$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

3 stars
View map of 610 Walton Avenue, Hummelstown, PA 17036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
30 reviews
Business Christmas Party

Beautiful interior. Pleasant and friendly staff. Excellent attached Irish Pub, food there was... See full review

  • John M.
  • Jan 18, 2015
GIRLS NIGHT

The hotel was very clean and the room comfortable. However the description stated that the hotel... See full review

  • Ms.Chris
  • Dec 30, 2014
The Sweetest Place on Earth is near Our Hershey Hotel The Holiday Inn Express® Hershey (Harrisburg Area) hotel is located in Hummelstown, a residential borough east of Harrisburg, PA. The hotel's Hershey area location lets travelers experience the best of central Pennsylvania from a convenient address. Families love being minutes from Hersheypark, a mecca of fun with a full water park, thrilling rides, award-winning shows and even a zoo. Chocoholics can't pass up visiting Hershey's Chocolate World. After the rides and sweets, head to the Outlets at Hershey for world-class shopping and nearby Giant Center for Hershey Bears hockey. The hotel is within walking distance to many family restaurants and a short drive to downtown Harrisburg and area casinos, as well as Gettysburg. Guests conducting business in nearby Harrisburg, PA appreciate the hotel's convenient amenities, including free Wi-Fi and a business center with printer and copy services. The Hershey Company and Milton Hershey School are near us, as well as Penn State Hershey Medical Center and College of Medicine. No matter your reason for visiting the Harrisburg/Hershey area, start your day at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring waffles, eggs, omelets and more. Relax in the indoor, heated pool and Jacuzzi or work up a sweat in the 24-hour Fitness Center. For comfort, convenience and outstanding customer service choose this Holiday Inn Express® Hershey hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA) also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deanina
Business
Norristown, PA
Jul 21, 2012

Undisclosed Information

Our overall stay was just okay. To stay there for two nights was fine, but we would have preferred more luxurious hotel accomodations for a longer stay. When we walked in the first thing we noticed was a stale odor (like they used to allow smoking). The outside entrance nor lobby were very inviting and the man at the front desk did not look very professional. He was nice, but his sleeves were unbuttoned and he looked like he was just hanging out behind the desk. When we got into our room the first thing we did was clean all surfaces with disinfecting wipes (we would do that no matter where we stayed), but here the refrigerator needed to be wiped out. Even the rubber molding around the refrigerator door NEEDED to be cleaned. The entire room was dusty as if it hadn't been used in a while. The ice machine was leaking and the carpet in front of it was soaked. I guess they thought the towel at the base of the machine was going to do the trick. They were wrong! The pool was very small and the used towel bin had towels piled so high they were beginning to become part of the wall. We were surprised by the freight train that passed the hotel several times throughout the day. PROS: nice location, just minutes from Hershey attractions and tons of eateries; friendly staff; economical. CONS: odor throughout hotel; FREIGHT TRAIN; lack of cleanliness throughout hotel; Bottom line: If you want a cheap, EXPRESS (quick) getaway this is your spot. If you want to feel completely comfortable you should stear clear of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of fastfood eateries and restaurants a short drive away (like 30 seconds to 3 minutes from the hotel). However, if you want to order in go for Palermo! They had quick delivery and everything we ordered was GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
StevenSteven
Business
toms river
Aug 27, 2012

Ok hotel

Hotel did not smell right. Had a moldy odoor. Breakfast was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 12, 2007

Close to Hershey Park

The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg was clean and close to Hershey Park. The maid service was terrible, they left us without towels one dat and soap the next. We had to change rooms because the a/c in our first room did not work. The front desk was very helpful and the continental breakfast was pretty good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 21, 2007

Totally Disappointed for the Money

The Holiday Inn Express (Hershey) was not at all up to my expectations... First of all, the room I was given seemed to be quite dated, dark, and dingy. I have stayed at luxury hotels at popular beaches that offered more for the buck... The bathroom needs to be totally renovated with updated lighting, tubs that drain in seconds not several minutes and the odor was just as unpleasant... The pool was quite small. On top of that it rained so guests were quite limited with any additional actvities for such a small location.... My family and I checked out a day early and lost out on money but I would rather be home and comfy than waiting for maid service that did not even have our room maid up by 3:40 p.m. when we had left at 9:00 a.m. that morning.... Extremely disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a magnificent and historical theme park less than a mile away...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Charlotte Denny
Business
Charlotte
Dec 31, 2014

