Hotel Brunswick

3 stars
151 N. Queen St., Lancaster, PA 17603
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
27 reviews
GREAT!

For the price of this room, I was expecting a lot less then what I got. The staff was so friendly.... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 11, 2008
GREAT!

For the price of this room, I was expecting a lot less then what I got. The staff was so friendly.... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 11, 2008
Vibrant and hip, Lancaster City boasts a flourishing arts community, fine and casual dining and unique shopping. The Hotel Brunswick is located at the very heart of this renaissance community! The corner of Queen and Chestnut Streets has been home to travelers since 1776 and is two blocks from the Fulton Opera House, Central Market, The Quilt Museum, The Lancaster County Convention Center and the Lancaster County Courthouse. Less than two miles from Route 30 and Route 283, travel is convenient to Lancaster County's many fine theatres, attractions, shopping venues and businesses. Effective May 1st 2011, A Credit Card is Required at Check In (Cash Payments Will Be Accepted at Check Out).

Hotel Brunswick Rooms

Executive Queen
Spacious Guest Room with two Queen beds, FREE High-speed Wireless Internet in each guest room, voice-mail, and a well lit work area. Each room has individual climate control units, a lounge area, coffee maker, a refrigerator, iron and ironing board . All rooms are non-smoking.
Guest Queen
Spacious Guest room with one Queen bed, FREE High-speed Wireless Internet in each guest room, voice-mail, and a well lit work area. Each room has individual climate control units, a lounge area, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. All rooms are non-smoking.
Comfort King
Spacious Guest room with one King bed, FREE High-speed Wireless Internet in each guest room, voice-mail, and a well lit work area. Each room has individual climate control units, a lounge area, coffee maker, iron and ironing board. All rooms are non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Brunswick also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.041 -76.3057
Area served
Lancaster, Amish Lands, Bird In Hand, Hershey, PA Dutch and York area.
Nearby airports
Lancaster is easily accessible by the PA turnpike and Routes 30, 283, 462, and 83. U.S. Airways, which services Lancaster Airport is located 15 minutes from the hotel and Harrisburg International Airport is within a 45 minute drive.
Area description
The Hotel Brunswick is conveniently located in the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, approximately one and a half hours from Philadelphia and Baltimore and two and a half hours from Washington, D.C. Within walking distance of the hotel are 25 restaurants, the famous Central Market, Fulton Opera House and numerous shops and art galleries.

Dining

Masala Indian Cuisine and Grill
He has cooked for heads of state...dignataries...and military leaders he has delighted taste of people far and wide... And now executive chef bindu is cooking for you... At masala grille in the hotel brunswick. Authentic indian and vegitarian cuisine to nurish your mind, body, and spirt. " Come. Enjoy. Allow me the pleasure of cooking for you".
Level Lounge
The on site bar, open Tue-Sat nights. Always a different event every night!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
"The Hotel Brunswick did it again!...." "What a great place to hold the Annual Meeting" The Hotel Brunswick features 12 meeting rooms and over 12,000 square feet of flexible function space. The largest meeting room can accommodate 400 people for a meeting and 300 for a banquet. Hotel also offers smaller breakout rooms which can neatly seat 12 attendees.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Brunswick

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.6

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Brunswick

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ZionsMom
DC
Oct 10, 2011

OK, for the price

I thought I was booking in Amish Country..boy was I wrong. The hotel was actually in downtown Lancaster. Had I known I was going to pay an additional $14 for parking, I would've just paid the extra to stay at a hotel closer. The hotel was older and needed some attention. Not sure what the deal was with the restaurant. A lot of construction going on in the area. The elevators needed cleaning and polishing, but the rooms were pretty nice. The bathroom looked recently done with granite and nice fixtures, but the spots on the carpets, took away from the overall appeal. Probably wouldn;t stay here again, but it defeinitely was not the worst place I've ever stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Brunswick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jake Meade
Virginia
Oct 3, 2011

Brunswick Hotel -- Not Recommended!!!

Where do I start! Upon entering the hotel there is definately an unpleasant odor. At the desk we were informed that we needed to park on the street (good luck with that) or use the city parking garage at $14 a day. We got into our room that evening and there was no soap to be found. Approaching the main desk, they could not locate any soap but promised to deliver some to the room within 15 minutes. Going back to the room (on the 6th floor), the elevator malfuncted and I was stuck in the elevator for several minutes - not so bad, just something else to go wrong! Only after calling 40 minutes later to inquire about the soap did the front desk remember that I needed SOAP! 15 minutes later they arrive with a tiny bar of soap - about 2 inches long. Wow! Now we can settle down for the evening, but wait, the bed comforter looks unclean. At this point we just folded the linen down and dealt with it. Next day - we get back at 11 p.m. and we are locked out of our room. Guess someone forgot to mention that we were staying 2 nights. I would never stay here again, and I would never recommend this hotel. The price wasn't cheap, but the hotel was!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jinny's Diner - awesome food, good size portions, and priced right!

Review of Hotel Brunswick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jake Meade
Virginia
Oct 3, 2011

Brunswick Hotel -- Not Recommended!!!

