$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2014 Check-out: May 11, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

3 stars
21 N Juniper Street, 21 North Juniper Street @ City Hall, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
122 reviews
fantastic

We really enjoyed our stay kids loved the pool. Will do it again See full review

  • thomka
  • Mar 10, 2014
Two Thumbs Up

Amazing room for a great price! I would highly recommend this hotel See full review

  • Hotel Bookie
  • Mar 9, 2014
Historic hotel near sights, cultural districts, convention center

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown has recaptured the grandeur of the original 1926 City Hall Annex building. Located across the street from City Hall, one block from the convention center and a short walk to the historic and cultural districts, the hotel puts guests in the heart of Philadelphia. Convenient amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, an indoor pool and whirlpool and an on-site restaurant and lounge. High-speed Internet access is complimentary in all rooms.

Highlights
  • Listed on the National Register of Historic Places with original 1920s architectural details
  • Indoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center with all-new LifeFitness equipment featuring individual LCD televisions
  • Location within walking distance of most popular Center City attractions
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel
Rooms

The 18-story Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown provides 498 nonsmoking guest rooms and suites with 11-foot ceilings. Rooms are decorated primarily in white and royal blue with art deco-style furnishings. All rooms include a 42 inch LCD television, refrigerator, and iHome docking station. In addition, a work desk, ergonomic chair and complimentary high-speed Internet access is provided.

Features
The hotel's on-site restaurant, NINETEEN26, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Transportation
  • SEPTA Subway 13th Street Station (across the street)
  • Greyhound Bus Terminal (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Amtrak 30th Street Station (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Philadelphia International Airport (10 mi/16.1 km)
Attractions
  • City Hall (across the street)
  • Pennsylvania Convention Center (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Reading Terminal Market (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Historic District (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rittenhouse Square (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Professional sports/concert venues (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
  • Sesame Place (22 mi/35.4 km)
Business
  • Nearly 11,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 11 meeting rooms
  • Business center
  • Meeting/catering specialists
  • Audio/Visual equipment
  • Catering services
  • High-speed Internet access
  • Dry cleaning/laundry service

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.953 -75.1625
Area served
Center City Philadelphia
Nearby airports
Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 10.00, MI, SE;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.1 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Dining

NINETEEN 26
Enjoy a delicious meal at our lively on-site downtown Philadelphia hotel restaurant, NINETEEN 26, offering exciting drinks and classic American fare.
Starbucks®
Start off your morning with your favorite selection of coffees and pastries, or swing by in the evening for an iced latté or steaming espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
Kalev
Scarsdale, NY
Aug 13, 2012

Very high end, with an unbelievable view of City Hall

We really enjoyed our stay! This hotel is across the street from Philadelphia's magnificent City Hall, and just down the street from the Reading Terminal Market (foods and restaurants), and next to the convention center and Chinatown. Room was ultra clean, well air conditioned, no old cigarette smell, and the bed was perfect!. Nice sized room, not too big or too small. This is a new hotel in a refurbished 1926 building. Only wish is that the pool was a bit bigger, it is really small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

you can save a lot on parking by skipping the $45 valet park at the hotel, and instead, parking at one of the numerous lots up on Broad Street, north of City Hall. They charge about $20, or even less if you use their Early Bird specials.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
bbnew york
new york citu
Dec 15, 2013

courtyard city hall

Great service. Super location. Good value. Visited Reading terminal and independence hall area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal is awesome

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Badsanta
Philly
Dec 9, 2013

Great location

In town for Christmas celebration. Staff was friendly and helpful with suggestions. Location was perfect, a short walk to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading Terminal Market

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
carlosduran46
New Yrok
Nov 30, 2013

Great experience

My son and I were really impressed with the location, quality and service of this hotel. I will recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurants at walking distance

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
Suzey
Business
Paramus, NJ
Oct 28, 2013

Great hotel and location

Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Hotel is conveniently located a block or two from Market Street. Overnight parking is 40, but all parking lots in the area are that expensive. Convenient to Thomas Jefferson U.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
LA Wood
Philadelphia , PA
Oct 18, 2013

It was nice

Great room . Relaxing and great staff. I love this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Downtown has everything

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
crxmorgan
Topeka, Kansas
Oct 13, 2013

A sense of history

It was nice to be in the middle of Philadelphia within walking distance of the historic district and Penn's Landing. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
Kimmymascolo
West Islip, NY
Oct 6, 2013

phillyrun

We only stayed in the room for one night....but it was clean, quiet and very comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
haroon imran
nyc
Aug 12, 2013

Great hotel and location

My wife and I stayed at the courtyard Marriot at centre city over the weekend. They let us check in a good 4 hours prior to the 3 o clock check in time. The checkin and checkout were very swift and hassle free. The room was very comfortable simple and elegant. The location is ideal and close to shops, public transport, the reading terminal market and historic attractions. An ideal place to stay if you are visiting philly for sightseeing. They lock their entrances at night for security but you can access the hotel at late hours using the room keys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Reading terminal market for a vareity of cheap eats. Tray the crepes. Yummy food at reasonable prices. The place also features fresh produce, sea food meats and cheeses.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Ripped
Phialdelphia, PA
Aug 12, 2013

Lover's getaway

It was a great getaway for me and my honey bunny. We stay frequently in Philadelphia and this is the first time we were able to book the Courtyard Marriott. Staff was friendly and the hotel definitely has old world charm. My boyfriend asked me if we could stay there again. I told him absolutely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right at Macy's :)

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
Nic0le
Havertown, PA
Aug 5, 2013

Romantic Couple Getaway

Our stay the the Marriott was beautiful, we could not have wished for a better time. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel was within walking distance from countless bars and restaurants. I will admit that I was extremely under impressed by the pool. The indoor pool was one of the hotel features I was most excited for. Realistically the pool was VERY small, dirty, crowded, and extremely warm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top