$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

3 stars
25 South Queen Street, 25 SOUTH QUEEN STREET, Lancaster, PA 17603
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
35 reviews
Wonderful place to stay

Very friendly staff that went out of their way to make every thing " perfect " for our family... See full review

  • Doc Richie
  • Jun 7, 2014
College visitation!

Great place for Franklin and Marshall parents to stay! See full review

  • Barb and Den
  • Oct 1, 2013
Grand Dame of downtown Lancaster hotels
A true presence in historic downtown Lancaster, the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square offers convenience to business travelers and a sense of history and importance for visitors exploring the rich culture of the area. With a remodeled lobby, modern amenities, vast meeting and ballroom space, and a historic downtown location, the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square is the prime location for meetings and large social events in Lancaster County.
Highlights
  • Mandarin Rose Spa
  • Smoke-free environment
  • Heated indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Complimentary fitness center
Rooms

Each of the 297 rooms at the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square are comfortably outfitted with luxurious pillowtop beds and down comforters. Each room is equipped with two phones with voice mail, a cable television with free HBO and pay-per-view movies, a safe, a coffee-maker, an iron and ironing boards, and hair dryers. Concierge-level rooms at the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square offer complimentary continental breakfast, midday snacks, hors d'ouevres and soft drinks as well as slippers and evening turndown service.

Features
The Penn Square Grill and Rendezvous lounge is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily at the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square. Room service is available until midnight. Several locally owned restaurants are within walking distance. Exercise seekers will find a fitness center offering cardiovascular equipment and free weights.
Transportation
  • Lancaster Amtrak Station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Lancaster Airport (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Philadelphia Airport (61 mi/97.6 km)
Attractions
  • Central Market (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Tanger Outlet (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Amish Farm and House (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Rockvale Outlets (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Sight and Sound Theater (6.2 mi/9.9 km)
Business
  • Offers 72,000 square feet of meeting and ballroom space over 35 rooms can accommodate groups up to 4,500 people
  • Full-service business center
  • Wi-Fi in public areas
  • Rooms "wired for business" -- flat fee for unlimited local and long distance calling and Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.0371 -76.3055
Area served
Lancaster City
Nearby airports
Harrisburg International Airport, (MDT), 27.00, MI, E; Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 71.00, MI, W; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 90.00, MI, N; Lancaster Airport, (LNS), 6.00, MI, W;
Area description
River

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chef26
boulder co
Nov 24, 2012

should of booked elseware

no hot water. elevators are tough to use. got a note under my door saying they were taking 50% off my bill and never did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
thyben
NY
Aug 26, 2013

Over priced

Parking too far away and cost $15.00 per day First time I have ever had to pay for parking in a hotel. Very unhappy! will not be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointing Getaway
Langhorne, PA
Jul 9, 2012

Disappointing

The hotel itself is beautiful, as was the room - BUT it was expensive; the area around the hotel was less than desirable; the restaurant food was very disappointing and expensive; and there wasn't anything nearby to do! The Farmer's Market was a block away, but closed at 4 pm and our check-in time was 4 pm, so we didn't get there. The ride home was good (30 East) with the outlets and restaurants. We will definitely visit Lancaster again, but at a hotel more centrally located to the activities - like maybe the Steamboat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tanger and Rockvale Outlets are great and right on RT 30 East! I imagine they get crowded on weekends, wasn't too bad on a Friday.

Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Jun 8, 2010

Lancaster Marriot

The Marriot was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the band playing in the foyer on Friday night. The other guests were all in a good mood. The front desk staff were fine. However the waite staff at the restaurant seemed distracted and inattentive. They were not very good at their job and appeared to not want to be there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Jun 8, 2010

Lancaster Marriot

The Marriot was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the band playing in the foyer on Friday night. The other guests were all in a good mood. The front desk staff were fine. However the waite staff at the restaurant seemed distracted and inattentive. They were not very good at their job and appeared to not want to be there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 23, 2011

Fair Experience

My husband and I traveled to Lancaster for a quiet, relaxing weekend getaway. We booked a hotel room at the last minute and were very pleased with the amenities that the receptionist had disclosed to us. We were asked if we would like to add breakfast to our hotel stay for an additional $10 per day. The receptionist told us that this would be available to us in our hotel room. We did not find out this was incorrect until we had already been charged for room service. After asking the hotel staff we were informed that we would have to redeem this by dining in the hotel's restaurant. If we would have known this we would not have accepted the offer because we were not expecting to leave the hotel room early in the morning and dine publicly. Also, we were told that the hotel had free parking. During check-out we found out that this was incorrect. Parking is $16.00 per night. None of this information was disclosed to us during check-in as it should have been. While checking out I disclosed my concerns with the person at the front desk. She seemed unempathetic and did not wish to accomodate us until I told her that we planned to return in May and probably would not stay there upon our return. At that time she gave us a free day of parking. Also, it would have been nice if we were informed that most all attractions in the area are closed on Sunday, including the spa located inside the hotel. Overall our experience was fair. The best part of the hotel was the heated indoor pool and the comfortable bed, which by the way, we found a bottle of make-up within the sheets the second day of our stay which was completely disgusting. It is possible that as a last resort we will return to the marriott at penn square but most likely will shop around for another hotel when we return to Lancaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many attractions of all types but mostly all are closed on Sundays

Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 23, 2011

Fair Experience

My husband and I traveled to Lancaster for a quiet, relaxing weekend getaway. We booked a hotel room at the last minute and were very pleased with the amenities that the receptionist had disclosed to us. We were asked if we would like to add breakfast to our hotel stay for an additional $10 per day. The receptionist told us that this would be available to us in our hotel room. We did not find out this was incorrect until we had already been charged for room service. After asking the hotel staff we were informed that we would have to redeem this by dining in the hotel's restaurant. If we would have known this we would not have accepted the offer because we were not expecting to leave the hotel room early in the morning and dine publicly. Also, we were told that the hotel had free parking. During check-out we found out that this was incorrect. Parking is $16.00 per night. None of this information was disclosed to us during check-in as it should have been. While checking out I disclosed my concerns with the person at the front desk. She seemed unempathetic and did not wish to accomodate us until I told her that we planned to return in May and probably would not stay there upon our return. At that time she gave us a free day of parking. Also, it would have been nice if we were informed that most all attractions in the area are closed on Sunday, including the spa located inside the hotel. Overall our experience was fair. The best part of the hotel was the heated indoor pool and the comfortable bed, which by the way, we found a bottle of make-up within the sheets the second day of our stay which was completely disgusting. It is possible that as a last resort we will return to the marriott at penn square but most likely will shop around for another hotel when we return to Lancaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many attractions of all types but mostly all are closed on Sundays

Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
Nov 21, 2009

Wonderful location. Close to the action.

Across the street from the indoor farmer's market. Walking distance to magnificent shopping and eating. In hotel spa for a wonderful massage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carr's is a basement restaurant with Crush, a great wine bar above.

Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
Nov 21, 2009

Wonderful location. Close to the action.

Across the street from the indoor farmer's market. Walking distance to magnificent shopping and eating. In hotel spa for a wonderful massage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carr's is a basement restaurant with Crush, a great wine bar above.

Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DanceMomPA
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 27, 2013

Nice Hotel

This was our 3rd time at the Marriott at Penn Square. The staff was as friendly as always. We requested a rollaway bed on this trip, and my mom said it was the most comfortable rollaway she has ever slept on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great smoothie place across the street!

Back to menu Return to top