$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 17, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

3 stars
235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
21 reviews
Location

We planned our trip to Philadelphia specifically to see Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell.... See full review

  • Erdmann
  • Oct 9, 2014
Old Style Philadelphia

We were very happy with this "boutique" hotel. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of... See full review

  • John and Gail
  • Aug 5, 2014
History meets modern luxury at this stately boutique Philadelphia hotel, located within walking distance from awe-inspiring American history - from the Liberty Bell to Independence Hall. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the historic BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel is sure to please. Located in Old City District, the property is just minutes away from some of Philadelphia's most popular attractions. Independence National Historical Park, the Lights of Liberty Museum, Penn's Landing, the National Museum of American Jewish History and the Pennsylvania Convention Center are all less than a mile away. Numerous restaurants, boutiques, galleries and performing arts centers surround this Philadelphia hotel. Sports enthusiasts are only a short subway ride away from Citizens Bank Park, home of the Philadelphia Phillies; Lincoln Financial Field, home to the Philadelphia Eagles; and the Well Fargo Center, home of the Philadelphia Flyers and 76ers. Corporate travelers appreciate how convenient this Philadelphia hotel is to the USDA, the Department of Justice, and Boeing Corporation. Plus, more than 10 colleges and universities are located within 15 miles. Included on the National Registry of Historic Places, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel is one of the city's hidden gems. This charming Philadelphia hotel features sweeping 17-foot-high ceilings, rich décor and a beautiful glass-enclosed atrium. Hotel guests will delight in beautifully appointed guest rooms complete with cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. They will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, in addition to an afternoon tea and cookie service and a Wednesday night wine and cheese reception. Additional amenities include business services and meeting facilities. The friendly staff at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel is committed to providing a memorable stay at an affordable price. Make a reservation today and save!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,37LCD,HISPD,MICRFG,WORK,CHAROT,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,37LCD,HISPD,MICRFG,WORK,ERGCHR,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,SOFSLP,37LCD,HISPD,MICRFG,WORK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,37LCD,HISPD,WORK,ERGCHR,RADMP3,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,37LCD,HISPD,MICRFG,WORK,ERGCHR,FULL BREAKFAST
2 DOUBLE BEDS
2 DOUBLE BEDS,NSMK,32LCD,HISPD,RADMP3,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,HISPD,WORK,ERGCHR,RADMP3,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,42LCD,SOFSLP,JETTED,HISPD,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Cellular telephone rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.2 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.3 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.6 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.2 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.2 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 0.3 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.3 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 0.3 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.4 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 1 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 1.1 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 1.3 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 1.3 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 1.6 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1.6 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.6 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.9 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 2.2 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 2.3 mi
  • Penn Museum: 2.4 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 2.5 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 3.2 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 3.2 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.5 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.5 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.6 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 3.6 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.7 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,458.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,714.9 mi

Dining

Philadelphia Fish Company
0.10 mile(s) from Philadelphia Fish Company
City Tavern
0.10 mile(s) from City Tavern

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zootpro
Business
delco pa
Jun 7, 2010

nice stay, great location

went for a romantic night away. great location, very nice continental breakfeast with belgian waffles. 1 minor complaint tho, awful tv reception on a dinosaur tv. also the shower run turn off and on, on it's own

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

bars, nightlife

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Stroudsburg, PA
May 29, 2011

Bed and Breakfast in Center City, PA

Took my son to Philly for his birthday. The room was clean and well decorated; however, at $250.00 per night, I felt it was over-priced. The room was very small (reminded me of Bed and Breakfast). The location was good (historic district), but had to park in garage two blocks away for $18.00/per 24 hours and drag luggage down the street to hotel. The surfaces in the room were also a little dusty and the side table near the chair was wobbling whenever you tried to put something on it. In addition, the air conditioner was not working very well. There are no real amenities in the room. There was a bottle of water provided but you would have been charged $3.00 extra if you drank it. I brought my own drinks and got ice downstairs (much cheaper). TV only had about 20 channels, so there was very little to watch when we came in for the night. My son spent most of his time on the internet when we were in the room. (cable provided to plug into your laptop). The complimentary breakfast was scanty. You could "upgrade" if you wanted to, but we went out to breakfast at a restaurant instead. I might stay there again due to the convenient location. If you are traveling with children and need more amenities, this might not be the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your own drinks and get ice downstairs. Will save you a lot of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Camp Crew
Business
Arlington, Texas
Jul 15, 2014

Great experience for half the cost of other hotels in the area!

