$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

Alexander Inn

2 stars
301 South 12th St At Spruce, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
93 reviews
Delightful Experience

Alexander Inn is physically very attractive, conveniently located, and with friendly and helpful... See full review

  • Mal Content
  • Apr 4, 2014
Elegance with modernism

When i arrived at Hotel Alexander I was immediately welcomed by the from desk clerk. This hotel has... See full review

  • angel luis
  • Feb 26, 2014
hotels that seem to have given thought to youe every need. Its located in downtown Philadelphia just off the entertainment and shopping areas. Its only minutes away from the Avenue of the Arts Pennsylvania Convention Center S Antique Row and the Historic Independence Hall area. A warm and friendly hotel where good taste and artwork abounds. Its rooms are designed to reflect the great ships of the 30s in the fabrics furnishing and decor. The amenities one expects are all there from large fluffy towels to hari dryers. Their television offerings are several complimentary movie channels plus sports and many other favorites. In addition there is a fitness center a complimentary guest e-mail computer center. A large breakfast buffet that is complimentary includes fresh beaked goods as well as yogurt cereals and more. With discounted nearby indoor parking very reasonable rates and a staff of friendly employees its become the favorite of many travellers.

Alexander Inn Rooms

Deluxe
DLX 1 QUN CVIEW - A larger corner room with bay window 2 comfortable chairs and table great artwork and many amenities.
Deluxe
DLX 1 KNG CVIEW - A larger and very comfortable room with King size bed 2 chairs with small table adjacent to bay window great artwork designer furniture with shower tub in bath. Individual room air conditioning. ironing board and iron.
Deluxe
DLX 2 DBL CVIEW - A very large corner room lots of light excellent view of city 2 full size beds with 2 comfortable sitting chairs and table. Great artwork iron hairdryer modem phones and many other amenities
Deluxe
DLX 1DBL CVIEW - Attractive single or double occupancy room with large bay windows and comfortable sitting area. Great artwork and many room amenities. One Full size bed.
Deluxe
DLX 1TWN CVIEW - Attractive single occupancy designer room with large bay windows large closet comfortable sitting area.
Standard
STD 1 QUN CVIEW - Single or double occupancy. Attractive comfortable room with individual air conditioning great Artwork and many amenities.
Standard
Description not provided
Superior
SUP 1 DBL CVIEW-Large Deluxe Guest Room with 1 full and 1 twin bed accomodates up to 3 people. Sitting area has bay windows with a City View. Some room amenities include an alarm clock. Bathroom with a tub and a shower. Iron and a hairdryer. Non smoking.

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Concierge
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Alexander Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

39.9464 -75.161
Nearby airports
Philadelphia Intl Airport, (PHL), 8.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Walnut Street Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Rittenhouse Square: 0.5 mi
  • Masonic Temple: 0.5 mi
  • Independence Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Libery Bell Center: 0.6 mi
  • Pennsylvania Academly of the Fine Arts: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Jewish History: 0.7 mi
  • Independence National Historical Park: 0.7 mi
  • Rosenbach Museum and Library: 0.7 mi
  • Christ Church: 0.8 mi
  • National Constitution Center: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral Basilica of SS. Peter and Paul: 0.8 mi
  • Mutter Museum: 1 mi
  • Arden Theatre Company: 1 mi
  • The Franklin Institute: 1 mi
  • Fireman's Hall: 1.1 mi
  • The Barnes Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Rodin Museum: 1.3 mi
  • The Palestra: 1.5 mi
  • Eastern State Penitentiary: 1.6 mi
  • Penn Museum: 1.6 mi
  • University of Pennsylvania: 1.7 mi
  • Philadelphia Museum of Art: 1.7 mi
  • Liacouras Center: 2.3 mi
  • Philadelphia Zoo: 2.7 mi
  • Citizens Bank Park: 2.8 mi
  • Veterans Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Lincoln Financial Field: 3.2 mi
  • Wells Fargo Center: 3.2 mi
  • Please Touch Museum: 3.4 mi
  • Philadelphia Cruise Terminal: 4.4 mi
  • Morris Arboretum: 10.6 mi
  • Franklin Field: 2,457.3 mi
  • Hagan Arena: 3,715.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (93)

Ratings and reviews for Alexander Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
93 out of 93
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ReneeA
Business
Severna Park, MD
Jul 21, 2014

