$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

3 stars
610 Walton Avenue, Hummelstown, PA 17036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
27 reviews
Nicest in town

Stayed in the hotel for two nights while doing business in Hershey. The room was clean and the beds... See full review

  • Collin11
  • Nov 27, 2014
Great access to Hershey Park

Comfortable beds, working pool and hot tub, decent (although average) breakfast buffet, free WiFi,... See full review

  • Virtualchoirboy
  • Aug 16, 2014
The Sweetest Place on Earth is near Our Hershey Hotel The Holiday Inn Express® Hershey (Harrisburg Area) hotel is located in Hummelstown, a residential borough east of Harrisburg, PA. The hotel's Hershey area location lets travelers experience the best of central Pennsylvania from a convenient address. Families love being minutes from Hersheypark, a mecca of fun with a full water park, thrilling rides, award-winning shows and even a zoo. Chocoholics can't pass up visiting Hershey's Chocolate World. After the rides and sweets, head to the Outlets at Hershey for world-class shopping and nearby Giant Center for Hershey Bears hockey. The hotel is within walking distance to many family restaurants and a short drive to downtown Harrisburg and area casinos, as well as Gettysburg. Guests conducting business in nearby Harrisburg, PA appreciate the hotel's convenient amenities, including free Wi-Fi and a business center with printer and copy services. The Hershey Company and Milton Hershey School are near us, as well as Penn State Hershey Medical Center and College of Medicine. No matter your reason for visiting the Harrisburg/Hershey area, start your day at the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar, featuring waffles, eggs, omelets and more. Relax in the indoor, heated pool and Jacuzzi or work up a sweat in the 24-hour Fitness Center. For comfort, convenience and outstanding customer service choose this Holiday Inn Express® Hershey hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA) also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
FAX
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Msgt
Pittsburgh
Jan 28, 2013

One night getaway

Very nice, Quite and great location the the Gaint Center and Hershey activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Collin11
Business
Washington D.C
Nov 27, 2014

Nicest in town

Stayed in the hotel for two nights while doing business in Hershey. The room was clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. There's a railroad track right behind the hotel, but couldn't hear it at all during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Virtualchoirboy
Business
Connecticut
Aug 16, 2014

Great access to Hershey Park

Comfortable beds, working pool and hot tub, decent (although average) breakfast buffet, free WiFi, nice location and VERY helpful staff. Hotel currently has a deal with Gold's Gym across the street where your room key gets you access as a guest. Gas station across the street, Wendy's and McDonalds and a couple other restaurants nearby. Wasn't happy with the Bob Evans next door, but there are lots of options in the area. Giant Supermarket location is 3-4 miles away if you want to buy discounted Hershey Park tickets. A/C worked well although a little old, bathroom nice and clean although no fan to help vent steam. In room fridge, microwave, coffee maker and iron were all nice and in working condition. If we visit Hershey again in the future, we will probably stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bob Evans next door was a poor experience and not typicaly of other Bob Evans I've been in. Burnt/overcooked pancakes, slow service, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChristyNJ
Business
Toms River, NJ
Jun 6, 2013

Great hotel in a Great Location

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It was about 2 miles away from downtown Hershey so there is a lot to do close by. It is also located by a few stores and places to eat and is right off the highway. Great Place to stay, continental breakfast included too which was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Msgt
Business
Pittsburgh
Jan 28, 2013

One night getaway

Very nice, Quite and great location the the Gaint Center and Hershey activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
StevenSteven
Business
toms river
Aug 27, 2012

Ok hotel

Hotel did not smell right. Had a moldy odoor. Breakfast was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coach Smith
Business
Shreveport,LA
Aug 5, 2012

Hershey's track and field North American Final

I am a PE teacher from North Louisiana and one of my students made the North American Finals that Hershey's hosts. I wanted to be able to support her and be as close to her and her schedule of events and this hotel and location was absolutely perfect to ALL events and the airport location as well! I would definately stay here again and recommend to others whether for business or leisure :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jrod1611
Business
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Aug 3, 2012

Nothin Special

When we got out of Hershey Park, we did not have a reservation anywhere, so I walked in to find a room. The front desk agent seemed almost annoyed and put out that I was asking him the going rate on a room. I understand that it's late and you may have had a bad day but hospitality is your business, so SHOW IT! After we got settled we asked for a late check out and it was granted. But were suprised when housekeeping came knocking at 9:30 to clean the room. We got up to the room with no issues or problems. The room was clean. The only thing is that my family adn I wished breakfast ran a little later than the 9:30 cutoff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Deanina
Business
Norristown, PA
Jul 21, 2012

Undisclosed Information

Our overall stay was just okay. To stay there for two nights was fine, but we would have preferred more luxurious hotel accomodations for a longer stay. When we walked in the first thing we noticed was a stale odor (like they used to allow smoking). The outside entrance nor lobby were very inviting and the man at the front desk did not look very professional. He was nice, but his sleeves were unbuttoned and he looked like he was just hanging out behind the desk. When we got into our room the first thing we did was clean all surfaces with disinfecting wipes (we would do that no matter where we stayed), but here the refrigerator needed to be wiped out. Even the rubber molding around the refrigerator door NEEDED to be cleaned. The entire room was dusty as if it hadn't been used in a while. The ice machine was leaking and the carpet in front of it was soaked. I guess they thought the towel at the base of the machine was going to do the trick. They were wrong! The pool was very small and the used towel bin had towels piled so high they were beginning to become part of the wall. We were surprised by the freight train that passed the hotel several times throughout the day. PROS: nice location, just minutes from Hershey attractions and tons of eateries; friendly staff; economical. CONS: odor throughout hotel; FREIGHT TRAIN; lack of cleanliness throughout hotel; Bottom line: If you want a cheap, EXPRESS (quick) getaway this is your spot. If you want to feel completely comfortable you should stear clear of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Plenty of fastfood eateries and restaurants a short drive away (like 30 seconds to 3 minutes from the hotel). However, if you want to order in go for Palermo! They had quick delivery and everything we ordered was GREAT!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
helennm
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 19, 2012

great stopover spot

Very clean rooms, very pleasant and helpful staff. We were a group of 11 and were put in rooms beside one another which seems obvious but seldom happens without asking. There is a train track nearby but there were only a couple of trains in the evening and disturbance was minimal. Practically round the corner from Hershey Park (where we were headed) and loads of food choices across the road. The fridge and microwave were useful. The pool is a "playing" pool, too small and warm to swim but the kids (12-18) enjoyed it and the hot tub was a nice relaxing touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Papa John's across the street is great pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express HERSHEY (HARRISBURG AREA)

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Satisfied chocolate eater
Business
Providence, RI, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Great value

We stayed here in March and it was a great value. I think our hotel room was only $100. The rooms were comfortable and quiet, well-kept. We enjoyed the pool (very warm!). It was in a great location to go to Hershey Park (although it was closed for the season while we were there). The breakfast is satisfactory given how much you are paying for the room (includes eggs, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, various pastries, cereal, etc). Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top