$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Dutch Motel Palmyra

1 star
500 E. Main St., Palmyra, PA 17078
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
29 reviews
Old Motel Nicely Updated

This is a bargain motel, but our room was newly rennovated. Large flat screen TV, comfortable bed,... See full review

  • CheapUncle
  • Apr 14, 2014
Family getaway

We paid $47 a night. It was clean and we had soap , shampoo and toilet paper provided. It had a... See full review

  • Syracuse family
  • Apr 14, 2014
Just minutes from Hershey Park and centrally located in the heart of Pennsylvania Amish Country and a quick 20-minute drive from downtown Harrisburg the Dutch Motel offers easy access to Gettysburg Battlefield, Strasburg Railroad, Boyd Big Tree Preserve, and numerous golf courses.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dutch Motel Palmyra also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Dutch Motel Palmyra Rooms

Family Room
This air-conditioned room comes furnished with (3) Full-size beds, a refrigerator and a cable television with HBO. Guests will have access to free local call and free wireless, high-speed Internet. Each room also comes with a small dining table with chairs and a private bathroom with a shower/tub combination. A coffee maker is also available to guests.
1 King Bed Nonsmoking
This air-conditioned room comes furnished with a refrigerator and a cable television with HBO. Guests will have access to free local call and free wireless, high-speed Internet. Each room also comes with a small dining table with chairs and a private bathroom with a shower/tub combination. A coffee maker is also available to guests.
2 Double Beds Nonsmoking
Nonsmoking. Free WiFi. Cable with HBO. Refrigerator.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
Activities
Outdoor pool
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Handicapped parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (29)

Ratings and reviews for Dutch Motel Palmyra

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 29
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dutch Motel Palmyra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Progers1016
Business
Brooklyn, ny
Jun 16, 2014

Bad night sleep

Beds were very uncomfortable.worst sleep ever. Room was clean staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dutch Motel Palmyra

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Syracuse family
Business
Warners my
Apr 14, 2014

Family getaway

We paid $47 a night. It was clean and we had soap , shampoo and toilet paper provided. It had a mini fridge . Donuts and coffee were provided in office. It was 9 min away from Hershey Park. And few min from places to eat . I would stay there again. It wasn't bad for price and we were in our room only to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

How long do you stay in your room?? Is it really worth to pay a lot of money for just a place to sleep?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dutch Motel Palmyra

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lax vacation
Business
Frederick, MD
Jul 16, 2012

Okay only

Old motel with basic needs served...bed, bathroom, A/C with a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hershey Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dutch Motel Palmyra

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dance Mom 22
Business
NJ
Jul 14, 2012

You Get What You Pay For

It was great for what we needed! Just needed a place to lay our heads between dance competitions. Very inexpensive hotel...rooms were dated (old-fashioned key to enter (no electronic keycards)...old decor, old fixures, but did have a fridge and microwave!! As old as it was it served its purpose. The pool was great...clean and warm! Only 3 miles to Hershey so that was a major plus! Offered muffins, donuts, cereal and tea & coffee in the morning. The staff was very pleasant! It was definately a "mom & pop" operation but I like that! I would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Use the back road to Hershey and avoid the main traffic line into the park!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dutch Motel Palmyra

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Road trip lover
Business
VT
Aug 14, 2011

Bed Bugs, Dirty Carpets, Hairs in Tub and much more

Yes, it is true. This place is very bad. It looks nice outside, but... My daughter and I were n our way back from FL. We stayed in this motel for one night. I checked the review of another website, and most of them praised this motel. We got there very late (3am). The "woman" charged me $15.00 more than she should and told me when I called earlier, but we were very tired. When we entered to the room, the window was open. it had a nasty musky/mold/cigarette odor(s) I used my cellphone to check tripadvisor's reviews. I got scared. I checked the bed and blankets for bed bugs. I couldn't find any, but I am not an expert. Next morning my daughter has 6 bugs bites in her legs and right foot. My daughter and I slept w our cloth on. I had a long jeans, and she had bermuda/short pants. I also found something like dry food stick to the carpet. Many long black hairs in the tub. I checked the towels b4 using them, and I am glad i didn't find any dry feces like another reviewer, but towels were very, very use. The "woman" is very sneaky. she is not polite, and as soon I saw her, I felt a bad vibe... Watch out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dutch Motel Palmyra

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hllywdgolf
Business
Charleston, WV
Aug 10, 2011

Very Disappointed

We booked this hotel because we needed something quick that wasn't very expensive. When we got into the room, we noticed that the ceiling above the bed looked like it was ready to collapse at any moment. The bedding looked old and rough. We actually used our own sheets and blankets. Overall, it was not a very good experience for my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are in the Hershey , PA area you must go to Hershey's Chocolate World. We went there and had a blast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dutch Motel Palmyra

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Aug 2, 2011

Never again

The advertising said "2 queen beds". When we got there we were told it was an error. We were given a room w/ 3 double beds. The sheets had small round holes in them. The bathroom was black w/ mildew. The bathtub & commode were in one space & the only sink was at the door, with the microwave was next to it. Towels were thread bear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dinner at the Hotel Hershey was outstanding.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dutch Motel Palmyra

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jul 29, 2011

Two day trip

We only stayed at the hotel to sleep and get ready to head back home. We went to Hershey Park for part of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A most do for any family but must stay more than one day. To much to do and see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dutch Motel Palmyra

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lewisburg, PA
Mar 15, 2011

OK for the price

Fairly clean, but freezing cold until we got the heat going. There was some kind of water leak near the refrigerator but we didn't say anything to the staff til we left because we were too tired to move rooms anyway. The water pressure was weak but there was hot water. You can't beat the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Friendly's nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dutch Motel Palmyra

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CARMELLASDAD
Business
Austintown, Ohio
Jul 30, 2010

"FANTASTIC FAMILY PLACE"

I am a 52yrs old family man married for 25yrs with 1 child a 7rs old daughter and of course my wife was with us. We made the reservation online and had no idea what we were getting into. We were looking at price due to the fact that I am disabled and live on limited income. Now seeing some of the reviews I was wondering but it looked good on google map. When we got there we were so surprised. We were greeted by a very personable young lady at the front desk that was extremely gracious and welcoming to her establishment. She was very kind towards my daughter which is always a plus to me and asked if we had a reservation. I stated that I had made it online and had called to confirm. She immediately knew who I was had the key out and directed us to our room. When we got to the room it was much more then I expected. It was very clean, nicely decorated with newer modern furniture, excellent wallpaper and lighting, satellite or cable T.V. (lots of channels)with remote, very cold air conditioning (and it was in the 90's the two days I was there), and very clean and well kept bathroom and shower area. Great place all around. But remember it is a small motel so it doesn't have a hairdryer in the room BIG DEAL I always bring my own. This single lady owns and operates this place herself and does a fantastic jobs. She is a fine example of a person that people should patronize and take the time to meet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hershey Park is just a few miles (about 3) away from this little motel but every bit worth the drive. With what this motel can save you in money and the comfort and piece of mind that you have just staying at a place as nice as this it will all pay off in the end. You will not go wrong. Great place and Great owner. "Proud small AMERICAN business woman." I know it was a pleasure to meet and talk to her and I will return to her business.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top