$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn Hershey

2 stars
845 East Chocolate Avenue, Hershey, PA 17033
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
41 reviews
Great Stay - Great Price

Great weekend stay. Close to everything in the area. You can walk to the Hershey Pantry which is an... See full review

  • Johnny Hockey
  • Sep 22, 2014
Hershey Howard Johnson

We arrived early evening of July 2nd after a long day in Philadelphia. We had made a mistake with... See full review

  • KelleC
  • Jul 5, 2013
Clean, cozy rooms adjacent to contemporary restaurant and martini bar
Howard Johnson Inn Hershey guests won't go hungry at this hotel a mile from Hersheypark. Start the day with free continental breakfast. Then, for lunch or dinner -- or both -- head to What If... of Hershey, located at the hotel. The restaurant features a contemporary, upscale atmosphere and specializes in cocktails infused with fruit, cookies and -- what else? -- chocolate. All rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Hershey include microwaves and refrigerators. The hotel also features an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi Internet access.

 

Highlights
  • What If... of Hershey restaurant
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • 24-hour front desk
  • Outdoor pool
  • Fitness center

 

Rooms
Guest rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn Hershey feature one king, or one or two queen beds. Some rooms feature sofas or 37-inch flat-panel TVs. Included in all rooms are cable TV with HBO, coffee makers, hair dryers, iron/ironing boards, microwaves and refrigerators. Free voicemail, Wi-Fi Internet access and local and long distance phone calls also are included. Toiletries are available at the front desk.

 

Features
The Howard Johnson Inn Hershey fitness center features an exercise bike, treadmill, weight machine and wall-mounted TV. A seasonal outdoor pool is surrounded by a sun deck with lounge and patio seating. Across the street from the Howard Johnson Inn Hershey, Leo's on Chocolate Salon & Spa offers a full menu of services, including massage, body treatments, skin care, manicure and pedicure.

 

Dining
Free continental breakfast is served in a spacious dining area. Located at the Howard Johnson Inn Hershey, the What If... of Hershey restaurant serves lunch and dinner, featuring signature dishes such as pan-seared scallops, fresh calamari and chicken saltimbocca. In-room dining is available.
 
Transportation
  • Harrisburg International Airport (10 mi/15.3 km)
  • Adjacent to U.S. Route 422
  • U.S. Route 322 (1 mi/2.1 km)
  • I-76/Pennsylvania Turnpike (6 mi/9.4 km)
  • I-81 (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Harrisburg Amtrak station (13 mi/21.3 km)
  • Harrisburg Greyhound station (13 mi/21.4 km)

 

Attractions
  • Hersheypark (1 mi/1.9 km)
  • ZooAmerica North American Wildlife Park (1 mi/1.9 km)
  • Hershey's Chocolate World (2 mi/2.5 km)
  • Giant Center (2 mi/3.3 km)
  • Shank Park (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Indian Echo Caverns and Estate (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Downtown Harrisburg (13 mi/21.6 km)

 

Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting space available at What If... of Hershey

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn Hershey also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Overhead projector
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Hershey

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Hershey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HersheyDs
Business
New York
May 14, 2012

Good value for the price

It was very worth the price. Clean, simple, easy, convenient and cheap. Would recommend to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Hershey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bennetts
Business
New York
May 1, 2012

price is right

We booked this hotel initially for one night since we weren't sure how good/clean lit would be. The room was a typical room but clean, and plenty of towels. We went to the lounge downstairs, nice area to relax and have a drink. We ended up booking the room for the next night. Only negative was the towels were really thin. We would stay again, great price and close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Hershey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RobinH
Business
Vermont, USA
Apr 23, 2012

One night stay

Nice staff, room was comfortable. Room was clean except under the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Hershey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loni W
Business
Bethlehem, PA, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Great Price, Great Location!

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel while at a conference at the Hershey Lodge. The price and location of this hotel are excellent. The rooms are pretty basic but the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was good. i would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hershey Pantry is just a few doors down. It is a small restaurant with great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Hershey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prayerguy
Business
Hershey, PA, USA
Apr 2, 2012

good value for the price

This hotel had clean and comfortable beds, and even though the rooms were rather small we enjoyed our stay and the breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Hershey

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fritz the Original
Business
Montpelier, VT, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Not Their fault . .

What might have been a better night in a room that was a bit on the tiny side , , , , two women in the room next door stayed up more than half the night, talking in loud voices outside (drunk!). It kept us awake when we really needed to sleep. So, not really the motels fault, but they MIGHT have patrolled it better. All in all, it was a bit expensive for what we got (the tiny room), and we'll probably try something else next time in Hershey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Ice House in Palmyra is very, very good! Friendly staff, excellent food, a great dining experience. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Hershey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Loni W
Business
Bethlehem, PA, USA
Feb 14, 2012

Comfortable Hotel in a Great Location

While attending a conference at the Hershey Lodge, I stayed at this hotel. It was affordable and it was close to the conference center as well as the other Hershey attractions. The staff was polite and my room was clean and comfortable. Overall I had a very good experience with this hotel and feel that, while not the fanciest place around, it was definitely the best value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tatiana's in Pamalya (just a few minutes down the road) had excellent food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Hershey

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stevethereb52
Business
Turnersville NJ
Jan 29, 2012

Hojo review

Room was nice and clean but VERY small and ordinary. We spent the next night in a Super 8 in Gettysburg for the same price and we had a MUCH larger and more modern room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Hershey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mattor
Business
Pennsylvania, USA
Jan 20, 2012

One night trip

I stayed at the hotel one night on business in Hershey. The room was very good however it was on street level with busy traffic. The traffic subsided at around 10:00p.m. The staff were very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Hershey

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gene1
Business
Hallstead Pa.
Dec 29, 2011

Easy to get too.

The Hotel was very accomodating, I surely didn't get cold i had to turn off heater completely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top