cream (first ice cream shop established in the US!) at the same place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NormaIsabelle
Business
Westchester, NY, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Good weekend or business hotel

Very friendly staff, and great Starbucks in the lobby! This is a beautiful old building, so not your average Courtyard by Marriott.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob N USA
Business
Chicago,ILUSA
Apr 30, 2012

Wedding Weekend

While thee hotel was walking to everything thee atmosphere was incredible.With two exceptions the sheets were stained with something and took till late after noon to correct. Just waiting to see if they are good on their complimentary breakfast claim for the sheets. Prices for a sprit was outrageous.Parking was extra and not compted by the hotel for guests. Just another overpriced feature.All in all some good and some not so good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Stay outside the hotel itself for eats and spirits

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Historical Anniversary
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 4, 2012

Decent Hotel with a Good Location

My wife and I booked a room here for two nights to celebrate our 3 year aniversary. The hotel staff was great! We brought our bikes with us and the hotel staff was very accomodating and kept our bikes in storage as needed. We used the hotel valet parking which only cost a couple dollars more for overnight parking than the garage down the block. The room was quiet and reasonably clean but was just your average room that could have used some updating and maybe a bit of maintenance on the shower head. Nothing real impressive about the room but nothing that would keep me from going back either. The location was also great. Just a couple blocks from the market and most of the histroical sights were within an easy bike ride from the hotel doors. Its right within the heart of the city. Good resaurants all around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss out on the chance to get a bit to eat at the Reading Terminal Market. Lots of good food from the local area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ljm41
Business
Hellertown, PA
Jul 2, 2012

Neck still hurts!

The Marriott Courtyard Downtown is perfectly located to all the attractions and restaurants we wanted to try. The staff is friendly and responsive. The biggest problem came with the room. The beds are way too soft and the pillows atrocious. My upper back and neck are still sore (3 days later) from sleeping on those beds. Please get some beds with more support!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Davio's Italian Steakhouse is excellent. My 9 y/o daughter chowed on the 8 oz filet. She gives the restaurant 106 stars!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ljm41
Business
Hellertown, PA
Jul 1, 2012

Kill 'em with kindness and soft mattresses!

Our stay in Philadelphia was uneventful. The hotel was in a lovely, older renovated building. Unfortunately the bedding, pillows and mattresses were so soft as to be quite uncomfortable. My neck is still recovering. The location was convenient for walking downtown, although construction around City Hall was a nuisance. Overall I would rate this hotel average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Davios restaurant was excellent, worth the 0.9 mile walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JGold
Business
Connecticut
Dec 6, 2012

good accommodations and price in Central Philly

I have stayed here several times as it is a central location, valet parking is reasonable, and the rooms are standard Courtyard type rooms. Staff was courteous and room was clean. Love that they have a Starbucks in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top