$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Alexander Inn

2 stars
301 South 12th St At Spruce, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
69 reviews
Delightful Experience

Alexander Inn is physically very attractive, conveniently located, and with friendly and helpful... See full review

  • Mal Content
  • Apr 4, 2014
Elegance with modernism

When i arrived at Hotel Alexander I was immediately welcomed by the from desk clerk. This hotel has... See full review

  • angel luis
  • Feb 26, 2014
hotels that seem to have given thought to youe every need. Its located in downtown Philadelphia just off the entertainment and shopping areas. Its only minutes away from the Avenue of the Arts Pennsylvania Convention Center S Antique Row and the Historic Independence Hall area. A warm and friendly hotel where good taste and artwork abounds. Its rooms are designed to reflect the great ships of the 30s in the fabrics furnishing and decor. The amenities one expects are all there from large fluffy towels to hari dryers. Their television offerings are several complimentary movie channels plus sports and many other favorites. In addition there is a fitness center a complimentary guest e-mail computer center. A large breakfast buffet that is complimentary includes fresh beaked goods as well as yogurt cereals and more. With discounted nearby indoor parking very reasonable rates and a staff of friendly employees its become the favorite of many travellers.

Hotel Map

39.9464 -75.161
Nearby airports
Philadelphia Intl Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Alexander Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Alexander Inn Rooms

Deluxe
DLX 1 QUN CVIEW - A larger corner room with bay window 2 comfortable chairs and table great artwork and many amenities.
Deluxe
DLX 1 KNG CVIEW - A larger and very comfortable room with King size bed 2 chairs with small table adjacent to bay window great artwork designer furniture with shower tub in bath. Individual room air conditioning. ironing board and iron.
Deluxe
DLX 2 DBL CVIEW - A very large corner room lots of light excellent view of city 2 full size beds with 2 comfortable sitting chairs and table. Great artwork iron hairdryer modem phones and many other amenities
Deluxe
DLX 1DBL CVIEW - Attractive single or double occupancy room with large bay windows and comfortable sitting area. Great artwork and many room amenities. One Full size bed.
Deluxe
DLX 1TWN CVIEW - Attractive single occupancy designer room with large bay windows large closet comfortable sitting area.
Standard
STD 1 QUN CVIEW - Single or double occupancy. Attractive comfortable room with individual air conditioning great Artwork and many amenities.
Standard
Description not provided
Superior
SUP 1 DBL CVIEW-Large Deluxe Guest Room with 1 full and 1 twin bed accomodates up to 3 people. Sitting area has bay windows with a City View. Some room amenities include an alarm clock. Bathroom with a tub and a shower. Iron and a hairdryer. Non smoking.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 2.8 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.2 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.6 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (69)

Ratings and reviews for Alexander Inn

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
smslaw
alna maine
Feb 25, 2014

Nice, friendly, well located hotel in Philadelphia that is an outstanding value.

The Alexander Inn is a small, not at all fancy, hotel in the heart of the city. The continental breakfast is far better than most, with a nice variety of breads, bagels, fresh fruit, pastries, good coffee, etc. Room was small, but very clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Good wireless access. The hotel is an easy walk to lots of restaurants as well as the historic sites. I'd recommend it anyway, but for the price it really is a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a nice little wine bar about 30 feet from the front door.

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
angel luis
Business
philadelphia, pa
Feb 26, 2014

Elegance with modernism

When i arrived at Hotel Alexander I was immediately welcomed by the from desk clerk. This hotel has a small front desk that expands into a beautiful bohemian feel breakfast and lunch area. The down stairs exercise /cyber room is small yet effective for the on go healthy person who also needs to get online without the hassle of having run back up stairs. My room was small, tidy, and very comfortable. With downtown philadelphia only around the corner there was no way one could not enjoy food, drinks and clubs. Definitely worth going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is in the middle of gay philadelphia. Yet one would never know it from the many active businesses, gyms, health centers, restaurants and clubs that sit close and around this hotel. Very diverse and friendly.

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mal Content
Washington, DC
Apr 4, 2014

Delightful Experience

Alexander Inn is physically very attractive, conveniently located, and with friendly and helpful personnel. The complemenrtary breakfast and snacks add to the experience. The Inn has a special arrangement for parking at $15 per 24 hours at a parking garage a few blocks away. We thorougly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Mar 22, 2008

Perfect place to stay

Exceptionally helpful and gracious hotel staff. Quiet room, gorgeous view, excellent quality mattress and pillows, great (free) breakfast, centrally located within walking distance of many restaurants and attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Numerous unique restaurants

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Birmingham Dog Lovers
Birmingham, AL, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Great location, fine facility

This place is the best we've stayed in Philadelphia for convenience of location, amenities, and quality of space. We will certainly book it again when practical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Opa, a Greek place, and Knock are within a few blocks of the hotel. Both have delicious food at great prices. We also found the Devon Seafood Grill for lunch, a tremendous value for their soup and half sandwich combinations. This is on Rittenhouse Square and farther away but a short taxi ride if walking is out. By the way, taxis in Philadelphia are quite reasonable.

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lilya
Business
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Dec 9, 2011

Easy smooth stay

My husband and I needed to be in Phili for 1 day. after careful search through reviews i made my choice to stay at Alexander Inn. our AAA membership finally worked out. The only concern is parking. Hotel doesnt have its own spot, however its partnered with parking garage 3 blocks away. no problem, but it was pouring rain when we got to the hotel and we soaked completely while running those 3 blocks. but room was cozy and comfortable. we are not needy people, so this place was good enough. i would definitely get there again if i ever come back to Phili.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marathon travellers
North Vancouver, BC, Canada
May 1, 2012

Great location. Wonderful staff.

Location is perfect for walking to all the historic sights of Philadelphia. John and his staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and we appreciated having the snacks (fruit and pastries) available at all hours. Beautifully restored historic building in quiet residential neighbourhood. Overall a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travel for concerts
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 1, 2012

in Philly for a concert

Central location! Super staff! a GREAT place to stay in Philadelphia!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MargoP
Business
Bethesda, MD
Feb 7, 2013

Surprisingly awesome!!

I was surprised to find this non-expensive hotel at first and didn't expect too much from it. And I was very delight that: 1. Breakfasts are included (and they are VERY decent) 2. The position of the hotel is very convenient (it's right in the middle of historic center, so everything is very close) 3. Free WI-FI. 4. Reception people are very nice, friendly and always ready to help. 5. The hotel is pretty small but very cozy! 6. My room was a little small, but that's fine with me, as soon as it was cleaned every day and new towels and accessories were changed I strongly recommend this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julchen214
Brussels, Belgium
May 26, 2013

Great hotel in great location

We really enjoyed our stay there. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was big and modern. Breakfast is included and was quite nice as well with Bagels and cereal, in addition fruit and pastries were provided all day. The location is really good, we could walk everywhere. The street is very quiet, so no noise at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dmitri's on 23rd Street and Pine Street - fantastic place for seafood prepared mediterranean style. They have other locations as well. Thought it was really good value and very delicious.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search