$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Red Roof Lancaster

3 stars
2307 Lincoln Highway East, 1/2 Mile West of SR 896 on US 30, Lancaster, PA 17602
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
155 reviews
EXCELLENT -- Great Price, Clean, and Friendly

I highly recommend the Red Roof Lancaster as a place to stay while visiting the Lancaster area. The... See full review

  • Jerryonli
  • Jan 16, 2014
Rerirement Retreat to see "Noah"

The check in was perfect. The room was cleaned well, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was... See full review

  • Catwoman4
  • Aug 25, 2013
Budget-friendly hotel in the heart of Lancaster
A property that has been awarded the "Golden Shovel" award for outstanding renovation, landscaping and curb appeal, the Red Roof Lancaster offers guests an affordable base for visiting picturesque Pennsylvania Dutch country. Guests visiting nearby Franklin and Marshall College and Millersville University will find a value-conscious property and plenty of extras at the Red Roof Lancaster. Looking for fun? Dutch Wonderland theme park is less than a mile away.
Highlights
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Complimentary parking (trucks and buses welcome)
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and local calls
  • Pets stay free
  • Outdoor pool and patio bar (in season)
Rooms
The Red Roof Lancaster offers 95 rooms that are equipped with a cable television, AM/FM alarm clocks, complimentary local calls, a hair-dryer, an iron and an ironing board. Some rooms at the Red Roof Lancaster also have refrigerators, and in-room safes are also available (fee applies).
Features
The Red Roof Lancaster offers a complimentary continental breakfast and several chain restaurants are nearby. The outdoor deck and patio bar offer rest and refreshments in warmer months. For those looking to relax or exercise, there is an outdoor swimming pool.
Transportation
  • Lancaster Amtrak station (7.4 mi/11.8 km)
  • Lancaster Airport (7.8 mi/12.5 km)
  • Philadelphia Airport (60.8 mi/97.3 km)
Attractions
  • Dutch Wonderland Amusement Park (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Discover Lancaster County History Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Tanger Outlets (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Amish Farm and House Tour (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Anderson Pretzel Bakery (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Strasbourg Railroad (5.7 mi/9.1 km)
Business
  • Complimentary in-room Wi-Fi
  • Meeting room with kitchen facility for groups of 50 people

Hotel Map

40.0265 -76.2133
Area served
Lancaster.
Nearby airports
Harrisburg International Airport.
Area description
Located 5 miles southeast of downtown Lancaster.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Red Roof Lancaster also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Red Roof Lancaster Rooms

Traditional Two Double Beds
Room with two double beds includes free wireless internet access, free local phone calls, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and free expanded cable TV. Coffee maker. Micro/fridge unit. In-room safe.
Traditional One King bed
Room with one king bed includes free wireless internet access, free local phone calls, iron/ironing board, hair dryer and free expanded cable TV. Coffee Maker. Micro/Fridge unit. In-room safe.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Texas Roadhouse
Open daily forlunch and dinner. Lounge. Adjacent to Red Roof
Applebee's Restaurant
Open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Lounge. Adjacent to Red Roof.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (155)

Ratings and reviews for Red Roof Lancaster

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
155 out of 155
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luwez
Murrysville, PA, USA
Sep 16, 2011

A short shopping getaway.

The location of the hotel was great. The morning breakfast was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Dutch Apple Playhouse has a buffet dinner and a wonderful musical show. Great Entertainment.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blfd
Pocono, PA, USA
Sep 15, 2011

comfortable

Man at desk very very nice and made sure we were comfortable breakfast was very good hotel was close to everything peaceful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kevinsky
Lewes, DE
Sep 11, 2011

My first, "never again!"

The check in went fine thanks to the set up from Orbitz. I was put in a room on the third floor all the way in the back of the motel. As far from the elevator as I could be. (Really didn't bother me until the next morning). I was told on line that this motel was 9.9 miles from my destination the next morning. When I arrived I set up my GPS and found it was 18 miles away. So I set my alarm for 6 am hoping to eat breakfast, check out and leave by 6:45. That was a good plan but after I ate breakfast, which wasn't ready at 6 am as promised so I settled for what was ready, I went back to my room and found my key didn't work. So I went down to the lobby and no one was there. I loudly yelled hello! No one answered. I left and went to my room again and still no luck with the key. I went back down to the lobby again and still no one was at the desk. I yelled for help and finally someone showed up and asked if they could help me. I explained my problem and was given a "corrected" key. I was running out of time and I had to run up and down the steps instead of waiting for the elevator. This time the key, once again, didn't work. I ran back down to the desk and no one was there. I yelled for help again and the same person showed up saying that he was busy making eggs. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO HAVE HAD EGGS AT 6 AM AS PROMISED! I told him his "fix" was still not working. He finally gave me two keys. I ran up the steps and opened the door and packed, finished getting ready and left to check out only to find a note that said, "if you need help please dial 1455 on the house phone. I did, waited until someone came out and told them I would like to check out. He said, after checking my room number, that I didn't need to do anything because I had booked through Orbitz. I left angry and swearing I would never book at a Red Roof Inn again! The room smelled musty, the lighting was poor, the air conditioner was unbearably loud and the tolilet needed to be flushed at least twice to dispose of any waste. The amenities were sparse especially the soap and shampoo. It was unusable. I will not stay at a Red Roof Inn again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dynamic Patty
Business
Edison, NJ
Sep 2, 2011

