$151 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

3 stars
View map of 25 South Queen Street, 25 SOUTH QUEEN STREET, Lancaster, PA 17603

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.7

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roger forever
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Oct 15, 2012

Good hotel

TV service was out; though they were prompt in come for evaluation of the TV, they took long to replace the TV so we eventually cancelled the replacement. They offered to change us rooms but that was quite uncomfortable as we were all unpacked. They should have offered something different like breakfast or something as we did not have TV service at all during our stay. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lancaster Central Marker is very nice and right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointing Getaway
Business
Langhorne, PA
Jul 9, 2012

Disappointing

The hotel itself is beautiful, as was the room - BUT it was expensive; the area around the hotel was less than desirable; the restaurant food was very disappointing and expensive; and there wasn't anything nearby to do! The Farmer's Market was a block away, but closed at 4 pm and our check-in time was 4 pm, so we didn't get there. The ride home was good (30 East) with the outlets and restaurants. We will definitely visit Lancaster again, but at a hotel more centrally located to the activities - like maybe the Steamboat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tanger and Rockvale Outlets are great and right on RT 30 East! I imagine they get crowded on weekends, wasn't too bad on a Friday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johns Mom
Business
Sterling Heights, Mi
May 6, 2012

Launch Music

We Came to Lancaster for the Launch Music!! The Hotel was Close to all The Action!! Wonderful Staff and Rooms!! Only Problem was Charge for WiFi in the room ($14.00 for 8hrs)!! Was Not Told it was Free in the Lobby!!! But will Stay at this Beautiful Hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Must See The Market across the street!! Wonderful Local Food!! Loved It!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S0ni
Business
New Jersey, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Great weekend trip

Check in was nice and easy. We didnt have a problem with parking as others stated. We parked in the public garage in a spot reserved for the marriot and handed the ticket to the receptionist in which she stamped and for $16 gave us access to come in and out for 24 hours. The rooms were extremely clean and comfy! The hotel is in a great location we walked around and had coffee at the Prince Street cafe. Everything is also in a close driving range. The October blizzard messed up our plans but we made the best of it. Only minor issue was the price of movie rentals they are just about the same price as actually buying the DVD! And the fee for Wifi is a little pricey in 2011 it should just be free! But all in all, I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 23, 2011

Fair Experience

My husband and I traveled to Lancaster for a quiet, relaxing weekend getaway. We booked a hotel room at the last minute and were very pleased with the amenities that the receptionist had disclosed to us. We were asked if we would like to add breakfast to our hotel stay for an additional $10 per day. The receptionist told us that this would be available to us in our hotel room. We did not find out this was incorrect until we had already been charged for room service. After asking the hotel staff we were informed that we would have to redeem this by dining in the hotel's restaurant. If we would have known this we would not have accepted the offer because we were not expecting to leave the hotel room early in the morning and dine publicly. Also, we were told that the hotel had free parking. During check-out we found out that this was incorrect. Parking is $16.00 per night. None of this information was disclosed to us during check-in as it should have been. While checking out I disclosed my concerns with the person at the front desk. She seemed unempathetic and did not wish to accomodate us until I told her that we planned to return in May and probably would not stay there upon our return. At that time she gave us a free day of parking. Also, it would have been nice if we were informed that most all attractions in the area are closed on Sunday, including the spa located inside the hotel. Overall our experience was fair. The best part of the hotel was the heated indoor pool and the comfortable bed, which by the way, we found a bottle of make-up within the sheets the second day of our stay which was completely disgusting. It is possible that as a last resort we will return to the marriott at penn square but most likely will shop around for another hotel when we return to Lancaster.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Many attractions of all types but mostly all are closed on Sundays

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Comin' home for Christmas...
Business
Chambersburg PA
Dec 29, 2010

Christmas at the Marriott in Lancaster

My husband and I are from Lancaster PA but have lived about 80 miles away for the past seven years. We come home every couple of months to visit family and friends, but seldom spend time in the downtown area. We travel often but decided to treat ourselves for Christmas and stay at the brand new Marriott in the center of town. The staff was very accomodating, the room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. We ate at the restaurant and were very pleased with the service and the food. It is a well-appointed hotel with an immense lobby area and the Christmas decorations were beautiful and in good taste. The only downside I see concerns the TV in our room. It's large and very nice, but they need to have a printed channels card. There are so many channels (a good thing) that you can never remember them all and the way to find a channel you want was very aggravating. Except for that minor item, I would highly recommend this hotel to one and all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has a very nice dining room, but if you want a change, there are some good restaurants and bars within a two block area. When the Central Market is open (Tues., Fri. and Sat.) you have a whole new type of food...sandwiches, soups, coffees, pastries, etc. and it's directly across the street from the hotel. They are all local vendors, and I find it nostalgic just to walk through and take in all the sights and smells. You shouldn't miss this treat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Palmer,PA mom
Business
Easton, PA
Dec 19, 2010

Lancaster getaway

Went to the American Music Christmas show, show was great, stayed at the Marriot Hotel in Penns Grant, 15min drive from Show, but worth the drive, service was great, restaurant was accomodating, we had a large party of 17 and they were able to accomodate us. Overal great customer service..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Jun 8, 2010

Lancaster Marriot

The Marriot was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the band playing in the foyer on Friday night. The other guests were all in a good mood. The front desk staff were fine. However the waite staff at the restaurant seemed distracted and inattentive. They were not very good at their job and appeared to not want to be there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
May 8, 2010

Business Trip

Easy 15 minute drive to Rockvale and Tanger Outlets. Super friendly front desk staff! 1-3 easy walking blocks to many very good places to eat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take King Street (one way) all the way to outlets and Dutch Wonderland. A little trickier getting back to hotel with one way streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corning, New York
Dec 7, 2009

worth every penny and great price!

This is a beautiful Hotel. The indoor pool was amazing and so was the fitness room. The staff were friendly and accomidating. Food in the restruant was wonderful. Could not have had a better location to see the the sights in Lancaster, Pa. Recommend it 100%.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked around downtown. Short drive to anything else we wanted to see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top