$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Alexander Inn

2 stars
301 South 12th St At Spruce, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
90 reviews
Delightful Experience

Alexander Inn is physically very attractive, conveniently located, and with friendly and helpful... See full review

  • Mal Content
  • Apr 4, 2014
Elegance with modernism

When i arrived at Hotel Alexander I was immediately welcomed by the from desk clerk. This hotel has... See full review

  • angel luis
  • Feb 26, 2014
hotels that seem to have given thought to youe every need. Its located in downtown Philadelphia just off the entertainment and shopping areas. Its only minutes away from the Avenue of the Arts Pennsylvania Convention Center S Antique Row and the Historic Independence Hall area. A warm and friendly hotel where good taste and artwork abounds. Its rooms are designed to reflect the great ships of the 30s in the fabrics furnishing and decor. The amenities one expects are all there from large fluffy towels to hari dryers. Their television offerings are several complimentary movie channels plus sports and many other favorites. In addition there is a fitness center a complimentary guest e-mail computer center. A large breakfast buffet that is complimentary includes fresh beaked goods as well as yogurt cereals and more. With discounted nearby indoor parking very reasonable rates and a staff of friendly employees its become the favorite of many travellers.

Hotel Map

39.9464 -75.161
Nearby airports
Philadelphia Intl Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Alexander Inn Rooms

Deluxe
DLX 1 QUN CVIEW - A larger corner room with bay window 2 comfortable chairs and table great artwork and many amenities.
Deluxe
DLX 1 KNG CVIEW - A larger and very comfortable room with King size bed 2 chairs with small table adjacent to bay window great artwork designer furniture with shower tub in bath. Individual room air conditioning. ironing board and iron.
Deluxe
DLX 2 DBL CVIEW - A very large corner room lots of light excellent view of city 2 full size beds with 2 comfortable sitting chairs and table. Great artwork iron hairdryer modem phones and many other amenities
Deluxe
DLX 1DBL CVIEW - Attractive single or double occupancy room with large bay windows and comfortable sitting area. Great artwork and many room amenities. One Full size bed.
Deluxe
DLX 1TWN CVIEW - Attractive single occupancy designer room with large bay windows large closet comfortable sitting area.
Standard
STD 1 QUN CVIEW - Single or double occupancy. Attractive comfortable room with individual air conditioning great Artwork and many amenities.
Standard
Description not provided
Superior
SUP 1 DBL CVIEW-Large Deluxe Guest Room with 1 full and 1 twin bed accomodates up to 3 people. Sitting area has bay windows with a City View. Some room amenities include an alarm clock. Bathroom with a tub and a shower. Iron and a hairdryer. Non smoking.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Alexander Inn

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 90
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.8

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paddy105
Business
Newark , DE
Feb 27, 2014

Business Trip

Stayed at the Alexander Inn because of its location . Check-in was fast .Room was clean and functional but had everything I needed including an iron and ironing board. Computer access was good with 2 computers in the gym . Continental Breakfast was nice with cereal , yogurt , toast , pastries and yogurt.Coffee was good too. Would definitely use the Alexander Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
angel luis
Business
philadelphia, pa
Feb 26, 2014

Elegance with modernism

When i arrived at Hotel Alexander I was immediately welcomed by the from desk clerk. This hotel has a small front desk that expands into a beautiful bohemian feel breakfast and lunch area. The down stairs exercise /cyber room is small yet effective for the on go healthy person who also needs to get online without the hassle of having run back up stairs. My room was small, tidy, and very comfortable. With downtown philadelphia only around the corner there was no way one could not enjoy food, drinks and clubs. Definitely worth going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in the middle of gay philadelphia. Yet one would never know it from the many active businesses, gyms, health centers, restaurants and clubs that sit close and around this hotel. Very diverse and friendly.

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UNie
Business
New York
Jan 6, 2014

Really very pleasant experience!

Friendly staff, clean room, excellent breakfast, more than just the sweet donuts and coffee. Would come back any time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frugal ASCA Counselor
Business
ABQ, NM
Jul 6, 2013

4th in Philly

Great stay! A bit smaller than I'd expected but since I was at a conference all day, it worked out great. My room was within 6 blocks of the Convention Center, close to transportation, and inexpensive, good food. The complimentary breakfast offered was similar everyday but good; the covered parking nearby was less expensive than anywhere else around - no in and our privileges, however. Walking destination to several sites (if you like walking and have supportive shoes). Very friendly, helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MargoP
Business
Bethesda, MD
Feb 7, 2013

Surprisingly awesome!!

I was surprised to find this non-expensive hotel at first and didn't expect too much from it. And I was very delight that: 1. Breakfasts are included (and they are VERY decent) 2. The position of the hotel is very convenient (it's right in the middle of historic center, so everything is very close) 3. Free WI-FI. 4. Reception people are very nice, friendly and always ready to help. 5. The hotel is pretty small but very cozy! 6. My room was a little small, but that's fine with me, as soon as it was cleaned every day and new towels and accessories were changed I strongly recommend this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RFHirsch
Business
Maryland
Aug 23, 2012

Excellent location

This hotel is in an older building and the rooms are small compared to the newer chain hotels. However they are clean and have all the needed services, with an included continental breakfast. The location is very convenient to the major sights in Philadelphia. The #23 bus stops southbound right at the hotel and northbound 1 block away, while Broad Street is only two blocks away and Market Street five blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the bus and subway lines rather than a car.

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mancn
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 12, 2012

Convention Center Event

Enjoyable stay at convenient location. Nice breakfast, helpful staff, quaint rooms. Few small shortcomings such as no coffee at night either in lobby or room; limited sports on TV because of system in use. I definitely would stay there again if I return to Philadelphia.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crassy
Business
Providence
Apr 2, 2012

Great value!

Went to Philly for a conference, got a great value for the money! Friendly staff, great value, great location. The amenities are pretty good-there's a small gym downstairs, continental breakfast is ok but there's no sort of protein source other than boiled eggs. Overall very satisfied with my stay. This hotel is right in the gayborhood-a definite nightlife plus. Highly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lilya
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Dec 9, 2011

Easy smooth stay

My husband and I needed to be in Phili for 1 day. after careful search through reviews i made my choice to stay at Alexander Inn. our AAA membership finally worked out. The only concern is parking. Hotel doesnt have its own spot, however its partnered with parking garage 3 blocks away. no problem, but it was pouring rain when we got to the hotel and we soaked completely while running those 3 blocks. but room was cozy and comfortable. we are not needy people, so this place was good enough. i would definitely get there again if i ever come back to Phili.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OT Power
Business
McMinnville, OR
Apr 21, 2011

Great Location!

Staff were very friendly and helpful. I was in town for a conference and the conference center was just a short walk away with many great food options between the Inn and the conference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fergie's Pub just down the street had great food and an inviting atmosphere! A great complement to a great Inn.

Back to menu Return to top