$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

3 stars
21, North Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
138 reviews
Courtyard by Mariott

We stayed there for a night while the weekend in the city. The location is veery convenient,... See full review

  • Kuzmila
  • Sep 29, 2014
Great experience

My husband and I loved it! Rooms are comfortable, decoration is lovely, location is perfect, and... See full review

  • Lizzyjanmart
  • Aug 24, 2014
Marriott's Courtyard Downtown Hotel Philadelphia prides itself on a fusion of historic elegance and modern comfort. Beautifully restored from the 1920s-era original building, guests experience soaring, arched lobby windows, gilded doorframes and a monochrome-tiled pool area. With the on-site gym, there's no need to break your exercise routine, but kicking back in the spa tub is a great way to ease overworked muscles. Classic US fare - in sizable portions - is served up in the eye-catching blue and orange interior of the Nineteen26 Restaurant. Check your emails over a takeout latte from the in-house Starbucks - high-speed Internet is accessible throughout the hotel (fees may apply).
Key facts
  • 498 guestrooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • On-site restaurant: Nineteen26
  • Starbucks Coffee house
  • Valet parking
  • 12 meeting rooms
  • Junipers Ballroom
Neighborhood
Just opposite Philly's City Hall and only a block from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Courtyard Downtown aims to please professionals and leisure-seekers alike. With an Amtrak station just around the corner, visitors never need to struggle through local traffic, and foodies will love the tastes available from the Pennsylvania Amish farms at Reading Terminal Market. A visit to the Museum of American Art is highly recommended for those anxious to check out an outstanding Impressionist painting collection, or unique artifacts from the far-off shores of Korea and Japan.
Hints and tips
For gorgeous panoramic views with the Masonic Temple and City Hall in the background, ask for an executive suite with a city view.
The space in front of the hotel is limited for car drop-offs, so call the valet service at least 30 minutes before you will need your vehicle.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.1 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Dining

NINETEEN 26
Enjoy a delicious meal at our lively on-site downtown Philadelphia hotel restaurant, NINETEEN 26, offering exciting drinks and classic American fare.
Starbucks®
Start off your morning with your favorite selection of coffees and pastries, or swing by in the evening for an iced latté or steaming espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (138)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
browneyedgirl73
Business
NC
Mar 16, 2014

Perfect midown location

I had meeting downtown Philadelphia and this was a great location. I walked to the local indoor market a block away and was able to get a wide variety of great food for almost nothing. I ate at the hotel the first night, got in really late due to flight delays, and they were so friendly, and the food was still tasty and fresh. The museums were less than a mile away and easy to walk to. A quick cab ride can get you almost anywhere you need to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market - variety of foods, can even buy fresh veggies and have a buffet/picnic in your room. Open till 6pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 18, 2010

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downt

My stay was quite comfortable. I was able to get exactly what I had reserved with no problems. The room was very clean and quiet. I truly enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you would like to get in a bit of NY shopping it is a short walk and cheap treansportation available. There is a charter bus company on Filbert that will take you to NY for $20 round trip. Also, PHLASH is a bus (trolley) company that makes stops at numerous destinations (Penn's Landing, Zoo, Art Museum, etc.) for $5 a day (all day).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMWhit
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Downtown Philly

Great trip! Short walk to the Reading Terminal that has a lot to choose from for shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do a bus tour, worth the $

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dancemom7
Business
Perkasie, PA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

In for dance competition

My daughter and I were in town for a dance competition. The hotel was a short walk to the convention center and there were plenty of options for dining nearby. The room was clean and the staff was great. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professor Kate
Business
Portland, ME, USA
Apr 1, 2012

perfect for business trip

Friendly staff, comfortable room. Nice common spaces on ground floor to have coffee, read the paper. Not a romantic getaway, but excellent for a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kate art lover
Business
Kansas city, MO
Jul 22, 2012

Convenience

Good experience. Would stay there again. Excellent location. Visited museums, historical sites, all convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Barnes Foundation, order ticket in advance, if you like art, especially impressionist and post-impressionist, do not miss this experience

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reese00
Business
burlington, pa
Jun 18, 2012

excellent getaway

great staff. good neighborhood. room was clean....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street is a chili's and downstairs they have an excellent restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50 Birthday Girl
Business
Philadelphia pa
Jun 18, 2012

50th Birthday Celebration w/ Friends

Nice comfy room right in Center City - great for an overnight splurge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Audrey Clair for dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megan 83
Business
Harrisburg Pa
Aug 13, 2012

Great weekend getaway!

We arrived around 6pm on a Saturday. Check in was easy and fast. Our room was clean and comfortable. We specifically booked here due to location and the in room mini fridge. We like to save money and add comfort to our trip by bringing snacks and our own alcoholic/non alcoholic drinks. When we noticed our fridge was not cold we called the front desk. They sent someone up to look at it within ten min. They tried a few things but ended up replacing the whole thing. So there was a small snag but it was corrected so quickly we did not even care. The staff was friendly and helpful. Valet takes about a 30 min so be sure to call ahead if you are on a time schedule. We had a very pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel to couples, familys and business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mannafromhell
Business
York, Pa
Sep 14, 2012

It's right next to city hall

Great location, cheap parking (for a large city) with 24hr unlimited in/out valet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top