$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

3 stars
25 South Queen Street, 25 SOUTH QUEEN STREET, Lancaster, PA 17603
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
24 reviews
Wonderful place to stay

Very friendly staff that went out of their way to make every thing " perfect " for our family... See full review

  • Doc Richie
  • Jun 7, 2014
College visitation!

Great place for Franklin and Marshall parents to stay! See full review

  • Barb and Den
  • Oct 1, 2013
Grand Dame of downtown Lancaster hotels
A true presence in historic downtown Lancaster, the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square offers convenience to business travelers and a sense of history and importance for visitors exploring the rich culture of the area. With a remodeled lobby, modern amenities, vast meeting and ballroom space, and a historic downtown location, the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square is the prime location for meetings and large social events in Lancaster County.
Highlights
  • Mandarin Rose Spa
  • Smoke-free environment
  • Heated indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Complimentary fitness center
Rooms

Each of the 297 rooms at the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square are comfortably outfitted with luxurious pillowtop beds and down comforters. Each room is equipped with two phones with voice mail, a cable television with free HBO and pay-per-view movies, a safe, a coffee-maker, an iron and ironing boards, and hair dryers. Concierge-level rooms at the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square offer complimentary continental breakfast, midday snacks, hors d'ouevres and soft drinks as well as slippers and evening turndown service.

Features
The Penn Square Grill and Rendezvous lounge is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily at the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square. Room service is available until midnight. Several locally owned restaurants are within walking distance. Exercise seekers will find a fitness center offering cardiovascular equipment and free weights.
Transportation
  • Lancaster Amtrak Station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Lancaster Airport (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Philadelphia Airport (61 mi/97.6 km)
Attractions
  • Central Market (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Tanger Outlet (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Amish Farm and House (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Rockvale Outlets (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Sight and Sound Theater (6.2 mi/9.9 km)
Business
  • Offers 72,000 square feet of meeting and ballroom space over 35 rooms can accommodate groups up to 4,500 people
  • Full-service business center
  • Wi-Fi in public areas
  • Rooms "wired for business" -- flat fee for unlimited local and long distance calling and Internet access

Hotel Map

40.0371 -76.3055
Area served
Lancaster City
Nearby airports
Harrisburg International Airport, (MDT), 27.00, MI, E; Philadelphia International Airport, (PHL), 71.00, MI, W; Baltimore/Washington International Thurgood Marshall Airport, (BWI), 90.00, MI, N; Lancaster Airport, (LNS), 6.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Oct 18, 2009

Beautiful!

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and the staff is friendly and very helpful. The only downside was having to pay for parking at the full garage rate and lack of instructions at the garage for guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Just park your car in one of the overnight guest spaces and take your ticket to the check-in counter. The garage entrance is on Duke St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
May 8, 2010

Business Trip

Easy 15 minute drive to Rockvale and Tanger Outlets. Super friendly front desk staff! 1-3 easy walking blocks to many very good places to eat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take King Street (one way) all the way to outlets and Dutch Wonderland. A little trickier getting back to hotel with one way streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike Leslie
Business
Hyde Park, NY
Mar 23, 2014

AQS Convention

Stay was wonderful and staff was excellent! Very helpful from bringing in our luggage to restaurant recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elena Maria Dolez
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 29, 2014

Nice place but wrong timing

Hotel is in a beautiful location. The only downside for me was that I went to get a quiet getaway...and there was a rock music festival going on at the hotel, THAT night! Thankful for ear plugs. Hotel was nice and staff were friendly. Was disappointed that no breakfast was provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

shops in Lancaster

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger forever
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 15, 2012

Good hotel

TV service was out; though they were prompt in come for evaluation of the TV, they took long to replace the TV so we eventually cancelled the replacement. They offered to change us rooms but that was quite uncomfortable as we were all unpacked. They should have offered something different like breakfast or something as we did not have TV service at all during our stay. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lancaster Central Marker is very nice and right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
trekking woman
Business
Princeton NJ
Dec 18, 2012

Very convenient

Staff was extremely friendly and efficient. Room was large, bed comfortable and wonderful view from the 16th floor. Conveniently located right in the center of Lancaster, with lots of historical buildings nearby. Good area to walk around in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Oldest farmer's market in America right across the street - open Tuesday and Fridays

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DanceMomPA
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 27, 2013

Nice Hotel

This was our 3rd time at the Marriott at Penn Square. The staff was as friendly as always. We requested a rollaway bed on this trip, and my mom said it was the most comfortable rollaway she has ever slept on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great smoothie place across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA Beach, VA
Oct 4, 2009

Great Hotel-but not very family friendly

We enjoyed the hotel - good location and great service. Not very children friendly though - small restaurant not for families, but Excellent food!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh
Nov 21, 2009

Wonderful location. Close to the action.

Across the street from the indoor farmer's market. Walking distance to magnificent shopping and eating. In hotel spa for a wonderful massage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Carr's is a basement restaurant with Crush, a great wine bar above.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 23, 2011

Fair Experience

My husband and I traveled to Lancaster for a quiet, relaxing weekend getaway. We booked a hotel room at the last minute and were very pleased with the amenities that the receptionist had disclosed to us. We were asked if we would like to add breakfast to our hotel stay for an additional $10 per day. The receptionist told us that this would be available to us in our hotel room. We did not find out this was incorrect until we had already been charged for room service. After asking the hotel staff we were informed that we would have to redeem this by dining in the hotel's restaurant. If we would have known this we would not have accepted the offer because we were not expecting to leave the hotel room early in the morning and dine publicly. Also, we were told that the hotel had free parking. During check-out we found out that this was incorrect. Parking is $16.00 per night. None of this information was disclosed to us during check-in as it should have been. While checking out I disclosed my concerns with the person at the front desk. She seemed unempathetic and did not wish to accomodate us until I told her that we planned to return in May and probably would not stay there upon our return. At that time she gave us a free day of parking. Also, it would have been nice if we were informed that most all attractions in the area are closed on Sunday, including the spa located inside the hotel. Overall our experience was fair. The best part of the hotel was the heated indoor pool and the comfortable bed, which by the way, we found a bottle of make-up within the sheets the second day of our stay which was completely disgusting. It is possible that as a last resort we will return to the marriott at penn square but most likely will shop around for another hotel when we return to Lancaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many attractions of all types but mostly all are closed on Sundays

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top