Weekend stay

Exterior area was disappointing. Several dead bushes needed pulled, leaves in planting beds needed raked. After killing three flying beetles in our room. we settled in. The room was very tight, including an extra small vanity. Three dead insects in shade over lights outside our door. Shade over vanity lights was cracked in two places.tile by bath tub was cracked. Surprised these items pass HIE inspections. Front desk staff was friendly. Very close to Hersheypark and many restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Tanger Outlets

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jrod1611
Business
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Aug 3, 2012

Nothin Special

When we got out of Hershey Park, we did not have a reservation anywhere, so I walked in to find a room. The front desk agent seemed almost annoyed and put out that I was asking him the going rate on a room. I understand that it's late and you may have had a bad day but hospitality is your business, so SHOW IT! After we got settled we asked for a late check out and it was granted. But were suprised when housekeeping came knocking at 9:30 to clean the room. We got up to the room with no issues or problems. The room was clean. The only thing is that my family adn I wished breakfast ran a little later than the 9:30 cutoff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeanfred
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Nov 23, 2009

Family get away

The family was visiting Hershey Park so the hotel was convenient to the park and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There was a variety of restuarants and shopping outlets to visit all was withing a short drive > 5 miles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuluWoodstown
Business
Woodstown, NJ 08098, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Great hotel!! Would definitely go back!!

My family of 3 (Mom, Dad and 6 year old) stayed on the 2nd floor of this well-kept Holiday Inn Express. The staff was very nice, check-in was super fast, and the room (2 queens) was clean and comfortable. Some people may complain about the proximity of the freight train; however, our daughter found it an exciting part of the trip when we were in the room. The addition of a nice sized refrigerator, microwave and coffee-maker (not that you need the coffee-maker since you can get coffee 24 hours a day downstairs...) were wonderful. Internet access was a breeze and worked fine. I gave room comfort 4 stars instead of 5 because of the laundry room noise that I heard at 4:00am. I am a light sleeper - I was the only one bothered by the noise.... probably not noticeable by most people. But still, I had to take that into consideration for those of us who are light sleepers. Breakfast was very nice -- my daughter enjoyed the pancake machine and we enjoyed the variety of hot and cold food choices. The Holiday Inn Express is 2 minutes away from Hershey Park --- sooooo convenient!!! Not to mention, it is also right by (1 minute away) a few restaurants including Applebee's, Panera Bread Company, etc. The cute town of Hummelstown and Indian Echo caverns are right down the road (5 minutes).... We love Toys on the Square --- what a great toy store! Thank you Holiday Inn Express for making our stay an enjoyable one!! We will suggest this hotel to all of our friends to plan to visit Hershey!! .... and we will be back next year!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

For a really neat toy store with toys in all price ranges, check out Toys on the Square in Hummelstown. They also have a pottery area in the back where kids (and adults) can pick a piece of pottery, paint it (for a fee) and then have it fired. We love it there!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied chocolate eater
Business
Providence, RI, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Great value

We stayed here in March and it was a great value. I think our hotel room was only $100. The rooms were comfortable and quiet, well-kept. We enjoyed the pool (very warm!). It was in a great location to go to Hershey Park (although it was closed for the season while we were there). The breakfast is satisfactory given how much you are paying for the room (includes eggs, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, various pastries, cereal, etc). Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
helennm
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 19, 2012

great stopover spot

Very clean rooms, very pleasant and helpful staff. We were a group of 11 and were put in rooms beside one another which seems obvious but seldom happens without asking. There is a train track nearby but there were only a couple of trains in the evening and disturbance was minimal. Practically round the corner from Hershey Park (where we were headed) and loads of food choices across the road. The fridge and microwave were useful. The pool is a "playing" pool, too small and warm to swim but the kids (12-18) enjoyed it and the hot tub was a nice relaxing touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Papa John's across the street is great pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top