$57 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 12, 2014 Check-out: Sep 13, 2014

Red Roof Lancaster

3 stars
2307 Lincoln Highway East, 1/2 Mile West of SR 896 on US 30, Lancaster, PA 17602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
158 reviews
EXCELLENT -- Great Price, Clean, and Friendly

I highly recommend the Red Roof Lancaster as a place to stay while visiting the Lancaster area. The... See full review

  • Jerryonli
  • Jan 16, 2014
Rerirement Retreat to see "Noah"

The check in was perfect. The room was cleaned well, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was... See full review

  • Catwoman4
  • Aug 25, 2013
Budget-friendly hotel in the heart of Lancaster
A property that has been awarded the "Golden Shovel" award for outstanding renovation, landscaping and curb appeal, the Red Roof Lancaster offers guests an affordable base for visiting picturesque Pennsylvania Dutch country. Guests visiting nearby Franklin and Marshall College and Millersville University will find a value-conscious property and plenty of extras at the Red Roof Lancaster. Looking for fun? Dutch Wonderland theme park is less than a mile away.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary parking (trucks and buses welcome)
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and local calls
  • Pets stay free
  • Outdoor pool and patio bar (in season)
Rooms
The Red Roof Lancaster offers 95 rooms that are equipped with a cable television, AM/FM alarm clocks, complimentary local calls, a hair-dryer, an iron and an ironing board. Some rooms at the Red Roof Lancaster also have refrigerators, and in-room safes are also available (fee applies).
Features
The Red Roof Lancaster offers a complimentary continental breakfast and several chain restaurants are nearby. The outdoor deck and patio bar offer rest and refreshments in warmer months. For those looking to relax or exercise, there is an outdoor swimming pool.
Transportation
  • Lancaster Amtrak station (7.4 mi/11.8 km)
  • Lancaster Airport (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Philadelphia Airport (60.8 mi/97.3 km)
Attractions
  • Dutch Wonderland Amusement Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Discover Lancaster County History Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Amish Farm and House Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Anderson Pretzel Bakery (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Strasbourg Railroad (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Business
  • Complimentary in-room Wi-Fi
  • Meeting room with kitchen facility for groups of 50 people

Hotel Map

40.0265 -76.2133
Area served
Lancaster.
Nearby airports
Harrisburg International Airport.
Area description
Located 5 miles southeast of downtown Lancaster.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Lancaster also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Red Roof Lancaster Rooms

Traditional Two Double Beds
Room with two double beds includes free wireless internet access, free local phone calls, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and free expanded cable TV. Coffee maker. Micro/fridge unit. In-room safe.
Traditional One King bed
Room with one king bed includes free wireless internet access, free local phone calls, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and free expanded cable TV. Coffee Maker. Micro/Fridge unit. In-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Texas Roadhouse
Open daily forlunch and dinner. Lounge. Adjacent to Red Roof
Applebee's Restaurant
Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lounge. Adjacent to Red Roof.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Lancaster

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
F and M Mom
Lancaster,PA
May 6, 2014

Consumer beware

I would never recommend this hotel. We immediately smelled a moldy, musty,dirty odor upon entering the room. There was mold on the ceiling over the bed, the sofabed was so filthy with dust and pet hair that I wouldn't even lay my clean clothes on it. The "fitness center" turned out to be a room they had stripped of furniture and bathroom fixtures, and outside the lobby it appeared that a fire extinguisher had been ripped from its plastic casing on the wall. There is so much competition from other hotels in Lancaster, I was extremely disappointed that they wouldn't keep this place up to standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Outlet shopping is great. Dutch Wonderland for young families is fantastic.

Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
newlife
cromwell, ct
Oct 17, 2013

Don't expect comfort here!

This was one of the worst places we have ever stayed, crowded, cramped room which was supposed to be handicap accessible, could barely fit wheelchair between foot of bed and desk/tv stand. The most uncomfortable beds ever, thin, dingy looking sheets. Rooms desparately need to be cleaned. There were peanuts and a cigarette lighter under the bed in what was supposed to be a non-smoking room. Even though we had pre-paid for three nights, left after two, which was more than enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping mall close by.

Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
railroad lover
Virginia, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Drab and Dirty

If we would not have arrived at 1030pm, we would have left and found a real hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Railroad Lovers, Visit the Pennsylvania Railroad Museum in Strasburg, PA.

Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Elenita
Westchester, NY
Jun 16, 2009

A nightmare

The staff kept getting the wrong room - first it wasn't clean, tnen the door would not open. Very unfriendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dutch wonderland, buggy ride

Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
seward pa
Mar 14, 2010

bad bad bad

place was not clean there was hair in a telephone book also in the shower very nosie tv was old and out dated as well the tv was beeing cleaned by furniture cleaner then glass cleaner so it left lots of streeches all over it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Huntingdon, PA
Oct 4, 2009

Unpleasant weekend

The hotel room wasn't vacuumed very well, the bathroom shower curtains smelled and finally on our last night there we were awakened by the smoke alarm failing and going off with a very high shrill pitched sound which the desk clerk could not get turned off for aboutr 25 minutes. There was no fire or smoke in the room or building, just the alarm failing in the on mode. Also, there was only one set of towels in the room when we checked in and we requested that additional towels be brought to the room and when we returned late that night, none was brought to the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Loved RedRoof- Until this stay
Saratoga Springs, Ny
Aug 29, 2009

Will NEVER Stay at This Hotel AGAIN!

Our first of two nights we were on the third floor. Nice room. Great accomidations. Our second day we were sent word via the maid who was still cleaning our floor that we needed to talk to the front desk. Our dogs (which we TOLD THEM we had) were not allowed on the third floor and we would need to switch rooms. We accepted and moved all of our stuff down stairs. Our second night was spent in a second floor room that smelled like cat pee and no amount of deoterizing spray they used could/would cover up that kind of smell. Not only did it hold a foul odar, but it was significanly smaller then our first room. Our two children and two dogs now had to sleep in a smaller, smelly room- FOR THE EXACT SAME PRICE. We booked our two night stay on orbitz.com, so we felt we had been locked in and didn't have much of a choice or say so about our second nights accomidations. Upon arriving home, 4 days later, two charges appear on our credit card. One for $100 and one for $30. We weren't told about any extra charges and upon trying to inquire about it was told I will have to wait two to three days before the manager comes back before I can discuss it with them. Since when did the front desk staff NOT have the ability to correct a mistake? They were able to correct the mistake of putting us up in a nice room the first night by down grading us the second night but they can't fix the mistake of charging our card TWICE without authroization? We will NEVER stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

While this hotel is within walking distance of Dutch Wonderland, there are OTHER hotels sure to be MORE ACCOMIDATING then this hotel. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Apr 19, 2011

Think Twice, then think again!!

I selected this hotel based on good experiences in the past with Red Roof. However, that was NOT the case with this particular location. The first night I requested an additonal blanket because the one on the bed was paper thin. However, the staff's interpertation of a blanket was to provide me with 2 sheets. Next night I again requested a blanket and was provided a bedspread which just slid off the other bedspread onto the floor all night long. The only ice vending machine ws 2 floors below. The spot for the vending machine on our floor held two broken refridgerators and quite an accumlation of dust and dirt. Along the side of the hotel was a sight to behold with an assortment of broken equipment. Why it was not taken to the dump is beyond me. Just made the property look like the dump. Our commode seat broke, and it took them 2 days to repair a simple 5 minute job. Then it broke again because it had not been repaired correctly. Floor wasn't vacumed until we conmplained about it, dust was so think in the TV cabinet, we wrote our name. Several times we went to the "continental" breakfast only to find no fruit. While waiting to check out, 4 other couples left because the clerk at the counter could not register them correctly. Another customer came back 3 times attempting to get the door key to work. We spoke with the "manager" who did provide us with 2 free nights, but you can bet it won't be at the Red Roof Lancaster!! We weren't even provided an invoice when we checked out [...] Go figure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AsheJoe
Nashville, TN
Jun 1, 2009

Among The Worst Hotels

How could Orbitz give such a WORN OUT Hotel four stars ? Orbitz has definitely lost credibility with me. Newly Renovated ?? We had to demand a different room since the 70's era air conditioner wouldn't work. The second "non-smoking" room wreaked of cigarette smoke. The furniture in the final room we were offered was just as worn out, and filthy looking as the first two rooms. Staff was extremely hostile and unfriendly from the minute I came through the door to register for the first time. We left the Red Roof Inn in Lancaster disgusted and vowing to never stay at another Red Roof Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Jun 8, 2009

STAY AWAY

This hotel is in a great location right in the middle of everything. Thats about all that is good about it. Booked room thru Orbitz for 2 nights then arrived early and added a night in front . Desk clerk stated extra night would be $ 73.00 which was paid for with my Credit card. Checked my CC statement online found out Red Roof billed me three times once for $50 one for $60 and one for 193.00. Went to snotty desk clerk who stated the $50 & $60 were for " incidentals " which would be cleared when I check out. The $193 should have been the $73 room rate but was charged in error which they would try to correct. Stayed for 3 nights room was never serviced at all. Called first day to have housekeeper come and never did . Just went and got more towels each day. Went to front desk two times for change once with a $20 bill which they said they had no change for and the next day for change of a $1 bill. Guess what no change again. Do yourself a favor and skip this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search