$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 22, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

3 stars
View map of 21, North Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
149 out of 149
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spanish Prof from Texas
Business
San Antonio, Texas
May 13, 2011

Great service @ luxurious hotel

I was there for only one night, but I was pleasantly surprised by the luxurious hotel. It was beautiful. The staff were cordial, from the valet to the cleaning ladies. I could hardly believe I got such a good hotel for what I paid. I paid the same rate for the Holiday-Inn Express in Philly, located just a few couples away from Courtyard @ Marriott, and there is no comparison. Marriott wins by far!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spanish Prof from Texas
Business
San Antonio, Texas
May 13, 2011

Great service @ luxurious hotel

I was there for only one night, but I was pleasantly surprised by the luxurious hotel. It was beautiful. The staff were cordial, from the valet to the cleaning ladies. I could hardly believe I got such a good hotel for what I paid. I paid the same rate for the Holiday-Inn Express in Philly, located just a few couples away from Courtyard @ Marriott, and there is no comparison. Marriott wins by far!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
observant traveler
Business
florida
Apr 24, 2011

Not in as good shape as one would expect

I expected that the building itself< carrying the world renouned Marriott name would have been taken care of much better than it was. The caulking at the tub had mold on it,the crown joints were clearly in sight(as if a homeowner had installed the crown)in main public parts or the building.A patch had been recently done on a second floor column and not only was the sanded plaster left behind,but it wasn't even painted!! The hallways had a bad (old dusty carpet)smell that wasn't pleasent and the elevator was stuck on the third floor on Saturday. In general, it was quite appealing to look at and to stay at,but i'd like to see a better preventive mainteance program put in place to better preserve this jewel and to live up to the Marriott name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a beautiful dining room and the food was actually priced better than that of the other hotels in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
madison, wi
Apr 16, 2011

Decent hotel, great location

The hotel was OK, but customer service wasn't great. Great location, though. Close to public transportation, shopping, museums, restaurants, and bars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

None.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mid age Dad
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 10, 2011

Convenient for UPenn visiting

Nice hotel. Located right beside City Hall. About 2.5 miles to UPenn. Valet parking $45 per night. $36 per night if you choose the nearest parking lot (50 ft away, in the back of Courtyard). In general things match the price, except the bathroom has no/weak ventilation system. Service personel has very good attitude. Hotel resturant is good. The Philly CheeseSteak costs $10. Gym & pool are small, but enough for 5~10 people using them together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

This is the first visit of UPenn with my kid. All three closest hotels are full. Randomly pick this one. Compared to SF, it's about 30% lower in price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mommaduke
Business
Riverside RI
Mar 28, 2011

great location

Awesome location and convenient to most of the attractions we wanted to see. Only complaint was the pillows being too stiff. The beds were comfy and the view of the city was to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Mar 8, 2011

Good for Business Traveler

Very adequate complimentary fitness center/pool/hot tub Complimentary wireless and wired internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Woolley
Business
Tuscaloosa, AL
Mar 2, 2011

Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown

Courtyards are always nice. This was no different. The location was great and the staff was very helpful. [...] it was a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The various forms of public transportation will save a ton of time and money over using a cab to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MICHIGAN
Jan 21, 2011

Great Location to All the Hot Spots

Came for a quick business trip, staying here was an excellent choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
brooklyn, ny
Jan 17, 2011

All good but the parking!

I've been to philly for sports before so this time the wife and I decided to go sightseeing this time. We decided to stay in the city figuring it would be closer to everything. The hotel was in the perfect place for all attractions and i can't say a bad word about it EXCEPT... THE PARKING! THE HOTEL VALET COMES OUT TO 45$ AND IT TAKES 30-45 MINUTES TO GET THE CAR BACK. forget about street parking. There is none since its the city district. Best bet is the lot around the corner. Its 31$ if you leave the car there for the night. BTW the beds are amazingly comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

South street is great for shopping and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top