$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

3 stars
21, North Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
182 reviews
Wonderful experience

Our experience here was superb! Highly recommend!! See full review

  • S Wa
  • Jun 9, 2014
Perfect location

An extended family of 7 spent two nights there. The location is perfect: gorgeous view of city... See full review

  • pigletj
  • Jun 8, 2014
Marriott's Courtyard Downtown Hotel Philadelphia prides itself on a fusion of historic elegance and modern comfort. Beautifully restored from the 1920s-era original building, guests experience soaring, arched lobby windows, gilded doorframes and a monochrome-tiled pool area. With the on-site gym, there's no need to break your exercise routine, but kicking back in the spa tub is a great way to ease overworked muscles. Classic US fare - in sizable portions - is served up in the eye-catching blue and orange interior of the Nineteen26 Restaurant. Check your emails over a takeout latte from the in-house Starbucks - high-speed Internet is accessible throughout the hotel (fees may apply).
Key facts
  • 498 guestrooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • On-site restaurant: Nineteen26
  • Starbucks Coffee house
  • Valet parking
  • 12 meeting rooms
  • Junipers Ballroom
Neighborhood
Just opposite Philly's City Hall and only a block from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Courtyard Downtown aims to please professionals and leisure-seekers alike. With an Amtrak station just around the corner, visitors never need to struggle through local traffic, and foodies will love the tastes available from the Pennsylvania Amish farms at Reading Terminal Market. A visit to the Museum of American Art is highly recommended for those anxious to check out an outstanding Impressionist painting collection, or unique artifacts from the far-off shores of Korea and Japan.
Hints and tips
For gorgeous panoramic views with the Masonic Temple and City Hall in the background, ask for an executive suite with a city view.
The space in front of the hotel is limited for car drop-offs, so call the valet service at least 30 minutes before you will need your vehicle.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

39.953 -75.1625
Area served
Center City Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.1 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Dining

NINETEEN 26
Enjoy a delicious meal at our lively on-site downtown Philadelphia hotel restaurant, NINETEEN 26, offering exciting drinks and classic American fare.
Starbucks®
Start off your morning with your favorite selection of coffees and pastries, or swing by in the evening for an iced latté or steaming espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nana2
Albany, NY, USA
Oct 25, 2011

Very nice for romantic nite!

Very nice room, spacious suite, too much for an overnight, good for longer stay. Hotel overall was great, staff were helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely would recommend the tour of Phili by double decker bus! My husband and I took the night tour and it was great, was a little chilly, guide Bill was a lot of fun and very knowledgeable.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jacksonville, FL
Apr 22, 2009

Fantastic Location!

We were visiting our daughter attending Temple. She was only blocks away. Great sightseeing and restaurants very nearby, especially the market! I would have enjoyed being able to have more coffee available for room service vs. making my own. Loved the decor of lobby and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market just up the block.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JessH
Nj
Jan 9, 2013

Great place to stay

This is in a great location with subway stop right outside the front entrance. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jun 21, 2010

Great Weekend

I wanted a safe and clean hotel in downtown Philadelphia. The Courtyard by Marriott was much more than I had expected. The staff was very available and extremely helpful. I attended the West Oak Lane Jazz Festival. Commuting to the festival was easy. All I had to do was cross the street from the Courtyard and take the train; then connect to a bus which was also conveniently located. I was able to get shopping done on Market Street. The thing that impressed me most was how clean Philadelphia is. I loved the architecture, the downtown buildings around Market Street are awesome. I also liked the wide sidewalks; no congestion. It was the best three-day vacation in a city that I've had in a long time. Everyone needs to stay at the Courtyard and visit Philadelphia at least once a year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

My money went a long ways in Philadephia.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kalev
Scarsdale, NY
Aug 13, 2012

Very high end, with an unbelievable view of City Hall

We really enjoyed our stay! This hotel is across the street from Philadelphia's magnificent City Hall, and just down the street from the Reading Terminal Market (foods and restaurants), and next to the convention center and Chinatown. Room was ultra clean, well air conditioned, no old cigarette smell, and the bed was perfect!. Nice sized room, not too big or too small. This is a new hotel in a refurbished 1926 building. Only wish is that the pool was a bit bigger, it is really small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you can save a lot on parking by skipping the $45 valet park at the hotel, and instead, parking at one of the numerous lots up on Broad Street, north of City Hall. They charge about $20, or even less if you use their Early Bird specials.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sunnyside
Aug 9, 2008

Excellent choice

The Courtyard Marriott Philly was great. It was exceptionally clean. The location is excellent because it is close to everything. Staying here made our vacation in Philadelphia a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Near the reading terminal--great food and Philadelphia flavor. Close to shops-Macy's, Burlington, etc. Right next to Hard Rock Cafe, Melting Pot, Chili's, and other sores. Safe and clean surroundings. Walking distance to GreyHound and to tourist spots.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Orange lady
boston, ma
Mar 3, 2014

great time

I enjoyed my stay immensely and will come back again. They staff were friendly and helpful...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super model
Business
Houston, Texas
May 10, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

I love my whole experience with the hotel. The location was great, the staff was excellent and informative. The room was cleaned very well and the linen was changed daily. Everything was just great! keep up the good work!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 23, 2008

Family Friendly

We were pleased with our experience with the staff from the moment we arrived. The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to restaurants, shops and directly across from City Hall. The hotel was very clean and was family friendly. I highly recommend this hotel for those looking to be in the downtown area, yet a few miles away from Citizen Bank park and the other stadiums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of casual restuarants like the Hard Rock Cafe or Chili's within a few blocks, or you can dine at more upscale restuarants like the Palm or Capital Grille too

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jun 1, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Great location. It was memorial weekend and we enjoy the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top