$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

3 stars
View map of 21, North Juniper Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
141 reviews
Summer fun

Hotel is centrally located in Phladelphia with access to various forms of public transportation.... See full review

  • Judith S.
  • Jul 29, 2015
Brief getaway

This was just a two-day/one-night getaway to Philly. The hotel is in THE most central location -... See full review

  • Doc E
  • Jun 21, 2015
Marriott's Courtyard Downtown Hotel Philadelphia prides itself on a fusion of historic elegance and modern comfort. Beautifully restored from the 1920s-era original building, guests experience soaring, arched lobby windows, gilded doorframes and a monochrome-tiled pool area. With the on-site gym, there's no need to break your exercise routine, but kicking back in the spa tub is a great way to ease overworked muscles. Classic US fare - in sizable portions - is served up in the eye-catching blue and orange interior of the Nineteen26 Restaurant. Check your emails over a takeout latte from the in-house Starbucks - high-speed Internet is accessible throughout the hotel (fees may apply).
Location
Just opposite Philly's City Hall and only a block from the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Courtyard Downtown aims to please professionals and leisure-seekers alike. With an Amtrak station just around the corner, visitors never need to struggle through local traffic, and foodies will love the tastes available from the Pennsylvania Amish farms at Reading Terminal Market. A visit to the Museum of American Art is highly recommended for those anxious to check out an outstanding Impressionist painting collection, or unique artifacts from the far-off shores of Korea and Japan.
Highlights
  • 498 guestrooms
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Indoor pool
  • Fitness center
  • On-site restaurant: Nineteen26
  • Starbucks Coffee house
  • Valet parking
  • 12 meeting rooms
  • Junipers Ballroom
Policies
For gorgeous panoramic views with the Masonic Temple and City Hall in the background, ask for an executive suite with a city view.
The space in front of the hotel is limited for car drop-offs, so call the valet service at least 30 minutes before you will need your vehicle.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown also booked these hotels.

★★★
$129
4.1 / 5 202 reviews
★★★
$129
4.0 / 5 211 reviews
★★★
$129
4.0 / 5 66 reviews
★★★★
$127
4.2 / 5 191 reviews
★★★
$132
3.6 / 5 115 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.4 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 0.7 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.7 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.7 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 0.7 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.8 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.8 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.9 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.1 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.5 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.6 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.3 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.1 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.3 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.6 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.3 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.1 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.4 mi

Dining

NINETEEN 26
Enjoy a delicious meal at our lively on-site downtown Philadelphia hotel restaurant, NINETEEN 26, offering exciting drinks and classic American fare.
Starbucks®
Start off your morning with your favorite selection of coffees and pastries, or swing by in the evening for an iced latté or steaming espresso.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JohnDC
Single
Washington Dc
Jan 22, 2013

Courtyard Marriott Philly

The room I stayed in was immaculate and well appointed. The staff was very helpful and very professional. The restaurant and bar were very good. The pool and fitness center more than fulfilled my expectations. The location across from city hall was ideally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay away from the City Tavern. I had very bad food for such a renowned restaurant. The schnitzel I ordered was burnt on the bottom and the fries were chewy and barely warm.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lynne c.
Family
N/A
Aug 2, 2015

Quick stay

Stayed just one night when moving my daughter. Clean, comfortable. Wish there was breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Judith S.
Family
N/A
Jul 29, 2015

Summer fun

Hotel is centrally located in Phladelphia with access to various forms of public transportation. Staff is helpful and courteous. Room size was adequate and the room was quiet. Everything was clean. Bathroom is small but fully functional with good counter space, not a two person room. Only downside was room was not ready when we arrived. They did check our luggage so we did not have to carry it around while we waited. While valet parking seemed expensive it ran around the same price point as other hotels in the area and the car was brought around in an expedient manner. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ines570
Family
Rockville
Jul 7, 2015

Just average hotel..

The stay at this hotel was a bit disappointed. The location was very good since it was close to everything we wanted to see. The indoor noise average, I could hear things from outside (outdoor and inside the hotel), but not from other room. The room size was decent and it was overall clean since it was remodeled. Upon arrival, there was no staff available for the bags, so I had to push the big cart by myself with a toddler. I found that was very disturbing, since I was willing to pay someone. Check in line was very long and staffs was average. This building requires everything for your hotel key card, and that was little annoying. Elevator, hotel entrance at night, pool entrance, etc. Also, no microwave that I could use in entire building. This was particularly annoying to me since I called the front desk and asked. The staff asked me back, you don't have it in your room? I was like... if I had it in my room, why would I call? So my toddler had to drink cold milk (since they had mini fridge with no temp control so things were almost freezing inside) and cold left over breakfast at 7am. Also, I requested rollaway bed and the staff said they ran out of it. The hotel gives free wifi which was alright, but no complimentary breakfast. The cleaning staff came way too late (4pm) to clean the room right after we came back from exhausting city walking. The pool had a good size 3ft deep pool and a smaller 3ft deep hot tub. Unfortunately there was no staff inside, so we ended up having bad experience with four drunk adults who spilt their drink in hot tub while they shout to each other and their obnoxious kids who jumped and screamed in both pool and hot tub. My husband ended up calling a security, and the staff came and apologized but we were leaving the pool. The mattress was not as good as I expected, it was little on soft side. Overall, this was not a bad place but if I go back to Philly, I will try different place that offers better service, better mattress, and complimentary breakfast since there are so many hotels around that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doc E
Family
Fair Lawn
Jun 21, 2015

Brief getaway

This was just a two-day/one-night getaway to Philly. The hotel is in THE most central location - right next to City Hall. The hotel staff was ok, the room was fairly big and clean. But the best part is that everything is within short walking distance. Overall, very happy with the stay and the choice of a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gary F.
Family
N/A
May 27, 2015

family trip

It was awesome, thanks. Went there for lscrosse and my daugyters had fun, ate good, lots of choices. good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
O.M.
Business
N/A
May 7, 2015

clean, comfortable hotel with friendly staff

Very friendly staff here, rooms very clean, nice bed, tv, internet. Very convenient for anything downtown, reading market, etc. Nice intro to Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Conway parent
Family
Dallas
Apr 15, 2015

Checking out Jefferson graduate program

Wonderful hotel in the heart of the city. Everything in walking distance. Very nice and courteous staff, wonderful atmosphere, historic setting, yet modern. Loved every minute of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Udo S.
Family
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

Trip to Philadelphia Flower show

My wife and I stayed at the Courtyard by Marriot in Philadelphia while attending the annual flower show. We enjoyed our stay and the hotel was conveniently located near the convention center. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again in the future. The hotel was clean and well staffed, we ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant and the food and services were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ahmed M.
Friends
Jersey City
Feb 18, 2015

Great Place with Friends

Room with double queens was great. Stayed with 3 other guys and we had a blast exploring downtown Philly. Literally a block away from the Reading Terminal Market too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Philadelphia Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ah626
Family
Cambridge
Dec 23, 2014

perfect location

great location, very nice and clean hotel, walking distance to some of the best spots in the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top