$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

3 stars
25 South Queen Street, 25 SOUTH QUEEN STREET, Lancaster, PA 17603
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
24 reviews
Wonderful place to stay

Very friendly staff that went out of their way to make every thing " perfect " for our family... See full review

  • Doc Richie
  • Jun 7, 2014
College visitation!

Great place for Franklin and Marshall parents to stay! See full review

  • Barb and Den
  • Oct 1, 2013
Grand Dame of downtown Lancaster hotels
A true presence in historic downtown Lancaster, the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square offers convenience to business travelers and a sense of history and importance for visitors exploring the rich culture of the area. With a remodeled lobby, modern amenities, vast meeting and ballroom space, and a historic downtown location, the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square is the prime location for meetings and large social events in Lancaster County.
Highlights
  • Mandarin Rose Spa
  • Smoke-free environment
  • Heated indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Complimentary fitness center
Rooms

Each of the 297 rooms at the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square are comfortably outfitted with luxurious pillowtop beds and down comforters. Each room is equipped with two phones with voice mail, a cable television with free HBO and pay-per-view movies, a safe, a coffee-maker, an iron and ironing boards, and hair dryers. Concierge-level rooms at the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square offer complimentary continental breakfast, midday snacks, hors d'ouevres and soft drinks as well as slippers and evening turndown service.

Features
The Penn Square Grill and Rendezvous lounge is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily at the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square. Room service is available until midnight. Several locally owned restaurants are within walking distance. Exercise seekers will find a fitness center offering cardiovascular equipment and free weights.
Transportation
  • Lancaster Amtrak Station (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Lancaster Airport (7 mi/11.2 km)
  • Philadelphia Airport (61 mi/97.6 km)
Attractions
  • Central Market (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Tanger Outlet (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Amish Farm and House (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Rockvale Outlets (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Sight and Sound Theater (6.2 mi/9.9 km)
Business
  • Offers 72,000 square feet of meeting and ballroom space over 35 rooms can accommodate groups up to 4,500 people
  • Full-service business center
  • Wi-Fi in public areas
  • Rooms "wired for business" -- flat fee for unlimited local and long distance calling and Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DanceMomPA
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 27, 2013

Nice Hotel

This was our 3rd time at the Marriott at Penn Square. The staff was as friendly as always. We requested a rollaway bed on this trip, and my mom said it was the most comfortable rollaway she has ever slept on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a great smoothie place across the street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S0ni
Business
New Jersey, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Great weekend trip

Check in was nice and easy. We didnt have a problem with parking as others stated. We parked in the public garage in a spot reserved for the marriot and handed the ticket to the receptionist in which she stamped and for $16 gave us access to come in and out for 24 hours. The rooms were extremely clean and comfy! The hotel is in a great location we walked around and had coffee at the Prince Street cafe. Everything is also in a close driving range. The October blizzard messed up our plans but we made the best of it. Only minor issue was the price of movie rentals they are just about the same price as actually buying the DVD! And the fee for Wifi is a little pricey in 2011 it should just be free! But all in all, I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johns Mom
Business
Sterling Heights, Mi
May 6, 2012

Launch Music

We Came to Lancaster for the Launch Music!! The Hotel was Close to all The Action!! Wonderful Staff and Rooms!! Only Problem was Charge for WiFi in the room ($14.00 for 8hrs)!! Was Not Told it was Free in the Lobby!!! But will Stay at this Beautiful Hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Must See The Market across the street!! Wonderful Local Food!! Loved It!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
monkeypanky
Business
New Brunswick, NJ, USA
Mar 29, 2013

Heart of Lancaster

The hotel is beautiful inside and out. As my memory serves, the lobby entrance has a grand, sweeping feel to it. They took good care of us, too. The man at the front desk comped us free parking in their deck for the weekend just because he and I both had unique last names. I didn't even ask for it -- he just hooked me up. There were free whoopie pies (a Lancaster treat) in a basket at the desk. That was a nice touch. Finally, the price was right. We stayed in the hotel over the weekend leading up to New Years 2013. The room cost about $130 per night, which we thought was decent for holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great brew pub nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barb and Den
Business
Roanoke, Virginia
Oct 1, 2013

College visitation!

Great place for Franklin and Marshall parents to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Farmers Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doc Richie
Business
Pittsburgh,PA
Jun 7, 2014

Wonderful place to stay

Very friendly staff that went out of their way to make every thing " perfect " for our family wedding. We even had a few extra out of town guess that they found space for with all the business meeting being held that week . Downtown location close to old farmers market and many antique stores > Do yourself a favor and just walk around going north, east & west from from the front door many new places and sounds await you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the old style old farmers market just across the street from the hotel and then go " people watching " among all the side attractions there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tyson's Corner, VA
Oct 11, 2009

Great Hotel

The hotel was new and in the center of town. It was a great hotel and the service was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping was very nice however on Sunday all the stores and restaurants are closed - something to keep in mind when planning your trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chevy chase md
Oct 5, 2009

Great location and value

Very enjoyable stay, would recommend highly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to famous indoor market. Shopping , restuarants--everthing within walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Palmer,PA mom
Business
Easton, PA
Dec 19, 2010

Lancaster getaway

Went to the American Music Christmas show, show was great, stayed at the Marriot Hotel in Penns Grant, 15min drive from Show, but worth the drive, service was great, restaurant was accomodating, we had a large party of 17 and they were able to accomodate us. Overal great customer service..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Comin' home for Christmas...
Business
Chambersburg PA
Dec 29, 2010

Christmas at the Marriott in Lancaster

My husband and I are from Lancaster PA but have lived about 80 miles away for the past seven years. We come home every couple of months to visit family and friends, but seldom spend time in the downtown area. We travel often but decided to treat ourselves for Christmas and stay at the brand new Marriott in the center of town. The staff was very accomodating, the room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We ate at the restaurant and were very pleased with the service and the food. It is a well-appointed hotel with an immense lobby area and the Christmas decorations were beautiful and in good taste. The only downside I see concerns the TV in our room. It's large and very nice, but they need to have a printed channels card. There are so many channels (a good thing) that you can never remember them all and the way to find a channel you want was very aggravating. Except for that minor item, I would highly recommend this hotel to one and all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has a very nice dining room, but if you want a change, there are some good restaurants and bars within a two block area. When the Central Market is open (Tues., Fri. and Sat.) you have a whole new type of food...sandwiches, soups, coffees, pastries, etc. and it's directly across the street from the hotel. They are all local vendors, and I find it nostalgic just to walk through and take in all the sights and smells. You shouldn't miss this treat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corning, New York
Dec 7, 2009

worth every penny and great price!

This is a beautiful Hotel. The indoor pool was amazing and so was the fitness room. The staff were friendly and accomidating. Food in the restruant was wonderful. Could not have had a better location to see the the sights in Lancaster, Pa. Recommend it 100%.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked around downtown. Short drive to anything else we wanted to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top