American Motor Inns

2 stars
View map of 4444 City Avenue, 4444 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
1.7
out of 5
14 reviews
Great for the "In and Out" Business trips!

Staff was very friendly. The room was overall very comfortable for short stays. I highly recommend... See full review

  • DentStudent
  • Oct 5, 2011
Adequate Alternate Location

The locations we usually use, which are either downtown or in Univeresity City, were all sold out... See full review

  • Golden Dragon
  • Nov 21, 2010
American Motor Inns offers comfortable, affordable hotel accommodations for travelers staying in the Philadelphia area. Our hotel offers a business center, free parking, wedding banquet services, as well as free wireless internet. We offer the most competitive rates in the City of Philadelphia guaranteed and offer discounted extended stay packages.Our employees work hard to ensure our guests enjoy their stay here by providing a friendly professional environment. We strive to provide a suitable alternative to being at home while you're away. We are open 24 hours a day for your convenience. We will go out of our way to make sure your are completely satisfied with your hotel stay. If you are looking for a hotel room conveniently located in the city that offers competitive rates then you have found the right hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed American Motor Inns also booked these hotels.

American Motor Inns Rooms

2 Double Beds Non Smoking
2 doubles,NS, cable TV, voice mail, wake up service, internet

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Please Touch Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 3.4 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 3.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 3.9 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 3.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 3.9 mi
  • The Palestra: 4 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 4.1 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 4.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 4.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 4.6 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.5 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 3.4 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 3.7 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 3.9 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 3.9 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 3.9 mi
  • The Palestra: 4 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 4 mi
  • Penn Museum: 4 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 4.1 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 4.3 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts: 4.6 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 4.6 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 4.7 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 4.7 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 4.8 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 5 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 5.3 mi
  • Christ Church: 5.4 mi
  • Liberty Bell Center: 5.4 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 5.4 mi
  • Independence Hall: 5.4 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 5.5 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 5.6 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 5.7 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 6.3 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 7.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 7.4 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 7.6 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 7.6 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 7.6 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,453.1 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meeting rooms are available for training sessions, seminars, ceremonies presentations, etc. Whatever your meeting needs may be, North American Motor Inns has the facilities and Services for you and your business. Our seven banquet and meeting rooms can host as few as 25, to as many as 500 guests. We offer a full line of food and beverage packages as well. Contact hotel directly for more information.

Dining

Olive Garden
Located offsite serving lunch and dinner
Chili's
Located offsite serving lunch and dinner
Boston Market
Located offsite serving lunch and dinner
Subway
Located offsite serving breakfast, lunch and dinner
Taco Bell
Located offsite serving lunch and dinner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for American Motor Inns

Overall score

1.7 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
1.5
Cleanliness:
1.9
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
1.9
Location:
2.6
Value:
2.3

29% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of American Motor Inns

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DentStudent
Business
Miami, FL
Oct 5, 2011

Great for the "In and Out" Business trips!

Staff was very friendly. The room was overall very comfortable for short stays. I highly recommend this hotel for those on fast business trips or those who are touring Philly and just need a place to crash. Also there is a subway, buffet, pizza place and a boston market, right next to the hotel. Free wireless internet too. The only downside is that the heat is centrally controlled. I stayed in early October and the room was a little bit cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a subway, buffet, pizza place and a boston market, right next to the hotel. No need for a cab, it's a 30 second walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Motor Inns

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Assessment
Business
Lancaster
Apr 6, 2014

Don't BookA Room Here

Upon arrival the elevator did not have buttons on the wall plate to push, we used our room key to push the floor number. The hallway smelled of cigarette smoke (we had to wash all our coats & clothes to remove the odor). The room was clean but no towels. We had to pick them up at the front desk and you only get 1 skinny worn out bath towel and face cloth. At night music from the band in the basement was loud and we were on the 4th floor. To top it off we did not feel safe. Summary-book at another location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Motor Inns