We LOVED staying at this little boutique hotel! Service was great! Furnishings and bedding were very nice. Bathrooms were updated and spotless. The hot breakfast was wonderful (you do NOT have to pay for this - everybody gets the same breakfast). We stayed on the 5th floor, away from the elevators (as suggested from other reviews). The hotel was very quiet even though we were on a very busy street. Constitution Square is only half a block down, across the street. You don't need a car as this hotel is so centrally located. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we would definitely use it again. I would not encourage someone in a wheelchair to use this hotel. It is a historic building. Although they have ramps that they will put out for you, there is a large stoop on the sidewalk and pedestrian traffic inhibits ramp use. If you have a problem with mobility, go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at The City Tavern which is really close by. Our forefathers all ate there and they still use some of the same recipes. They even serve Thomas Jefferson's ale (from his original recipe). All wait staff is dressed in period costume as well. It's not cheap but it's a real treat. Dress for patrons is casual.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DDM1
Business
New Jersey
Sep 1, 2014

Family getaway

Room was clean and staff was very nice. Although the building is older, the rooms were very modern

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BBrent
Business
MO
Sep 1, 2014

Perfect Location

Friendly staff, Great location to explore Historic Philadelphia. Parking 1 block away and only $16 a day. Breakfast was good. Internet was included with room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Oyster House on Samson street is best seafood in City

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WithlovefromMaryland
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 22, 2014

Great location, friendly staff.

Our experience at the Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel in Philadelphia exceeded our expectations. Check-in, parking and check-out were all smooth processes. Hotel staff was courteous and friendly. The requested crib for our infant was in the room when we checked in. Complimentary breakfast was convenient and just what we needed to start the day off right. This hotel is all about location. Close to the Liberty Bell and within walking district to many sought-after sights, the Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel was the perfect overnight getaway location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We booked and enjoyed a Spirits of '76 ghost tour, which meets nightly a few blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MickWMD
Business
Montclair, CA
Mar 18, 2010

Wonderful experience

Due to some airline problems I was very late in checking in. However, I was very pleased with the service staff in the middle of the night and the accomidations. The hotel is in a wonderful location with access to many items.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Concordia, KS
Sep 7, 2008

Perfect location.

My husband and I loved the Best Western Independence Hall hotel. It is perfectly located within walking distance of everything we wanted to see. It is also in the middle of Philly's old district with every kind of dining imaginable in every price range. The rooms were clean and comfortable and decorated according to the history of the city. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfast was very good with a variety of choices. The elevator broke down for a few hours when we were there, but it was fixed quickly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Philly for a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate at five restaurants while we were there and they were all good, but our favorite was Rotten Ralph's on Chestnut. Delicious Philly food; great atmosphere; friendly wait staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maiya
Business
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2010

excellent location and fantastic staff

I can not find anything that you need to improve. Everything including the breakfast, room(for the location it was the best compromise)and enthusiastic staff deserves the credit for worth living there. I have been to manay many countries and also travelled domestically soooooo many places, this will definetely compare to the world class hotel. Thanks for a wonderful experience of human touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close to all the attractions- Liberty Bell and Independence Hall etc...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John and Gail
Business
Dayton, OH
Aug 5, 2014

Old Style Philadelphia

We were very happy with this "boutique" hotel. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of much of the "old town" historical district. The staff was exceedingly helpful and polite. The parking was a pleasant surprise. You park your own car at a lot around the corner and pay just $16.00 per night, which is a real bargain for a major city downtown hotel. The room was small but very nice. Also, they had a complimentary breakfast, another nicety I'm not used to seeing in a major city downtown hotel. Overall this was an outstanding choice for our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are an art lover, do not miss the Barnes in Fairmont Park. It is the most spectacular collection of art we have ever seen. You can drive (a couple of miles I would think) or we took one of the "tour" buses and the Barnes was one of the stops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top