$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

3 stars
21, North Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
182 reviews
Wonderful experience

Our experience here was superb! Highly recommend!! See full review

  • S Wa
  • Jun 9, 2014
Perfect location

An extended family of 7 spent two nights there. The location is perfect: gorgeous view of city... See full review

  • pigletj
  • Jun 8, 2014
Marriott's Courtyard Downtown Hotel Philadelphia prides itself on a fusion of historic elegance and modern comfort. Beautifully restored from the 1920s-era original building, guests experience soaring, arched lobby windows, gilded doorframes and a monochrome-tiled pool area. With the on-site gym, there's no need to break your exercise routine, but kicking back in the spa tub is a great way to ease overworked muscles. Classic US fare - in sizable portions - is served up in the eye-catching blue and orange interior of the Nineteen26 Restaurant. Check your emails over a takeout latte from the in-house Starbucks - high-speed Internet is accessible throughout the hotel (fees may apply).
Key facts
  • 498 guestrooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • On-site restaurant: Nineteen26
  • Starbucks Coffee house
  • Valet parking
  • 12 meeting rooms
  • Junipers Ballroom
Neighborhood
Just opposite Philly's City Hall and only a block from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Courtyard Downtown aims to please professionals and leisure-seekers alike. With an Amtrak station just around the corner, visitors never need to struggle through local traffic, and foodies will love the tastes available from the Pennsylvania Amish farms at Reading Terminal Market. A visit to the Museum of American Art is highly recommended for those anxious to check out an outstanding Impressionist painting collection, or unique artifacts from the far-off shores of Korea and Japan.
Hints and tips
For gorgeous panoramic views with the Masonic Temple and City Hall in the background, ask for an executive suite with a city view.
The space in front of the hotel is limited for car drop-offs, so call the valet service at least 30 minutes before you will need your vehicle.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.953 -75.1625
Area served
Center City Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.1 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Dining

NINETEEN 26
Enjoy a delicious meal at our lively on-site downtown Philadelphia hotel restaurant, NINETEEN 26, offering exciting drinks and classic American fare.
Starbucks®
Start off your morning with your favorite selection of coffees and pastries, or swing by in the evening for an iced latté or steaming espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Megan 83
Harrisburg Pa
Aug 13, 2012

Great weekend getaway!

We arrived around 6pm on a Saturday. Check in was easy and fast. Our room was clean and comfortable. We specifically booked here due to location and the in room mini fridge. We like to save money and add comfort to our trip by bringing snacks and our own alcoholic/non alcoholic drinks. When we noticed our fridge was not cold we called the front desk. They sent someone up to look at it within ten min. They tried a few things but ended up replacing the whole thing. So there was a small snag but it was corrected so quickly we did not even care. The staff was friendly and helpful. Valet takes about a 30 min so be sure to call ahead if you are on a time schedule. We had a very pleasant stay and would recommend this hotel to couples, familys and business travelers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lanunez
new york
Aug 13, 2012

Great location and service

I just had 2 days to see Philly so I chose a hotel in the vecinity of the places I wanted to visit. This hotel is perfectly located, the rooms are extremely comfortable, large and clean. The bed was great. There is a restaurant/bar/starbucks on the lobby floor which is very convenient. Service was great and food was good. I would stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Phlash bus to see the city.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PC and EH
New York, New York
Aug 7, 2012

Great stay for a romantic getaway!

Stayed here for a little romantic weekend getaway with my gal and it was amazing! The hotel is in a great location in the heart of Philadelphia a stone throw away from City Hall. The staff is top notch and the room was comfortable, clean , with a great view of the city. I recommend the Courtyard to anyone looking for an affordable and enjoyable stay in Philly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kate art lover
Kansas city, MO
Jul 22, 2012

Convenience

Good experience. Would stay there again. Excellent location. Visited museums, historical sites, all convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Barnes Foundation, order ticket in advance, if you like art, especially impressionist and post-impressionist, do not miss this experience

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ljm41
Hellertown, PA
Jul 2, 2012

Neck still hurts!

The Marriott Courtyard Downtown is perfectly located to all the attractions and restaurants we wanted to try. The staff is friendly and responsive. The biggest problem came with the room. The beds are way too soft and the pillows atrocious. My upper back and neck are still sore (3 days later) from sleeping on those beds. Please get some beds with more support!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Davio's Italian Steakhouse is excellent. My 9 y/o daughter chowed on the 8 oz filet. She gives the restaurant 106 stars!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ljm41
Hellertown, PA
Jul 1, 2012

Kill 'em with kindness and soft mattresses!

Our stay in Philadelphia was uneventful. The hotel was in a lovely, older renovated building. Unfortunately the bedding, pillows and mattresses were so soft as to be quite uncomfortable. My neck is still recovering. The location was convenient for walking downtown, although construction around City Hall was a nuisance. Overall I would rate this hotel average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Davios restaurant was excellent, worth the 0.9 mile walk from the hotel.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reese00
burlington, pa
Jun 18, 2012

excellent getaway

great staff. good neighborhood. room was clean....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street is a chili's and downstairs they have an excellent restaurant

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50 Birthday Girl
Philadelphia pa
Jun 18, 2012

50th Birthday Celebration w/ Friends

Nice comfy room right in Center City - great for an overnight splurge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Audrey Clair for dinner

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Historical Anniversary
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 4, 2012

Decent Hotel with a Good Location

My wife and I booked a room here for two nights to celebrate our 3 year aniversary. The hotel staff was great! We brought our bikes with us and the hotel staff was very accomodating and kept our bikes in storage as needed. We used the hotel valet parking which only cost a couple dollars more for overnight parking than the garage down the block. The room was quiet and reasonably clean but was just your average room that could have used some updating and maybe a bit of maintenance on the shower head. Nothing real impressive about the room but nothing that would keep me from going back either. The location was also great. Just a couple blocks from the market and most of the histroical sights were within an easy bike ride from the hotel doors. Its right within the heart of the city. Good resaurants all around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss out on the chance to get a bit to eat at the Reading Terminal Market. Lots of good food from the local area.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PerrySt Lawyer
Business
Newnan, GA
May 5, 2012

See the sights in Philadelphia

I stayed here to attend a conference at a neighboring Marriott. It was ideal. It is close to Reading Market, a great place for great food during the day, and within walking distance of Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, and Betsy Ross' house. Another walking trip is down Franklin Parkway to the Museum and the "Rocky" Statue. A beautiful city and a great location to access everything. Public transportation and cabs are easily available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top