Fabulous until the mouse and the response

I stayed at the Alexander Inn for a teacher conference at the Marriott and convention center. I didn't want to share a room and my mother had stayed here and suggested this hotel. It is a very unique hotel and super cool - staff was great - room was small but perfect for me. LOVED the neighborhood too. The second night I woke up twice to an odd sound - I thought it was my water bottle popping - I had a water bottle and a granola bar unopened and a bag of cashews on the nightstand. The second time I heard the noise at 4 AM I realized it was something rattling the - the wrappers- I got the light on and there was the tail end of a mouse. I double checked the nightstand and there were mouse droppings too. I didn't call down to the desk - because what could they do? I put the food items in the ICE bucket and left the light on and watched TV until it was time to get up. I would have had to pack up if they could get me another room and then get ready for my meeting. I told the front desk in the morning - in private and their response was thank you for telling us we take this very seriously... that was it. I left the droppings on the nightstand so they knew I was legit. The third night I was there my family came to town so I got a bigger room with two double beds and more room. Also, very nice. I wasn't sure how to rate this hotel - it was great - is it clean? yes - until the mouse incident - which it is a city - and the response or no comps for 'my troubles" was baffling- Luckily I didn't totally freak out - my co-workers were surprised that I didn't call down immediately- I guess I am a camper as one pointed out and it does take a lot to freak me out- I would have liked some sort of something.... more than the one comment-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great wine and chees bar across the street and around the corner a great Cuban/Puerto Rican restaurant.

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olive66
Ramsey, New Jersey
Jul 18, 2014

Cozy, and the best staff!

Very inexpensive hotel room, although small, I really liked it, and the AC worked well, as well as the tv and everything else. The staff were super helpful with everything! They helped us with directions, and we were pretty much 1-2 miles away from everything, literally in the center of Philly, so it wasn't more than a 20-30 minute walk anywhere, or a 7-8 dollar taxi ride. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Toast, across the street for breakfast, although it looks expensive, the food is amazing and so fresh! (Get the avacado toast breakfast, so good!)

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ckharrison10
Muncie, IN
Jul 12, 2014

Wouldn't call it "boutique"

On their website they're self-described as a boutique hotel, which I would hesitate to agree with. The room I had was really quite small and there was nothing exceptional about the furnishings or amenities. The breakfast was pretty decent, and the location was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S.P. Traveler
Baltimore, MD
Jul 7, 2014

Good Overnight Stay

Stayed at the hotel for the Beyoncé concert in Philly. It was a very pleasant experience. Hotel was cleaner than a doubletree I had recently stayed in. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. They provided information on how to get to the venue and where to park and where to possibly get something good to eat. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will probably use it again if I'm in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelin D
Cleveland, OH
Jun 9, 2014

Close to historical sites

Hotel was clean, friendly staff. Only 6 blocks from Liberty Bell, City Hall, etc. Breakfast was so-so, nothing warm, just danish, cereals. Parking is bad; have to use a parking garage 2 blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dublo
Saint John NB
Apr 20, 2014

good stuff

a warm and friendly place to stay.The hotel was quiet and the staff were very helpful.We enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the public transportation.Metro and bus service is good.

Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Looking at museums
Rochester, NY
Apr 17, 2014

Great place to stay

Had a great stay here. Good location. Easy to walk anywhere in the city. Also had a nice breakfast. Would go back anytime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mal Content
Washington, DC
Apr 4, 2014

Delightful Experience

Alexander Inn is physically very attractive, conveniently located, and with friendly and helpful personnel. The complemenrtary breakfast and snacks add to the experience. The Inn has a special arrangement for parking at $15 per 24 hours at a parking garage a few blocks away. We thorougly enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dale D
DeWitt, MI
Mar 7, 2014

Not fancy, but a very comfortable evening

The Alexander is an older, even historic, hotel that is close enough to walk to many of the sites in Philadelphia. our room was nothing fancy, but very comfortable, clean, and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent with a good selection. All in all, a pleasant stay and very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Alexander Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paddy105
Business
Newark , DE
Feb 27, 2014

Business Trip

Stayed at the Alexander Inn because of its location . Check-in was fast .Room was clean and functional but had everything I needed including an iron and ironing board. Computer access was good with 2 computers in the gym . Continental Breakfast was nice with cereal , yogurt , toast , pastries and yogurt.Coffee was good too. Would definitely use the Alexander Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top