Great Business Stay

Management & staff were all very ppleasant and professional. Check in and check out were seemless. As to the continental breakfast, coffee was on par or better than Starbucks and bagels and muffin very fresh(all I tried). Only minor drawback was A/C unit was very loud and I had to raise the volume of TV to accomodate, causing another customer to complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DW AGAIN NEXT YEAR MA
Valley Stream, NY, USA
Aug 26, 2011

Third Time's a Charm

We've gone to Dutch Wonderland for the last 3 years. This was the best place we've stayed. Last year, I brought home some uninvited visitors(bedbugs) from one of the motels nearby. This year, I was extremely diligent about finding a CLEAN, safe & comfortable place to stay with a pool for a reasonable price. This was it!. I don't remember his name, but the evening clerk (who's 8 yr old son is named Jaime Alexander) was a wonderfully funny and engaging young man. He made me belly laugh after a full day of driving 3 hrs from NY, 8 hrs at DW and 1 hr at Cici's. What a nice way to end the day. The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was filling and offered decent choices. The pool was warming the next morning , even though we were the first ones there. Unfortunately, we didn't stay in long because of the thunderstorm. Any workers we encountered were friendly and courteous. I will totally stay there again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

So close to Dutch Wonderland, you really could walk it but we had to keep our lunch coolers and extra towels in the car, so we drove.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
railroad lover
Virginia, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Drab and Dirty

If we would not have arrived at 1030pm, we would have left and found a real hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Railroad Lovers, Visit the Pennsylvania Railroad Museum in Strasburg, PA.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scutch
York, PA
Jul 31, 2011

Just what we were looking for!

We met [...]at the front desk and he was very helpful as was the rest of the staff. Breakfast was great and the hotel was a perfect jumping off place for Dutch Wonderland. We were amazed at what we got for the price. We'll be back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Dutch Wonderland less than a mile

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Monroe, CT
Jul 6, 2011

Disappointment

Stayed there last year and we were pleasantly surprised. This year was such a disappointment from the cleanliness in hallways to the watered down juice in the breakfast room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
maryland
May 15, 2011

red roof @ lancaster, pa

I was in Lancaster for a conference on pain management. Staff was friendly, room was ready. It was clean and neat. They have free coffee/hot chocolate in the lobby 24 hrs per day. They offer a free continental breakfast in the am. Last yr I stayed at the lancaster host hotel. My room at red roof was just as nice and 1/2 the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk to the rockvale outlets( about 3/4 of a mile) or the tanger outlets( 1/2 ) from this location. There are 4 restaurants next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Red Roof Lancaster

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Apr 19, 2011

Think Twice, then think again!!

I selected this hotel based on good experiences in the past with Red Roof. However, that was NOT the case with this particular location. The first night I requested an additonal blanket because the one on the bed was paper thin. However, the staff's interpertation of a blanket was to provide me with 2 sheets. Next night I again requested a blanket and was provided a bedspread which just slid off the other bedspread onto the floor all night long. The only ice vending machine ws 2 floors below. The spot for the vending machine on our floor held two broken refridgerators and quite an accumlation of dust and dirt. Along the side of the hotel was a sight to behold with an assortment of broken equipment. Why it was not taken to the dump is beyond me. Just made the property look like the dump. Our commode seat broke, and it took them 2 days to repair a simple 5 minute job. Then it broke again because it had not been repaired correctly. Floor wasn't vacumed until we conmplained about it, dust was so think in the TV cabinet, we wrote our name. Several times we went to the "continental" breakfast only to find no fruit. While waiting to check out, 4 other couples left because the clerk at the counter could not register them correctly. Another customer came back 3 times attempting to get the door key to work. We spoke with the "manager" who did provide us with 2 free nights, but you can bet it won't be at the Red Roof Lancaster!! We weren't even provided an invoice when we checked out [...] Go figure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search