Where do I start! Upon entering the hotel there is definately an unpleasant odor. At the desk we were informed that we needed to park on the street (good luck with that) or use the city parking garage at $14 a day. We got into our room that evening and there was no soap to be found. Approaching the main desk, they could not locate any soap but promised to deliver some to the room within 15 minutes. Going back to the room (on the 6th floor), the elevator malfuncted and I was stuck in the elevator for several minutes - not so bad, just something else to go wrong! Only after calling 40 minutes later to inquire about the soap did the front desk remember that I needed SOAP! 15 minutes later they arrive with a tiny bar of soap - about 2 inches long. Wow! Now we can settle down for the evening, but wait, the bed comforter looks unclean. At this point we just folded the linen down and dealt with it. Next day - we get back at 11 p.m. and we are locked out of our room. Guess someone forgot to mention that we were staying 2 nights. I would never stay here again, and I would never recommend this hotel. The price wasn't cheap, but the hotel was!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Jinny's Diner - awesome food, good size portions, and priced right!

Review of Hotel Brunswick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mass
May 2, 2011

Hotel Brunswick Kick so much butts!

Hotel Brunswick is very laid back. The receptionist are great to work with and help you in anyways possible. The hotel is clean. Great discount if you're a part of any conference that takes place there. Parking is no trouble. The bar and bartenders are amazing and great food also. I wouldn't mind staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Brunswick

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mass
May 2, 2011

Hotel Brunswick Kick so much butts!

Hotel Brunswick is very laid back. The receptionist are great to work with and help you in anyways possible. The hotel is clean. Great discount if you're a part of any conference that takes place there. Parking is no trouble. The bar and bartenders are amazing and great food also. I wouldn't mind staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Brunswick

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
leahwrites
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 16, 2011

Families Should Find Another Hotel

The hotel is in a terrible location in downtown Lancaster, across from a construction site. A steel plate on the street outside goes cha-chunk all night long. A police cruiser ended up escorting someone in our group home, after warning that they should not be walking around Lancaster after dark. When the bars let out at 2 a.m., it sounds like a riot is going on outside. Parking in the adjacent garage costs extra if you're going in an out during the day, and be sure to lock your car and hide all valuables--someone's car was broken into during our stay. The hotel itself is currently being renovated but we were not in a renovated room. The bedding was decent but the furniture was old and lamps were missing lightbulbs. The heater/air conditioner worked spottily and either left the room freezing or too hot. Housekeeping is subpar, leaving beds unmade and taking away towels and leaving us with none. The "continental" breakfast was two loaves of bread, still in the plastic bag, a tub of peanut butter and some dry cereal. The toaster didn't even work, and the coffee was watery and gross. The three elevators didn't work all the time either. Those who want to be in Lancaster City should book at the Marriott a few blocks away in a much nicer location. If you're here for outlet shopping or to visit the Amish country, stay in one of the many chain hotels along Route 30 east of Lancaster City instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Head out to the outlets along Route 30, east of Lancaster City.

Review of Hotel Brunswick

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
leahwrites
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 16, 2011

Families Should Find Another Hotel

The hotel is in a terrible location in downtown Lancaster, across from a construction site. A steel plate on the street outside goes cha-chunk all night long. A police cruiser ended up escorting someone in our group home, after warning that they should not be walking around Lancaster after dark. When the bars let out at 2 a.m., it sounds like a riot is going on outside. Parking in the adjacent garage costs extra if you're going in an out during the day, and be sure to lock your car and hide all valuables--someone's car was broken into during our stay. The hotel itself is currently being renovated but we were not in a renovated room. The bedding was decent but the furniture was old and lamps were missing lightbulbs. The heater/air conditioner worked spottily and either left the room freezing or too hot. Housekeeping is subpar, leaving beds unmade and taking away towels and leaving us with none. The "continental" breakfast was two loaves of bread, still in the plastic bag, a tub of peanut butter and some dry cereal. The toaster didn't even work, and the coffee was watery and gross. The three elevators didn't work all the time either. Those who want to be in Lancaster City should book at the Marriott a few blocks away in a much nicer location. If you're here for outlet shopping or to visit the Amish country, stay in one of the many chain hotels along Route 30 east of Lancaster City instead.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Head out to the outlets along Route 30, east of Lancaster City.

Review of Hotel Brunswick

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, NY
Jul 6, 2009

Pictures are better than the real thing!

The Staff was nice, elevators did not work in the parking garage, was not informed that they stop working certain hours. It was in a good location close to everything, the rooms were nice and clean, the pool needs an update, said they had a fitness room did not see it. The free breakfast was basic cereal, muffins, toast, fruit, and beverages could be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Brunswick

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, NY
Jul 6, 2009

Pictures are better than the real thing!

The Staff was nice, elevators did not work in the parking garage, was not informed that they stop working certain hours. It was in a good location close to everything, the rooms were nice and clean, the pool needs an update, said they had a fitness room did not see it. The free breakfast was basic cereal, muffins, toast, fruit, and beverages could be better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Brunswick

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
White Lake
Oct 17, 2008

not worth it

The girl at check-in was very helpful. The room did not have wireless internet or it was not working. I could have a better breakfast in kitchen for homeless...it was terrible. At check-out no one ask how was my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top