$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 6, 2014 Check-out: Nov 8, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

3 stars
21, North Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
136 reviews
Courtyard by Mariott

We stayed there for a night while the weekend in the city. The location is veery convenient,... See full review

  • Kuzmila
  • Sep 29, 2014
Great experience

My husband and I loved it! Rooms are comfortable, decoration is lovely, location is perfect, and... See full review

  • Lizzyjanmart
  • Aug 24, 2014
The historic Courtyard Downtown Philadelphia, PA Hotel is located in the heart of the Business District across from City Hall and is one short block away from the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Our downtown Philadelphia hotel accommodations reflect the grandeur of their 1926 origins and feature 11' ceilings, i-Home radio docking stations and complimentary Wi-Fi access. Our 15-floor, 498-room hotel is listed on the "National Register of Historic Places" and stands as a charming testament to time with unique architectural details. Enjoy a variety of hotel amenities, including a fitness center, indoor pool and our on-site restaurant, NINETEEN 26. This Philadelphia downtown hotel is convenient to the Historic District, University of Pennsylvania, Independence Hall and renowned restaurants and shopping. Here at our Philadelphia Historic District hotel we offer over 10,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space which is the ideal home for group meetings, special occasions and weddings in downtown Philadelphia, PA.

Hotel Map

39.953 -75.1625
Area served
Center City Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.1 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Dining

NINETEEN 26
Enjoy a delicious meal at our lively on-site downtown Philadelphia hotel restaurant, NINETEEN 26, offering exciting drinks and classic American fare.
Starbucks®
Start off your morning with your favorite selection of coffees and pastries, or swing by in the evening for an iced latté or steaming espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (136)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
136 out of 136
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PS Pearls
Business
Oregon
Nov 12, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff

Good location close to good restaurants and arts. Staff friendly and conversant, yet professional. Building is older with some quaint features such as the entry and elevator. Nice, well equiped workout room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Di Bruno Brothers deli is an absolute treat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sweetnlow36
Business
Land O Lakes, FL
Jun 3, 2010

Not so Great

we went to main Marriott for pop warner event and convention center. Breakfast should be included. parking should be reduced. shuttle to and from airport. something for kids(activities) maps of suggested places to go...Shuttle around downtown area for guest to say on all the parking...willing to pay a fee for daily stay. Ask customer how they want to pay for parking before charging credit card.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very popular restaurants across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Jun 27, 2011

Nice!

We went to Philly for the weekend for a Beady Eye concert at the Theatre of Living Arts. The hotel was about a 15 minute taxi ride. Not bad. The people at the front desk were very nice. We got there at 2pm and our room wasn't ready so they asked us to come back later. They gave us directions to a nearby pub we could spend the time at. I really enjoyed my stay here, however would have enjoyes it more if the price was less expensive. Also, the Theatre of the Living Arts is not in the best part of town, but there are about 4-5 police officers on every corner. I would stay here again, if I ever decide to go to Philly once more. There really isn't anything spectacular to do in Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

theres a macys right across the street in case you forgot a cute outfit, no worries, just go to Macys!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, OH
May 30, 2011

Great location, poor service

We arrived to this hotel at 1am, after a long flight delay. Upon arrival we were told that the room we reserved, a king room, was not available. The front desk clerk was not kind and rudely told us that only a queen room was avaialble. We could have that room or wait until a king room became available. Definitely poor customer service at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market has the best of everything. Beiler's bakery makes the best sticky buns! Bassett's ice cream is definitely worth waiting in line for!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ripped-Off
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Jul 27, 2010

Collateral Damages

I was in town for 2 days to attend an event at Temple University. This hotel was in downtown so I thought it would be a great location. However what I did not know was that this hotel charged (hold your breath) $45 for vallet parking!!!! And if you need to park on your own, the nearest parking garage will cost you $33 for overnight. I was mad at the hotel [...]s for not sharing this critical information with me. Further what infuriated me was that the elevators had notices saying "Join us for breakfast buffet". Turned out they charged me $18 for buffet. The eggs were dry, the omellette line was too long and I ended up paying all that money just for Kelloggs cornflakes. I am mad as can be. Another problem was that the mattress was memory foam and that was not my type.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Forget about renting a car. Use the trains instead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr McGoo
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 25, 2014

Weekend Getaway

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Downtown Courtyard Marriot. Being situatated next to Market St and the Broad St subway line was ideal. My only gripe would be with the perceived cleanliness of the room/batchroom. Generally speaking, the room was great and I don't consider myself a clean freak. However, upon closer inspection, It was evident that there were areas of the room that were not properly vacuumed as well as a bathroom floor that could have been cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kt fonte
Business
worton md
Jan 1, 2014

In the Heart of Philly

This hotel is right on the city hall square. It was relatively easy to get to from 676. The room was nice and the bed comfy. Parking was extra money, and seemed a little pricey to me (but i think typically for the city). The staff was very friendly and helpful with getting cabs and answering any questions. Overall, a very nice experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
browneyedgirl73
Business
NC
Mar 16, 2014

Perfect midown location

I had meeting downtown Philadelphia and this was a great location. I walked to the local indoor market a block away and was able to get a wide variety of great food for almost nothing. I ate at the hotel the first night, got in really late due to flight delays, and they were so friendly, and the food was still tasty and fresh. The museums were less than a mile away and easy to walk to. A quick cab ride can get you almost anywhere you need to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market - variety of foods, can even buy fresh veggies and have a buffet/picnic in your room. Open till 6pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 18, 2010

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downt

My stay was quite comfortable. I was able to get exactly what I had reserved with no problems. The room was very clean and quiet. I truly enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you would like to get in a bit of NY shopping it is a short walk and cheap treansportation available. There is a charter bus company on Filbert that will take you to NY for $20 round trip. Also, PHLASH is a bus (trolley) company that makes stops at numerous destinations (Penn's Landing, Zoo, Art Museum, etc.) for $5 a day (all day).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMWhit
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Downtown Philly

Great trip! Short walk to the Reading Terminal that has a lot to choose from for shopping and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Do a bus tour, worth the $

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dancemom7
Business
Perkasie, PA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

In for dance competition

My daughter and I were in town for a dance competition. The hotel was a short walk to the convention center and there were plenty of options for dining nearby. The room was clean and the staff was great. We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top