$161 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

3 stars
View map of 235 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maiya
Business
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2010

excellent location and fantastic staff

I can not find anything that you need to improve. Everything including the breakfast, room(for the location it was the best compromise)and enthusiastic staff deserves the credit for worth living there. I have been to manay many countries and also travelled domestically soooooo many places, this will definetely compare to the world class hotel. Thanks for a wonderful experience of human touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close to all the attractions- Liberty Bell and Independence Hall etc...

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Camp Crew
Business
Arlington, Texas
Jul 15, 2014

Great experience for half the cost of other hotels in the area!

We LOVED staying at this little boutique hotel! Service was great! Furnishings and bedding were very nice. Bathrooms were updated and spotless. The hot breakfast was wonderful (you do NOT have to pay for this - everybody gets the same breakfast). We stayed on the 5th floor, away from the elevators (as suggested from other reviews). The hotel was very quiet even though we were on a very busy street. Constitution Square is only half a block down, across the street. You don't need a car as this hotel is so centrally located. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and we would definitely use it again. I would not encourage someone in a wheelchair to use this hotel. It is a historic building. Although they have ramps that they will put out for you, there is a large stoop on the sidewalk and pedestrian traffic inhibits ramp use. If you have a problem with mobility, go somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at The City Tavern which is really close by. Our forefathers all ate there and they still use some of the same recipes. They even serve Thomas Jefferson's ale (from his original recipe). All wait staff is dressed in period costume as well. It's not cheap but it's a real treat. Dress for patrons is casual.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy mighty mouse
Business
ny,ny
Jan 2, 2013

Old City Philly stayover

Great little boutique hotel with lovely staff and perfect breakfast !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Serrano restaurant around the corner-great food!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Okie1
Business
Chicago
Feb 16, 2012

Not much there

I was not surprised by the type of room, but was annoyed that the shower did not work properly and the bathroom did not have any heat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Stroudsburg, PA
May 29, 2011

Bed and Breakfast in Center City, PA

Took my son to Philly for his birthday. The room was clean and well decorated; however, at $250.00 per night, I felt it was over-priced. The room was very small (reminded me of Bed and Breakfast). The location was good (historic district), but had to park in garage two blocks away for $18.00/per 24 hours and drag luggage down the street to hotel. The surfaces in the room were also a little dusty and the side table near the chair was wobbling whenever you tried to put something on it. In addition, the air conditioner was not working very well. There are no real amenities in the room. There was a bottle of water provided but you would have been charged $3.00 extra if you drank it. I brought my own drinks and got ice downstairs (much cheaper). TV only had about 20 channels, so there was very little to watch when we came in for the night. My son spent most of his time on the internet when we were in the room. (cable provided to plug into your laptop). The complimentary breakfast was scanty. You could "upgrade" if you wanted to, but we went out to breakfast at a restaurant instead. I might stay there again due to the convenient location. If you are traveling with children and need more amenities, this might not be the hotel for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your own drinks and get ice downstairs. Will save you a lot of money.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marathoner/Mountain Biker Man
Business
Brownsville, Texas
Nov 27, 2010

Best site for historical Philadelphia

Pleased with the complimentary breakfast...helpful disposition of staff...walking distance from historical locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take the Liberty shuttle to/from airport and save over 2/3 off when compared to taxi fair.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, PA
Oct 31, 2010

Beautiful historic hotel

Needed a hotel room for 2 nights to see a concert. The hotel was beautiful, historic and the service was great. I felt very welcomed and safe while I stayed there. I recently stayed at a Super 8 in New Jersey, and the room was a good size but it felt very damp inside the hotel room. This hotel room in Philadelphia was very small, but for 2 nights it was perfect. We could adjust the temperature in the room and the window with the dark curtains kept the light out of the room in the morning. I would recommend this room for tourists who are staying a short time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
maiya
Business
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2010

excellent location and fantastic staff

I can not find anything that you need to improve. Everything including the breakfast, room(for the location it was the best compromise)and enthusiastic staff deserves the credit for worth living there. I have been to manay many countries and also travelled domestically soooooo many places, this will definetely compare to the world class hotel. Thanks for a wonderful experience of human touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close to all the attractions- Liberty Bell and Independence Hall etc...

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zootpro
Business
delco pa
Jun 7, 2010

nice stay, great location

went for a romantic night away. great location, very nice continental breakfeast with belgian waffles. 1 minor complaint tho, awful tv reception on a dinosaur tv. also the shower run turn off and on, on it's own

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

bars, nightlife

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wileyman
Business
Richmond, Va
Apr 4, 2010

Great time was had by all, well by us.

Great location for tourist sites in Philly. Room was smaller than what you get with new hotels, but this was offset by the setting, charming 1800's building in the scenic, Colonial part of Philadelphia. Historic Colonial buildings all around. Great restaurants nearby. Worked out better than I had hoped. Best Western Breakfast and Tea in the lobby 4-6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
husband and wife on the town
Business
Brick N.J.
Mar 22, 2010

Great location for touring

Location, Easy walk to sites and restaurants. Good price for parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top