$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

3 stars
View map of 610 Walton Avenue, Hummelstown, PA 17036

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
30 reviews
Business Christmas Party

Beautiful interior. Pleasant and friendly staff. Excellent attached Irish Pub, food there was... See full review

  • John M.
  • Jan 18, 2015
GIRLS NIGHT

The hotel was very clean and the room comfortable. However the description stated that the hotel... See full review

  • Ms.Chris
  • Dec 30, 2014
The Sweetest Place on Earth is near Our Hershey Hotel The Holiday Inn Express® Hershey (Harrisburg Area) hotel is located in Hummelstown, a residential borough east of Harrisburg, PA. The hotel's Hershey area location lets travelers experience the best of central Pennsylvania from a convenient address. Families love being minutes from Hersheypark, a mecca of fun with a full water park, thrilling rides, award-winning shows and even a zoo. Chocoholics can't pass up visiting Hershey's Chocolate World. After the rides and sweets, head to the Outlets at Hershey for world-class shopping and nearby Giant Center for Hershey Bears hockey. The hotel is within walking distance to many family restaurants and a short drive to downtown Harrisburg and area casinos, as well as Gettysburg. Guests conducting business in nearby Harrisburg, PA appreciate the hotel's convenient amenities, including free Wi-Fi and a business center with printer and copy services. The Hershey Company and Milton Hershey School are near us, as well as Penn State Hershey Medical Center and College of Medicine. No matter your reason for visiting the Harrisburg/Hershey area, start your day at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring waffles, eggs, omelets and more. Relax in the indoor, heated pool and Jacuzzi or work up a sweat in the 24-hour Fitness Center. For comfort, convenience and outstanding customer service choose this Holiday Inn Express® Hershey hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA) also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (30)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 30
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deanina
Business
Norristown, PA
Jul 21, 2012

Undisclosed Information

Our overall stay was just okay. To stay there for two nights was fine, but we would have preferred more luxurious hotel accomodations for a longer stay. When we walked in the first thing we noticed was a stale odor (like they used to allow smoking). The outside entrance nor lobby were very inviting and the man at the front desk did not look very professional. He was nice, but his sleeves were unbuttoned and he looked like he was just hanging out behind the desk. When we got into our room the first thing we did was clean all surfaces with disinfecting wipes (we would do that no matter where we stayed), but here the refrigerator needed to be wiped out. Even the rubber molding around the refrigerator door NEEDED to be cleaned. The entire room was dusty as if it hadn't been used in a while. The ice machine was leaking and the carpet in front of it was soaked. I guess they thought the towel at the base of the machine was going to do the trick. They were wrong! The pool was very small and the used towel bin had towels piled so high they were beginning to become part of the wall. We were surprised by the freight train that passed the hotel several times throughout the day. PROS: nice location, just minutes from Hershey attractions and tons of eateries; friendly staff; economical. CONS: odor throughout hotel; FREIGHT TRAIN; lack of cleanliness throughout hotel; Bottom line: If you want a cheap, EXPRESS (quick) getaway this is your spot. If you want to feel completely comfortable you should stear clear of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of fastfood eateries and restaurants a short drive away (like 30 seconds to 3 minutes from the hotel). However, if you want to order in go for Palermo! They had quick delivery and everything we ordered was GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
helennm
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 19, 2012

great stopover spot

Very clean rooms, very pleasant and helpful staff. We were a group of 11 and were put in rooms beside one another which seems obvious but seldom happens without asking. There is a train track nearby but there were only a couple of trains in the evening and disturbance was minimal. Practically round the corner from Hershey Park (where we were headed) and loads of food choices across the road. The fridge and microwave were useful. The pool is a "playing" pool, too small and warm to swim but the kids (12-18) enjoyed it and the hot tub was a nice relaxing touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Papa John's across the street is great pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied chocolate eater
Business
Providence, RI, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Great value

We stayed here in March and it was a great value. I think our hotel room was only $100. The rooms were comfortable and quiet, well-kept. We enjoyed the pool (very warm!). It was in a great location to go to Hershey Park (although it was closed for the season while we were there). The breakfast is satisfactory given how much you are paying for the room (includes eggs, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, various pastries, cereal, etc). Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuluWoodstown
Business
Woodstown, NJ 08098, USA
Dec 5, 2011

Great hotel!! Would definitely go back!!

My family of 3 (Mom, Dad and 6 year old) stayed on the 2nd floor of this well-kept Holiday Inn Express. The staff was very nice, check-in was super fast, and the room (2 queens) was clean and comfortable. Some people may complain about the proximity of the freight train; however, our daughter found it an exciting part of the trip when we were in the room. The addition of a nice sized refrigerator, microwave and coffee-maker (not that you need the coffee-maker since you can get coffee 24 hours a day downstairs...) were wonderful. Internet access was a breeze and worked fine. I gave room comfort 4 stars instead of 5 because of the laundry room noise that I heard at 4:00am. I am a light sleeper - I was the only one bothered by the noise.... probably not noticeable by most people. But still, I had to take that into consideration for those of us who are light sleepers. Breakfast was very nice -- my daughter enjoyed the pancake machine and we enjoyed the variety of hot and cold food choices. The Holiday Inn Express is 2 minutes away from Hershey Park --- sooooo convenient!!! Not to mention, it is also right by (1 minute away) a few restaurants including Applebee's, Panera Bread Company, etc. The cute town of Hummelstown and Indian Echo caverns are right down the road (5 minutes).... We love Toys on the Square --- what a great toy store! Thank you Holiday Inn Express for making our stay an enjoyable one!! We will suggest this hotel to all of our friends to plan to visit Hershey!! .... and we will be back next year!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

For a really neat toy store with toys in all price ranges, check out Toys on the Square in Hummelstown. They also have a pottery area in the back where kids (and adults) can pick a piece of pottery, paint it (for a fee) and then have it fired. We love it there!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abreu family
Business
Hummelstown, PA 17036, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Peaceful family getaway

It was a peaceful getaway and I really enjoyed the complementary breakfast and unlimited coffee throughout the day. Vert nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston South Carolina
Jun 20, 2011

Great Experience

We stayed at this hotel in order to attend Hershey Park. Very close to Hershey attractions. I am very sceptical about staying at hotels, clenliness so fourth. This motel is by far above standards. Very clen rooms, the hotel is very up to date, nice continnetal breakfast,and nice pool. The staff were friendly and top notch. We would definitly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Hershey attractions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elkridge Md
Apr 17, 2011

Best H.I.Xpress

Very pleasant, best H.I.Xpress i've stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ohio
Mar 23, 2011

great location

great location clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to chocolate world

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Herndon, VA
Feb 18, 2011

Clean, good service, decently priced.

This was just an overnight stay after a concert. The room was comfortable, and clean, and didnt cost too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very short drive to Giant Center for any shows there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Aug 28, 2010

Holiday Inn Express

Nice stay and well-appointed room. The fridge & microwave are a huge convenience with kids as is the free breakfast which was actually surprisingly decent, not your usual "free" breakfast. My only gripe would be that the room is a little small and the walls a wee bit thin. The location is great! Super close to everything although you still need to drive. Would stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you have young kids under the age of 8 or so then you MUST make the drive to Dutch Wonderland which is a 40 min drive east of Hershey. Light crowds and very focussed on young kids. Kids liked it more than Hershey Park and it's cheaper!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top