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kristy1984
Business
johnstown stayong in philly
Mar 10, 2014

suppose to be a good trip

This hotel was the worst ever. Get to the room, sink and toilet keep running. Food all over the walls. Dressers falling apart. The air did not work. Carpet and bed looked dirty. No towels in the room. There was also a roach in the bathroom. I then went tothe front desk and asked for another room she told me she could not. Asked for a refund and she said no. I asked her to call the manager and again would not. Then she was ignoring me. She would not even give me the managers or her name. We are calling the general manager again until we reach them. I have never been treated so bad in my life. I would recommend that the health department be called. We ended up not staying there and going to sue for the money. I didnt not spend that much money to be treated this way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Motor Inns

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Scubaredneck
Business
Michigan
Mar 1, 2014

Hardly qualifies as a hotel

This may qualify as the singularly worst hotel I've ever seen. The staff, while not rude, seemed rather surprised by rather ordinary requests like an iron and ironing board (which were provided and were adequate). The room was bare-bones at best: just a bed, a chair, a couple of end tables and a non-functioning TV. The bed had no proper fitted sheet, just a couple of flat sheets layer over the mattress. The shower was hardly a trickle. The bathroom lacked a toilet paper hanger, just bare rolls on the back of the toilet. The room lacked a trash can. The door was loose on its hinges, requiring upward pressure to close it. The elevator was barely functional and the common spaces run down, shabby and dirty. The two things the place had going for it was covered parking (the staff suggested I merely park by the curb; I discovered the parking on my own) and its proximity to the highway. In short, I would recommend avoiding this place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Motor Inns

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYCPhilly visitor
Business
NYC
Jun 11, 2013

not that good

neighbors were loud and walls are paper thin. The rooms are clean but old and run down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Motor Inns

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dark Knight WKC
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 31, 2013

Reputation Risk

From the beginning this was one of the worst travel experiences, I have ever had! We only stayed there, because we had to come to town unexpectedly to take my father to the hospital. The hotel was dirty in the entrance and the rooms were not much better. Drawers in the room had a sign that paraphrased stated: “For show only, drawers do not open”. There was a mouse that ran through the bathroom while I was in it. The other guests were making noise through the thin walls throughout our stay. The elevator had duck tap on the door and the buttons did not have covers, so you had to push your finger through the button to select your floor. You could feel the bed springs through the mattresses. The kicker was on the morning we were leaving, our car had been broken into and personal items were taken. When it was mentioned to the hotel desk attendant, his response was: “What do you want me to do?”…Horrible and this travel site should remove this establishment from any list as an option to protect its own reputation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Honey Grow was a gem across the street with its naturally grown local food and it clean ambiance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Motor Inns

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
leo chao
Business
philadelphia
Mar 26, 2013

soso,price is the value

place is good, however, room need renovate,the staff is ok,cleaner are nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Motor Inns

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Laroon
Business
New Jersey
Mar 12, 2013

Just a room

The hotel was very convenient to a womens basketball playoff, however I was very disappointed that the internet connection didn't work and when I woke up the next morning there were bug bites on my face and arms. Some of the staff were pleasant but others seem to have no clue. I guess the bites are the worst thing as they are still swollen 5 days later. You should take this hotel off your site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Motor Inns

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DentStudent
Business
Miami, FL
Oct 5, 2011

Great for the "In and Out" Business trips!

Staff was very friendly. The room was overall very comfortable for short stays. I highly recommend this hotel for those on fast business trips or those who are touring Philly and just need a place to crash. Also there is a subway, buffet, pizza place and a boston market, right next to the hotel. Free wireless internet too. The only downside is that the heat is centrally controlled. I stayed in early October and the room was a little bit cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a subway, buffet, pizza place and a boston market, right next to the hotel. No need for a cab, it's a 30 second walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Motor Inns

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milford, NJ
May 21, 2011

The bad and the Ugly

dirty carpets, stinking room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of American Motor Inns

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Asheville, NC
May 20, 2011

You Get What You Pay For

We only stayed for one night so we did not spend much time at the hotel. The service was good and the styling was unexpected, very jazzy. We never found used needles like a previous review stated and the parking was not bad at all. For what i payed for the hotel room and how close it was to everything not a bad place to stay if you are ever in Philadelphia and are feeling the hard economic times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top